We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Durham Museum

The Durham Museum
801 S 10th St, Omaha, NE 68108
402 444 5071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 53 Attractions in Omaha
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

If you like history, you must visit this place. It's not a fancy museum, but the displays are well done and very educational. I've visited several times and enjoyed each visit.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    96
    18
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“comprehensive, informative, appealing to all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

While visiting from the East, I ended up spending 5 hours in this museum. The exhibits about every aspect and period of Omaha's history and development and boom-and-bust economy, and its diverse inhabitants, were expertly done, and just continued on and on. The city's great 1898 exposition (which I remember learning about as a stamp collector), the temporary exhibit this summer of the T. Rex dinosaur, the gift shop, the poignant story about the mistreatment of native americans, the Lewis and Clark expedition, the household period rooms, early grocery store, early trains, and the large, international coin collection in the back of the museum, all were added bonuses.

On the same street as the museum, 10th street, I suggest stopping-in at the City's visitors center (which will give you a $2-off museum admission coupon), and walking very nearby to the Old Market district with its many cafe's and shops.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Such Art Deco artifact!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I loved their free ice cream old fashined event. History of city was nice + Women who Rock show was such new costume inspiration.
Main hall is absolutely impressive.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is a great newer facility in downtown Omaha and while visiting family, we decided to go and check it out and boy, were we glad we did! The building itself is just so cool with the architecture and the history. Looking at the old trains is really cool and there was a very nice gentleman that worked there that was so knowledgeable about the history of the railroad/trains, we could have spent hours listening to him! Great place for kids as well! Definitely a must see in Omaha!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great facility. Tells the history of Omaha and the many industries in the area.

Great use of the Omaha Union Station

Exhibits are outstanding. Easy to get to with lots of free parking.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Durham Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Durham Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Durham Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.