We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good...loads of cheese.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fernando's On Pacific

Fernando's On Pacific
7555 Pacific St, Omaha, NE 68114-5434
(402) 399-8006
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #549 of 1,114 Restaurants in Omaha
Price range: $10 - $10
Cuisines: American, Mexican
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Really good...loads of cheese.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The con queso is amazing. It is a melted cheddar with a little spice. The flour chips are awesome. It is more like nachos with melted cheddar, so do not expect a thin cheese you dip your chips in. Expect to have to put the cheese on top of the chips. The burritos, quesadillas, and enchiladas are really good. They have loads of melted cheese on them. The Spanish rice is good. The chicken is so good. Very flavorful and you can tell it is freshly cooked every day. The tacos are not the best. If you order these and someone else in your party orders a huge burrito or quesadilla covered in cheese, you will regret it in my opinion. I really like the atmosphere. It is not too fancy but definitely nice. I have always had excellent service. One of my favorite Mexican restaurants in Omaha because of the quality of ingredients. The prices are reasonable, especially for the large portions that are served. I go here a couple of times a month.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    2
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Below Average At Best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Was very disappointed. We ordered the nachos and tamales. Sounded good, and looked good, but the food was incredibly bland. Many better places to find Mexican food in Omaha, this was a very disappointing trip.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Not Very Impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We visited on a Saturday evening. The place was packed, but we were seated quickly. It appears that they no longer provide chips and salsa while you wait. We had to ask and learned that there was now a charge. Tell me inflation is not a work. Prices are still reasonable and the menu selection is still large. The food is hot, tastes okay and there is plenty of it. However, it’s hard to tell where one enchilada ends and the next tamale starts. It’s all blended together and hidden with lettuce and melted cheese. Our meal came out at about the same time as the chips and salsa, making the chips somewhat irrelevant as an appetizer. Drinks were never refilled and we waited a very long time for our check. Like so many places we seem to be visiting, the wait staff is rushing like crazy to keep up. It’s not their fault that service is bad when one person has to wait on too many tables.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“To call this Mexican food is a reach.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

I can safely say that Fernando's is in the bottom five percent of "Mexican" restaurants that I've visited over my lifetime. The chips and shells are greasy and deep-fried. The salsa is bland at best. Save your money and head to Taco Bell. Better yet, head to South Omaha, where you can get authentic Mexican food.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

Unless you like glop covered with a pound of yellow cheese. No green chili here.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fernando's On Pacific also viewed

 

Been to Fernando's On Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fernando's On Pacific, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.