We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great prices, solid home-cooked fare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vidlak's Brookside Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Vidlak's Brookside Cafe
15668 W Ctr Rd, Omaha, NE 68130-1808
(402) 330-0914
Improve this listing
Ranked #224 of 1,115 Restaurants in Omaha
Restaurant details
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great prices, solid home-cooked fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Heartland sized servings (big). Just the basics here, but done very well. Best bang for your breakfast buck in Omaha, or at least West Omaha. Good service. Old time no frills cafe with lots of delicious comfort food. Recommend mostly for breakfast.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT LITTLE FIND”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I went there with a group of four different people. We all ordered different things for breakfest. I had the Mexican Scramble and it was superb. Was cooked very homemade style. The hashbrowns were fabulous. Everybody was very pleased with there food and I will be coming back for lunch and dinner also.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food, and service with smiles!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

1st visit to Omaha, here visiting family and Michigan-Nebraska game. Brunch was on me, so I left it to them to pick the place, and they made the perfect call with this place. Great breakfast: yummy pancakes, eggs perfectly over-easy, crisp bacon and the potato pancakes were everything they were promised to be. Service was fast and sassy, which was perfect for our post-tailgate hangover. I work nights, so I've had more than my fair share of breakfasts over the years; this place deserves a much higher ranking than they have here. Will definitely come back the next time we're in Big Red Country. Go Blue!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We ate here for lunch on a Saturday and found it to be very good and priced reasonably. Our friends had recommended it and they were right! We will be back!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great family diner with amazingly affordable prices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Went with family for a simple, quick lunch. The place appears clean and simply decorated. I ordered the Chicken Fried Steak dinner which came with choice of salad or soup. I chose the chili which was very meaty and tasty, obviously homemade. This CFS was the best I've had in years! These days most use a pre-made frozen product or don't tenderize enough and one ends up with a lot of gristle. This was the real thing, large and perfectly tenderized and deliciously breaded! The chicken gravy was very good and a nice change up from the usual cream gravy.
Everyone enjoyed their meal and commented not only on the reasonable prices, but also on the small-town friendly service! The cost for two dinners and a tuna melt was only $23! That's cheap! Sure, there is no fancy decor, but actually who cares? Simple and cheap with good food and good service is a winning combination.
There simply are not enough family run diners anymore and Vidlak's is truly a treasure.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vidlak's Brookside Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Vidlak's Brookside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vidlak's Brookside Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.