We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drover

Drover
2121 S 73rd St, Omaha, NE 68124-2306
402-391-7440
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 1,114 Restaurants in Omaha
Price range: $35 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Clive, Iowa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“a great steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The restaurant has the ambiance of an supper club out of the 60's. I had the fillet and it was cooked perfectly. Salad bar was stocked with most basics and that's OK by me. I would definitely go back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    65
    29
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Very Expensive / Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Had the Whiskey Filet and it was pretty good. Was very pricey at $40 for the steak and $7 for the drink. I expected great and didn't get it. The service was outstanding. Bread not very good and salad bar was good. Loved the baked potato. Decent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This place used to be really good, now the staff acts like they could care less if you ate there or not. This was the worst service I have gotten all year and I got my fill of it at the Drover, And then to top it off they always over cook the steaks. The Drover just doesn't live up to the standard they once held, much better places in Omaha to go to. I do not recommend this place anymore.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B'ham
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wow.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I travel for business, a lot. I try to experience local favorites which can be a mix of high-end and budget eateries. Tripadvisor pointed me to Drover and specifically, the whiskey filet.

Unbelievable.

I've had steaks all over the country, prepared many ways. However, I can say that the flavor of the whiskey filet (medium rare) was absolutely fantastic. The meat itself was top quality, with good marbling and very tender. The price ($39) was a bit high, but considering the taste, it was worth it.

Service was great; and while the salad bar was nothing to write home about, I came for the steak, not a salad.

Eat here. You'll love it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Whiskey Steak has such a unique flavor, one of the best steaks I have had in a while. The service was terrific and the restaurant has a great ambiance.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drover also viewed

 

Been to Drover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drover, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.