We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They are proud of their product” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ted & Wally's

Ted & Wally's
1120 Jackson St, Omaha, NE 68102-2878
402-341-5827
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 1,113 Restaurants in Omaha
Cuisines: Dessert, Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“They are proud of their product”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Ice cream was very good, but got such a small serving for $6.00+. Seriously? People were standing in long line for the rude service and small portions. I thought it must be worth it, but I can find better things somewhere else.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    44
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Average Ice cream , high prices.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

After reading the reviews here we thought we would visit Ted and Wally's after being unimpressed by this place in their former Old Market location. I am still not sure what the big deal is. They have limited flavors of ice cream available - maybe 7 flavors - 3 of which are bizzare like Chai ( really , chai ice cream? ) - but really its nothing special. Go to any Cold Stone creamery and get a much better flavored ice cream product and more selection.

As far as value - I ordered a hot fudge sundae - for $5 I got a small scoop of ice cream with fudge and flavorless whipped cream on it. Wow what a value. LOL. Maybe because its in an old gas station people think its so cute? Maybe because the line is out the door and the hipsters working the counter are faster at getting a new piercing in their mouth than getting you your order?

Save yourself some money - go to Hy Vee , get a gallon of Blue Bunny and mash up some candy bars in it .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great treasure in downtown Omaha! Parking is tricky at times but the ice cream is delicious! They are constantly having new flavors and it is walking distance from anywhere in the Old Market.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Homemade artisan fare...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very good ice cream! Tasted buttered corn, we didn't like it - too chunky. We had Banana cream pie and a hot fudge brownie sundae for three of us to share. Portions are large so I recommend sharing. Line was long, but worth the wait. Fun ending to an evening.
We did ask for Dutch Chocolate on the sundae and received vanilla. Unfortunately, they were busy so I didn't have her fix it. The teens working there didn't seem to excited to be at work!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Small Town, IA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss this gem!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We went to see what all the rave reviews were all about.....they were about the best homemade ice cream we have ever had and a traditional green river to drink. No wonder you see so many people walking around the Old Market area eating ice cream cones.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted & Wally's also viewed

 

Been to Ted & Wally's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ted & Wally's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.