We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ugh!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Joe Tess Live Fish Market

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Joe Tess Live Fish Market
5424 S 24TH St, Omaha, NE 68107-4426
(402) 731-7278
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #506 of 1,113 Restaurants in Omaha
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
La Vista, Nebraska, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ugh!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

If you can imagine food tasting exactly the way dirt smells, you have an idea of the worst dining experience of my life. We had a family group of 7, spent over $100 and the only two people who could eat their food completely doused it in tabasco. I managed two bites before I pushed my plate to the end of the table where I wouldn't even have to look at it. Awful!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    11
    4
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best catfish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Love the catfish at Joe Tess in Omaha. You can get whole fish or fillets. They also have carp, chicken and other choices. Their jacket fries and coleslaw are also very good. They cook each measl to order so fish takes 5-20 minutes. Worth the wait. Service is usually very good. Never had a problem. It's a must try restaurant if you like fish.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“It was as expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Went here for the fried carp as headlined on 'Diners, Drive-ins and Dives'...Had the carp and it was as good as expected...Others had shrimp and chicken and all were just fine...If I lived in Omaha this would be a regular stop.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Joe Tess”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Depending what you want the prices run from reasonable for fish to more expensive for shrimp or chicken. No lunch menu. Casual atmosphere.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Long time best place for fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

This is an older establishment that serves up the best carp and catfish anywhere in this vicinity. They also offer chicken for those who don't care for fish.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Tess Live Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to Joe Tess Live Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe Tess Live Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.