We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was not great.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grisanti's Restaurant

Grisanti's Restaurant
10875 W Dodge Rd, Omaha, NE 68154-5665
(402) 330-0440
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #501 of 1,106 restaurants in Omaha
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Food was not great.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I had gone to this place several years ago and the restaurant was amazing with great ambiance. In March 2012, I went the restaurant with my boyfriend. The romantic feel it once had was gone. The food was not good especially for what we paid. We ended up getting sick for the following two days. I felt awful that I recommended the restaurant in the first place. It lost all the magic that it once had sadly to say.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

49% Recommend
    12
    13
    10
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
451 reviews 451 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
“Love their bread....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I do really enjoy Grisanti's bread. Warm, garlicy, buttery, and just good tasting. The spaghetti and fetticini are decent. Salads are okay too. Service is usually fast and friendly. The place does get busy on Friday and Saturday evenings so a wait should not be unexpected.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Meeting--Noisy Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The president of our organization chose Grisanti's to have our meeting and dinner. I asked our server if there was a Monday Special. He replied, "Kids eat free." We had a private dining room for our meeting. However, next to us was a family(s) with many noisy kids. Guess that we picked the wrong night! The server was excellent and the food was good. There were 8 of us. I agree with other reviewers, the facility needs to be updated, and the lighting could be better.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The bread and salad are reason enough to go but we do love the entrees as well. We have found the service lacking lately and have been less likely to go across town to visit.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Local Italian in Omaha”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have been dining at this restaurant for over 7 years. We love Italian and I'm a big fan local joints. I'd say Grisanti's easily ranks in the top 5 Italian joints in Omaha.

Most of the food and sauces are all cooked fresh. The menu has changed a bit, but the best dishes have remained thru the years. The penne Gorgonzola with chicken, baked shrimp ziti, farfalle alla pesto are great dishes. The chic parm is also popular. They have many great dishes..... But their pastas are the best.

You won't leave hear hungry. Every entree comes with a soup or salad, And as you've read in other reviews, there bread. The bread is what many remember when visiting. I'm sure it's not healthy.... But it's darn good.

One thing we love about Grisanti's is value. Some Italian restraints feel the need to charge a bunch and you still leave not full. That's not the case hear. Almost every pasta is under $17. The steaks and dinner entrees are under $22.

The services has always been pretty good. It's a large restaurant so it requires a good amount of servers on staff..... So the turn over I'm sure is high.... But management has done a good training.

The building itself is awesome. I've always thought it would make a great club. It's located in the center of Omaha near the interstate and dodge Freeway. The atmosphere is alright. One of the review mentioned it could use some updating. I would agree with the. They have maintained it alright... But it could use some modernization.
In summary, Grisanti's is one if the best local Italian restaurants in Omaha. There is a great menu with fabulous pastas. The value is great for the amount and quality if food for the price. Drinks are reasonable also. The service is fast and friendly.... For both lunch and dinner.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grisanti's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Grisanti's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grisanti's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.