We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Brews” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Upstream Brewing Company - Old Market

Upstream Brewing Company - Old Market
514 S 11th St., Omaha, NE 68102-2874
+1 402 344 0200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Upstream Brewing Company - Old Market is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 1,045 Restaurants in Omaha
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 11th & Jackson
Transit: Upstream Brewing Company and the Old Market area are easily accessible by Metro Area Transit bus routes 10 and 13 and Express route 95.
Description: Since opening in 1996, Upstream Brewing Company has become well known for its great food, friendly service, terrific beer and casual upscale atmosphere. We feature an extensive menu of new American pub fare including: Omaha’s best appetizers and thin-crust pizzas, pub favorites, superb steaks featuring hand cut “Omaha Steaks” beef, fresh fish, pasta dishes, main course salads, hearty sandwiches and, a great children’s menu. Our fully stocked bars feature our award winning fresh, handcrafted beers and root beer on tap. An extensive wine list with over 100 selections has been recognized with multiple Wine Spectator Magazine Awards of Excellence. Large parties are welcome and we have multiple options for seating large groups. Named "One of Omaha’s Top Ten Restaurants" by the Omaha World Herald, and the winner of 14 “Best of Omaha” Awards, Upstream Brewing Company is the ideal gathering place for any group. Call ahead for group reservations or to be placed on our waiting list.
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Good Brews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I stopped here for dinner during a break from a conference at the nearby Embassy Suites. It's a short walk. The craft beers were very good, the happy hour prices were reasonable, and the food was very good as well. While ordered 'medium', the burger did come out well done. It was still tasty and not worth the hassle of waiting for a redo. Recommended if you are looking for a casual dining experience, good beer, and some tasty food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    254
    101
    33
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great Business Lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Had many business lunches/dinners her and have never been dissapointed!
This time my co-worker and I had soup-n-salads, my tomatoe bisque was great! My friend loved her chili. The beers made on site are fantastic, I had the red ale and the black lager, both very fine!
I would always encourage anyone to visit the Old Market area and the Upstream Brewery....

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Came hungry, left satisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I enjoyed a meal with colleagues last week in Omaha. We shared a few items; artichoke dip, gouda beer cheese and mac & cheese. Every item was super delish. For my entrée I ordered Beef Stroganoff which I did not eat. I didn't like how dark the sauce was, too rich and the noodles were not a good fit for this dish. It worked out okay for me because all the appetizer items we ordered were fantastic and I was full by the time my meal arrived. The Mac & Cheese was my fave, it had chunks of cubed ham and was made using cavatappi noodles. I could eat that every day.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Great Beer - Mediocre food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I've eaten at the Upstream many times, most recently on a business trip in March. It is something of a fixture in the Old Market. if you are looking for a noisy, sports bar brew-pub atmosphere, this is the place for you. The beer is really good. The food is just average, and I've tried a good fraction of the menu items. The steaks are generally not bad, and to be fair they are a little cheaper here than many places in Omaha (Omaha is very proud of their steaks). My meal on this most recent occasion was typical: a pretty good but not great rib eye, sitting on a bed of mixed vegetables and broiled potatoes that were cooked to complete mush. The calamari appetizer was very good, and one of my companions said the salmon was excellent. It's not a bad place to eat and it's a great place to drink beer and watch a game, but if you are looking to experience a great Omaha steak with equally great sides -- keep looking. Try Spencer's.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisburg, Kansas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I think I'd try someplace different next time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We had a wide variety of appetizers. Bacon wrapped shrimp and calamari were the best. Didn't care for the hummus, quesadillas, fried pickles and wings. Left feeling "meh" about the food and beer. Beer was ok, but liked what I had at Blatt better. Service, however, was fantastic and the atmosphere was cool.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upstream Brewing Company - Old Market also viewed

 

Been to Upstream Brewing Company - Old Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upstream Brewing Company - Old Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.