We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our go-to for sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hiro Sushi

Hiro Sushi
3655 N 129th St, Omaha, NE 68164-5211
402.933.0091
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hiro Sushi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #86 of 1,106 restaurants in Omaha
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Sushi, Chinese, Wine Bar, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Maple
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Our go-to for sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

After trying all the sushi spots in Omaha, Hiro is the winner. Our family is split with die-hard sushi fans and those who don't eat seafood at all. Hiro has great selections for both.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    16
    6
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
OMAHA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Deliciously Authentic Japanese/Chinese Cuisine in Omaha, NE??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Emphatically YES!! But there is a minimal dress code (don't show up sleeveless or shabby)
Hiro Sushi (nameplate outside says Hiro 88) has a wonderfully full, yet pared down to a select 10 to 15 items, menu. The beautiful meals are deliciously plated by caring chefs in the back, who stay true to the Oriental Mindset of food preparation. There is an extensive Sushi/Sashimi Bar, manned by actual Asian 'Itamae' chefs, preparing their delectable plates off an extensive list of offerings in both categories!!

This time the wife started with the Ika (calamari)Tempura ($6.88) which was slightly chewier than I prefer, (squid can be temperamental in preparation), however it was still quite good with the dipping sauce. For her dinner she had her favorite, Chilean Sea Bass (Patagonian Toothfish) ($21.88) topped with a yummy, bright, savory Strawberry Salsa. For drink, she had the Pomegranate Iced Tea ($?.?).

I started with an appetizer of Miso Soup ($3.88), which was good and Tako (octopus) Sashimi ($5.75) (a slight 3 pieces - tasted euphorically like the Sea). I say 'slight' because I have been used to 7 or 8 pieces at other Japanese Sashimi Bars in California. For dinner I had the Black Cod with Miso, which was the best I have ever had anywhere, and very tender, yet al dente, Steamed Baby Bokchoy ($21.88). For drink I had a Kirin Ichiban ($6.50); as I always opt for the beer of the food nationality represented. They also have an EXTENSIVE Sake and Wine list, that I will explore on future visits!!

The restaurant is nicely appointed with an eye to Asian Minimalism and even though it was better than half full at about 6pm, we did not feel crowded or overwhelmed at any time during our meal. I am NOT made of money, yet even though it is on the pricey side for me, it was a wonderful experience and we will be back again!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiro W, General Manager at Hiro Sushi, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
We are very pleased to read about your visit to our West Maple location. We strive to make sure your dining experience is high quality each and every time you visit.

In regards to your Ika tempura, we have recently tested out a few types of squid from our purveyors and have decided to stick with our fresh squid. The fresh squid is a bit tougher than most places as other companies use bleaching and mechanical tenderized styles of squid. This is something we will denote on the menu as this squid, although a bit tougher is far better in taste. Thank you reminding us about this important notice on our menu description.

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sushi lover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Big rolls but great rolls! Great happy hour selection and prices.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hiro Sushi, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for posting your review about our restaurant. We love our happy hour crowd and love the big rolls as well, from our traditional menu to our Americanized rolls they are so balanced. Thank you for trying our restaurant and sharing your experience with others.

Cheers,

John Horvatinovich
Hiro 88 - West Maple
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food & priced right.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We're don't eat sushi. The chicken with peanut butter sauce was really good. Everyone at our table had something different and everything was great. I will go back when we are in Omaha.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hiro Sushi, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
We are excited to hear you had a good experience at our restaurant. We hope your travels are safe and would love to meet you on your next visit to Hiro 88-West Maple. Just ask for one of the managers or family owners to stop by and chat.

Sincerely,
John Horvatinovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Went with colleagues for a dinner talk. Very nice. To date, the best sushi in Omaha- maybe the atmosphere helped. Parking was less problematic as in other parts of the Old Market but so not park in the lateral side of the restaurant- it is a private parking!! I am not sure if they deliver, but they seem to have take out..

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiro Sushi W, General Manager at Hiro Sushi, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about your visit to Hiro Sushi. We want to make sure your expectations are met every time you visit one of our locations and we hope to see your again very soon.

John Horvatinovich
Hiro Sushi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hiro Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Hiro Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hiro Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.