We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, decent food, OK service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harvest Cafe

Harvest Cafe
16909 Lakeside Hills Plaza #118, Omaha, NE 68130 (Formerly Harvest Cafe and Wine Bar)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 1,045 Restaurants in Omaha
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 168th and Center
Transit: Metro bus line has frequent stop at the near by Hospital.
Description: European cafe that serves sandwiches, salads, and gourmet dinner entrees.
Omaha
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, decent food, OK service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Prices are a bit steep for what you get at this adorable bistro in West Omaha. The decor, sound level, furnishings, and general atmosphere are spot on. Very comfortable and chic.

Service was OK, but our waitress seemed a bit detached/snooty and always in a hurry. No need for that, they weren't overly busy. My water was not refilled the entire meal.

Started with the scallop bacon risotto appetizer, which was pretty tasty. Scallops were perfectly cooked, but the risotto a smidge on the crunchy side. Very rich dish -- I'd order again but share with 4, not 2. My husband ordered the salmon en croute, which arrived on a too large plate with a few spears of asparagus. He said it was OK, a little hard on the edges. Combination of salmon, cream cheese, and dill is good, but not spectacular or creative. I had the duck, which was just OK. Properly cooked but not much flavor in the sauce. Also took advantage of the suggested wine pairings, but definitely not bowled over. Just OK.

For the price, the food just didn't wow us. It was not at all bad, but there are other places in the area we enjoy more.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Visited on a week night and was greeted and seated by the chef. Chefs family was also seated in a large booth at the front of the restaurant which was a little odd. Menu was very limited with no salads as an entree option, which was unfortunate since my wife typically eats salad as her entree. Instead she opted for two apetizeers asparagus and risotto, both were under seasoned and just warm not hot. I opted for a chicken dish that was very average, lacked taste and was overpriced for the amount of food on the plate.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great Food, Service and Atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We went here for lunch, and had a wonderful time! Our server, Amanda, was very attentive, knowledgeable, and witty! We had Beef Tenderloin Paninis, Grilled Cheese Panini, and the Harvest Chicken Salad. Very tasty! Also had lattes and Carrot Cake for dessert. Both were homemade, and very delicious! When in Omaha, this cafe is well worth your time!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Satisfactory with growing pains”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had dinner on Saturday night. The food was a little mixed, two of the dishes were barely warm, but good overall. The salads were very fresh and the soup was good as well. I would go back. Our conclusion was that the duck was the best dish at our table and I would encourage that choice. Service was good but not great. Staff shoudl not be allwed to chew gum while serving customers. Also, they charge $1.00 for bread service which consists of one roll per person. That seemed a bit ridiculous, just add the charge to the entree, rather than make customers frustrated that they were just charged 1.00 for a roll. We will try again and see how these growing pains get worked out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wow this restaurant is my favorite one in Omaha.Everything you'll eat there is amazing. My favorite for lunch is the chicken salad sandwich prepared on a fresh croissant. Homemade pototoes chips. Their house salad dressing is another tasty thing on the menu. My husband raves about the Salmon salad. The service is wonderful. The story behind the restaurant is very touching. Would highly recommend! Just an FYI they are not open on Sundays! They don't have a kids menu but do offer pizza, grilled cheese and I think mac and cheese on the lunch menu

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvest Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Harvest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvest Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.