We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a Bad Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shuck's Fish House and Oyster Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shuck's Fish House and Oyster Bar
16901 Wright Plaza #198, Omaha, NE
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 1,155 Restaurants in Omaha
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Had a Bad Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Unfortunately, after several descent meals, I was served crab cakes with a rancid ingredient in them. I'm not afraid to say I know my food. And I know that either the breadcrumbs, cheese or oil had gone bad. The problem is in the way it was handled. They insisted that these were fresh-made cakes and argued that they can't be bad. One sniff and you could tell. I suggested it may be a bad ingredient, but they made me another one...with the same bad ingredient. By now, appetite gone & company finished eating, I asked for it to be removed from the bill. I shouldn't have had to ask and I shouldn't have gotten an attitude. Previous meals were good, so I'll probably return, but I haven't yet.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ankeny, Iowa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I loved Shuck's from the minute I walked in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I went to visit my daughter in Omaha and finally went to the restaurant that is her boyfriend's favorite. The restaurant has a great feel about it and the staff was extremely welcoming. It has a nice patio, but we ate late and dined inside. So many good choices. Basa Fish looked fabulous, Blackened Cod had a nice seasoning, but my favorite was the Risotto. I just had the side dish which was plenty with a cup of gumbo and some Oyster Rockefeller. So many other things I want to try, fried oyster, po-boy and more. Their house bloody mary was really good and my daughter had a great hurricane. I am anxious to go again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianola, Iowa
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Interesting place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Shuck's came highly recommended for its seafood. We had lunch here and the food and service was very good. I had the oyster/shrimp po' boy sandwich - very good. We had a late lunch and the bartender was our server. He was very attentive to our needs.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best fresh seafood in Omaha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

To clarify Shuck's on Pacific is 2 separate stores. You can get fresh seafood for cooking here and also get cooked food in the restaurant. Both are excellent. The best place in town to pick up freshly flown-in seafood. Oysters, steak fillets, tuna and other delicacies. If you are in the mood to cook seafood this is where you need to go. For the restaurant there are great specials, good service and nice relaxed atmosphere. Recommended!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great seafood restaurant for reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a party of 15 that visited the restaurant on 119th & Pacific St in Omaha. Fortunately we got there early enough that they could accomodate our party as it is a small restaurant. Service was very good and food was delicious. Only suggestions would be to add a salad and bread with meals to make it more of a complete meal. Otherwise, everyone enjoyed their selections.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shuck's Fish House and Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Shuck's Fish House and Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shuck's Fish House and Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.