We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to come back after news report” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stokes Grill and Bar

Stokes Grill and Bar
12th & Howard, Omaha, NE 68102
402-408-9000
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Stokes Grill and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #117 of 1,045 Restaurants in Omaha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Steakhouse, Southwestern, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 12th St.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Wanted to come back after news report”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

A recent TV news report described a great 'come back' for Stokes after a less than stellar inspection earlier in the year, so we wanted to come back to see what the story was. Our previous visits to Stokes were always great, so this was a 'check back' visit. All the violations were 'back kitchen stuff' ... we never saw or tasted anything 'wrong'. Kudos to the kitchen staff for getting back on track. Food quality on our visit was fantastic and service - best we've ever had there. Ask to sit in Dawn's section. Dawn was very knowledgeable about the menu, making recommendations based on what we said were our likes and dislikes. She was bright and friendly and made the visit very enjoyable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    51
    21
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“"An Oldtown Treasure"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

The name Stokes, somewhat describes what one does, when "stoking up" on the wonderful variety of foods and the outsized and outstanding Margaritas. Absolutely one of the gotta-stop-in places in Oldtown, which is populated with an array of such restaurant/bars!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beer and Wine selection and decor make it worthwhile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our food was average, but the unique décor and great beer and wine selection make this a perfect place to stop by for a late night bite or drink after show/ game

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

our waiter Rhian was very awesome and the food was very good! excellent happy hour specials and good service!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Average food, service failures”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The food at this place was good, but not great. The server really talked up the fish tacos and one of the enchilada dishes, but both were fairly bland. The cheese plate was of mixed quality.

The signature margaritas were okay, but not great liquor and nothing special. It looked like a decent wine list.

The real story here was the service drama. Apparently a server had walked out just before our arrival; whatever the reason, we were seated for 10 minutes before being acknowledged (and then only after returning to the hostess and mentioning it). Later, when we eventually got to order, one entree came out literally 10 minutes after the others (forcing us to choose between good manners and cold food). They did take that item off the bill.

Looked like a place with potential, but this was a disappointing showing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stokes Grill and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stokes Grill and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.