We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome seafood!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shucks Fish House and Oyster Bar

Shucks Fish House and Oyster Bar
1911 Leavenworth St, Omaha, NE 68102
402-614-5544
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 1,113 Restaurants in Omaha
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Fresh, deliciously prepared seafood. I had the fresh oysters, gumbo, green curry mussels, and ahi tuna salad, all of which were awesome and perfectly prepared. The chefs really know their stuff here, even more than at the other Shucks locations. Yeah, it's small and it does have an 'old bar' feel, but the food made up for it and the service was great. I consider this to be the best seafood place in Omaha.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Hard to shake that 'old bar' feeling - Food was great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The newest Shucks in Omaha is downtown and lacks all of the 'new roominess' of the West O location - but the food is really great. We wanted to try a lot of different things - and heck who wants to fix lunch the next day. We enjoyed Calamari, Crab cakes and Shrimp cargot from the starters ... clam chowder (it was ok but we're spoiled by Jazzy's in Cocoa Beach) and Lobster bisque (really creamy and tasty). Main courses were the blackened cod and grilled salmon. Everything was fresh and well prepared. Folks will point out the restaurant as being pricey - fair, but you're in downtown Omaha and as far from where the fish is caught as you can be, you have to pay for the quality. My only drawback is that the location was probably a bar in its previous life and is jammed packed with tables. We went right at the end of happy hour on Friday and it was nut to butt but we lucked into a bar table and were served right away. Folks coming later were still standing when we left. So I'll go with a three - food 4 or 5, but atmosphere way down in the little numbers. Choose what's more important to you if you decide to come and eat -- we'll certainly be back, but we'll shoot for a better time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“You don't get enough to eat and it is over priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The food is good but you don't get nearly enough to eat and it is over-priced. Not a good value at all. I received 3 little pieces of fish, a little coleslaw and I could of eaten 4 times the portion that I received. I won't be going back. If you like fish go to some other place like Cheddars on 125th L st where you get much more value for you $.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Nebraska
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fresh Oysters in the MidWest!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I went during happy hour and we got a great deal. The oyster were fresh and sweet and we were impressed with the Scallops too.

It has a relaxing atmosphere and the service was good. The fish market was part of the restaurant but it seems that we went during a slow time so not a big selection was available.

I liked the ambiance and we were surprised to find this quality of oysters in the heartland.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great food, great value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Do not come here if you are looking for a fancy expensive restaurant. This restaurant provides great seafood and great service at a reasonable price in a casual atmosphere. My husband & I both had the lobster bisque and blackened cod. The cod was pretty spicy but we both enjoyed it. It was nice to be able to enjoy a nice piece of fish in Omaha that wasn't fried and wasn't expensive. The servers were very attentive & friendly so we never had to wait for anything.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shucks Fish House and Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Shucks Fish House and Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shucks Fish House and Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.