We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under Construction” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lauritzen Gardens Omaha's Botanical Center

Lauritzen Gardens Omaha's Botanical Center
100 Bancroft Street, Omaha, NE 68108
402 346 4002
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 173 things to do in Omaha
Attraction details
Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Under Construction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

A lot of the gardens are closed due to construction that will completed late 2014. But the grounds are very beautiful, please wear confortable shoes and light colors (cotton) because in July it was hot.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    77
    32
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
403 helpful votes 403 helpful votes
“it has finally grown in!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I visited this garden when it was first built and didn't love it. However recently I visited and garden has really grown in. Beautiful plantings.....meandering paths and a beatiful garden of memories where you can sit and listen to the water running while being surrounded by the trees and gardens....gorgeous. I will return on my next trip and if you want a nice walk around in a very pleasant atmosphere not too far from the zoo, then I would suggest these gardens.

You cannot go wrong here! Cheers!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A peaceful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Enjoy walking around the specific garden areas and especially the rose garden. It is very unfortunate they are victims to area construction. In time, I'm sure they'll get it back to its glory. Plants are well-marked. My favorite spot is the waterfall within a wooded spot. Please don't bring your children here and just let them run wild though - they would be missing the peaceful and educational place that this is.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Average garden and blooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I guess I was expecting the gardens to measure up to the wonderful zoo. I had trouble finding this place and when I got there I found it was pretty average. When I visit botanical gardens I expect to see an abundance of plants and flowers. That was not the case here...is it new? Perhaps it will improve with more seasons of plantings.
Please, Please more signage. My tip...head out with your GPS.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“WOW!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was our first visit to the gardens but it definitely won't be our last. We loved it and it was under construction so we only saw a small portion but even that was a WOW! Will probably visit any time we're in Omaha!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lauritzen Gardens Omaha's Botanical Center also viewed

 

Been to Lauritzen Gardens Omaha's Botanical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lauritzen Gardens Omaha's Botanical Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.