We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but impressive collection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joslyn Art Museum

Joslyn Art Museum
2200 Dodge Street, Omaha, NE 68102
402-342-3300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 53 Attractions in Omaha
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Small but impressive collection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Worth an hour or so of your time to see some excellent Western art. Chihouli sculptures are dramatic

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    69
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Archie, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Art Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Didn't think that I would like it but I did. Very informative, well laid out. Lots of things to see.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice activity!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have been to the "Renoir to Chagall" exhibit, that part was interesting. Also the European style paintings/sculptures were good. There were art pieces from Monet, Rodin, etc. which worth seeing. It is a good indoor activity to spend a Sunday. There is a nice atrium area, which has a cafe to sit and enjoy your food. It is a free activity, so I can say it is a must do in Omaha.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Visiting "old friends"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This museum has always been one of our favorites. It had been too long since we had last visited...so on a whim...we drove the 3 hours to Omaha and the Joslyn was the main reason. The paintings and sculptures never lets one down. There is something for everyone's taste...docent who led our tour was very knowledgeable. The new addition and the landscaping around the museum is very welcoming...children were playing in the shallow fountain on the hot summer day having a ball. The museum restaurant was a pleasant surprise...our young chef made short work of building our Greek wraps and we weren't sorry that we both got one rather than sharing. Food was not over-priced as in other museums...The open space between the old building and the new addition is beautiful and welcoming as well. The glass sculpture in the entry by artist Chiluey (sp?) was spectacular. A must see! and a new old friend.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN, USA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“This is a fabulous museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is the second time I have been to the Joslyn this year. I saw the "Renoir to Chagall" exhibit, which was my point in going. Though fairly small, they did an excellent job with it. Got a big loud in the gallery - staff should've asked people to keep down the volume, in my opinion. Other than that, great experience again!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joslyn Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Joslyn Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joslyn Art Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.