We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Variety is the spice of life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joslyn Art Museum

Joslyn Art Museum
2200 Dodge Street, Omaha, NE 68102
402-342-3300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 53 Attractions in Omaha
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Variety is the spice of life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Very decent museum for a middle size town like Omaha. We enjoy the different exhibts. The newer building blends well with the original construction

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    69
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A jewel on the plains!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Omaha's Joslyn Museum is a treasure more Omahan's should visit, and it should be a must-see for visitors to our city as well. A fantastic display of art and artifacts from this part of the country...a real history lesson. A few years ago when I was in London and met an art dealer/critic, upon learning I was visiting from Omaha, Nebraska, said "You must be very proud of the Joslyn Museum". He has never visited Omaha, but he knew of the museum by its reputation. I found that to be a wonderful compliment to our city! Join...or go on Saturday mornings when admission is free. Enjoy coffee or lunch there as well, and don't miss the Chihuly-glass display!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Even without the art collections, this is a beautiful building. Highly recommend the museum to anyone who loves beautiful things.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“One of the best unsung art museums ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I hadn't been to Joslyn for probably forty years... it did not disappoint. Sculptures on the grounds were fantastic and I'm so happy the beautiful weather allowed me to hang about outside. The collections within were brilliant and the gift shop terrific.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Simon Island, GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Art Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

It was sad that the Museum was closed on Mondays. The beautiful building is demands a visit even if no art work was available.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joslyn Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Joslyn Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joslyn Art Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.