We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Starsky's Bar & Grill

Starsky's Bar & Grill
4020 S. 13th Street, Omaha, NE
402-734-9071
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #503 of 1,106 restaurants in Omaha
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Sioux City, Iowa, United States
1 review
“What a fantastic find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I were looking for somewhere to grab a bite to eat before going to the zoo and drove by Starsky's. We saw Man vs. Food on the outside of the building and figured it must be good, and we were not at all disappointed!

The bartender was very nice and patient, made us feel totally comfortable taking our time to look over the menu. Burgers just so happened to be buy one get one free that day and my SO couldn't decide between The Cornhusker and the Chili Cheese burger till the bartender pointed out he may not want to eat the Chili Cheese burger and then walk around the zoo for hours.

My blue cheese burger (swiss, mushroom, bacon, homemade blue cheese) was the best burger I have ever had. His burger, the Cornhusker, consisted of his choice of Swiss or American cheese, bacon, horseradish, and corned beef. That was the second best burger I have ever tasted. We also got corn nuggets, which came with honey, and fries. Both were delicious also.

Overall we had a great experience at this very welcoming and friendly establishment. We are raving about it to friends and family. We're also very excited to return, I've been craving those burgers all week!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    3
    2
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Pig Wings!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Based on Man v Food, we checked this place out and were so happy that we did. The pig wings are awesome. Burgers, fries and corn nuggets were also good. Why are pig wings only found in Omaha? Very close to zoo if you want to combine tourist attractions.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“pig wings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

I went after seeing the pig wing challenge on Man Vs Food. I only ordered the regular order of pig wings. It includes 4 large pig wings and a large amount of corn nuggets. The pig wings were very good and very meaty. I had the hot sauce on mine and really enjoyed them. The corn nuggets were OK, but I would really prefer fries instead. For under $10 it was a very good meal.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent little bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

We were out and about and happened upon this place one Saturday afternoon. Almost missed it and then had fun trying to find parking around the block but it was worth it!

Like I said, for parking there is a spot or two off to the side in a make-shift dirt alley, and maybe a spot or two up front along the street (the random no parking signs make it hard to decipher where and what).

The bar itself is in an old building nestled into an older neighborhood. Besides us, there was one other couple sitting at the bar when we arrived. The bartender was friendly and the cook even came out to talk to us when we were trying to decide what to order.

While we were sitting there, we noticed a Man vs Food banner above the bar so we inquired. Come to find out, the Food Channel was just there filming and would be airing the episode in the near future. Since M vs F did the pig wing challenge, we decided to tackle the miniature basket ourselves. We split one order and it was plenty! The corn nuggets and pig wings were very good and the pizza next to us looked very appetizing as well.

You can tell the bar has its good nights and loyal clientele. It offers everything a small 'dive' bar should...... Sports, karaoke, good music, good food and lots of character. We will definitely stop by there again if we are ever in that area!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starsky's Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Starsky's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starsky's Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.