We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been here several times” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 7M Grill

7M Grill
15805 West Maple Road Ste 101, Omaha, NE 68116
4026144100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
7M Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 1,115 Restaurants in Omaha
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 156th and Maple
NE
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Been here several times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We keep coming back because it's reasonable for the quality of food, location, relaxing setting and generally good service. We have never needed reservations but we do tend to eat at off times. The food is consistent and very well prepared. The chef is much better than you would expect for this kind of venue and price point. We always have soup. The Caribbean chicken is excellent and they usually have another selection that is equally good. As I said, the location is good for us but it is in a strip mall so you can't expect a lot of atmosphere but I do like the decor. For my money, this is the best restaurant in west Omaha.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    16
    5
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Caual & upscale 7M Grill deserves a look”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Omaha has a great number of better than average restaurants, but the 7M Grill is a notch above them. Chef Aron Mackevicius creates excellent tasting dishes with unique presentations. The staff is courteous and knowledgeable. The atmosphere is modern and modest at the same time. Clientele is dressed in everything from khakis to cargos. The wine list is modest but sufficient and is priced better than most. If you like fusion style cooking from a talented chef, 7M is highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food. Very good might be a stretch ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Last minute choice for dinner. Some good, some bad. My family and I have all worked in hospitality and service, so we notice the little things. We had planned to go to a more casual place so our attire, except for my daughter's business professional, may have not measured up to our waiter's standards. Nonetheless, we are foodies, spend well and tip very well, so your condescending attitude should never be readily apparent. It was.

Service was sufficient if somewhat indifferent. My son's salad was brought out before the appetizer with the excuse "since he was the only one having salad ..." Wrong! The order of service is not adjustable for your convenience. The Thai egg rolls were good, perhaps a little over-cooked, but tasty. Two egg rolls split length-wise to fill the plate, although a third would have done even better.

Our entrees were good, interesting creations that just fell short of the wow factor one expects at this level. The southern fried chicken special was a skimpy portion to say the least. The steak chimichangas were good, a little light on steak, and the mole sauce was overpowering. The bourbon mushroom strip steak was a nice thick cut albeit smaller NY Strip. The bourbon peppercorn mushroom sauce was overly salty and lacking discernable bourbon peppercorn flavor. The parmesan gratin potatoes were a thin-sliced gooey mess buried under the steak and somewhat disappointing. There was more mushroom sauce than potatoes.
Overall the food was good but not overly impressive for the price. Perhaps we are spoiled by better establishments, perhaps it was an off night.

The final sour-taste came while enjoying conversation over dessert as the waiter brought out and proceeded to vacuum with tables still sat! Inexcusable at any level!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great seasonal specials”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This restaurant delivers a great meal without being pretentious. It is upscale but casual enough that we don't feel out of place bringing our kids with us, whom also love the food. They are particularly enamored with SIN-VICHE, one of their desserts, which has made it a favorite dinner destination.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“very good with a caveat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

we recently had an early spur of the moment meal here.. confess the service was great, the menu selection very creative and pictures table side with an 1-pad and the prices for a fine dining experience quite reasonable..however I would caution the cilantro haters of the world to be very careful..as the chef likes to add it to many of his entrees..even when it is not listed as an ingredient .. (not good) ..cilantro haters beware!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 7M Grill also viewed

 

Been to 7M Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 7M Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.