We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Element Omaha Midtown Crossing

Save Saved
You added Element Omaha Midtown Crossing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Element Omaha Midtown Crossing
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3253 Dodge Street, Omaha, NE 68131   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 73 hotels in Omaha
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the Best Hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Wow! Stayed 2 nights at this environmentally friendly, trendy hotel. The included breakfast featured quiche, fresh fruit, smoothies, and more. The rooms were modern and chic. All workers were professional and helpful. What was also nice was the upscale grocery store attached to the hotel. Since the rooms have a FULL kitchen, this was especially convenient.. Also just across the turnaround, there were 4-5 restaurants with outside seating overlooking a park. All featured happy hours with excellent choices of drinks and food. We loved staying there. It is short drive to the Old Market area. We will stay in an Element Hotel again when we can.

Room Tip: I don't know about families with young children. I couldn't get the "terrible" off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Element Omaha Midtown Crossing, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our hotel’s amenities and our convenient accommodations were just what you were looking for. It's great to hear you appreciate our modern design and Eco-friendly concepts. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Omaha. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    75
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
45
65
25
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
thankfulmomof3
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This was the fourth of four hotels that we stayed in our family vacation this summer and we stayed here on the way home from our vacation. Initially we were going to be staying at the Hampton Inn in downtown Omaha, but then I ended up getting a much better deal here, just for paying for the room at the time of the booking. There were just a couple of minor downsides to this hotel, one of which I knew about ahead of time. The first is that there is no swimming pool, so if you have kids who are looking forward to going swimming (or if you are) or using a hot tub, be forewarned that there is none. The second minor downfall is the parking. It is hard to find at first (I think it would be especially annoying if you were coming here at night in the dark and were not familiar with the area), as there is not very good signage as to where the parking garage is (I initially thought it was for the apartment building across the street) and you of course have to pay to park. However being in area that they are working on revamping, it is a secure facility and so you do not have to worry about your car. There was quite a police presence on horseback too when we were there and it may have been because it was a Friday night in downtown Omaha. The building itself is very sleek and modern! When you enter the room you put your room key in this box that controls the lights and the AC. The bathroom was AWESOME! A really neat type of rain-shower head that you could also switch to a hand control. There was built in soap and shampoo dispensers and the shower has this huge thick glass door, so no one else can really be in the bathroom with you at the same time if you want privacy. It would be nice too if there was somewhere to sit down in the shower, but there is not. The sink and toilet are all in the same spot as the shower, so again someone cannot be getting ready as the same time that someone is taking a shower. They have a special kind of toilet as well that has two buttons that uses more or less water (depending on if you go one or two). The decor was also very modern and the view was nice. Our room had two queen sized beds, flat screen television, refrigerator, flat-top stove, microwave and dishwasher. There was also real china plates, bowls and cups and cloth napkins. There was a couch and a nice work station/desk with USB ports where you could plug in your laptop or other devices. They also had a clock that had an Ipod or Iphone dock on it too. The beds were very comfy and the down comforters were wonderful! This hotel is also the extended stay type of hotel for people who are coming to town on business and it certainly would be a great value for that! However this hotel does also allow pets, as I know there were a couple of people on our floor who had small dogs, but the walls are so thick that we never heard anything! We definitely got a good night's sleep here! This hotel is within driving distance of an AWESOME restaurant called La Casa and according to the Food Network, they have the best pizza in the entire state of Nebraska and I couldn't agree more! The place was PHENOMENAL! So if you have a chance try and get there, but be sure to call ahead as they are usually very busy! There is also a small school with a really nice playground in between the Element and here that my kids had a lot of fun playing at! The staff at the Element were very friendly and the breakfast was a good variety of items including peanut-butter and chocolate smoothies (mind you a small sized glass)! They did a really nice job here and I look forward to staying here when I am in town again!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

My brother, fiance and I stayed here after reading some last-minute reviews online. The website showed a clean atmosphere and decent location close to family. There were some issues we had, however. Didn't see on their website that they allowed pets (thank goodness they do!)... The parking was pricey and confusing to find our way. The room itself was nice enough but there were stains on the (rather uncomfortable) couch. Around 9 pm we got the late night munchies so went down to the grocery store, they close super early! And no pool unfortunately. The room felt like a hippie dorm room... I don't know what it was about the atmosphere but it felt strange. Also- VERY noisy street outside! I couldn't fall asleep, it sounded like ambulances and motorcycles were right outside (we were on 5th floor). Didn't try breakfast since we woke up late, but its very nice to have noon check out! Front desk staff were decent but the check in lady spoke very soft and was hard to understand. The gentlemen who worked the night/ morning shifts were pleasant though. May or may not stay here again considering the room totalled near $160 (including taxes, but that's crazy for one bed!)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

One of, if not the best hotel I've ever stayed at. Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. The room my wife and I had was spacious. The staff was amazingly helpful. The only complaint I had was the overall cleanliness of the room. You could tell housekeeping rushed through cleaning the room. The tile floor left your feet black which then left black foot prints in the shower. The dishes in our room still had dried on food from the last guests. I realize that might put some people off but, it was easily taken care of. I would definitely stay there again. They just need to invest more time in properly cleaning the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Element Omaha Midtown Crossing, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We really appreciate your review, thank you for sharing. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found our location to be both convenient and comfortable. Thank you for bringing the housekeeping items to our attention. We have addressed this with our housekeeping staff and proper action has been taken to ensure these issues are not encountered again. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you are in town. Thanks again and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We made this motel one of our stops on our way back from Vegas. We were told that we were going to receive an upgrade to a suite that had a kitchen, fridge, oven, etc. There was also a sofa that could sleep one to two people. Initially, it looked like such a good deal but that impression faded very quickly when my son and his girlfriend tried the sofa. It was pure pain and just horrible. Our bed was slightly better but not by much. The bed was not as comfortable as you would expect from similar chains. The decor was horrible, with lots of ugly brown and grey. Furniture was beaten down quite a bit, especially the sofa. The bathroom was beautiful with dispensers for soap and shampoo. The room has a nice touch of technology with the key used to turn the power on as you enter. The staff was beyond helpful, kind, and courteous. The responded to some of our requests immediately. They were beyond anyone's expectations. I would have really rated this place much lower if it were not for the staff.

Room Tip: Check your Upgrade before You decide to take it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Element Omaha Midtown Crossing, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We regret to hear about the dissatisfaction during your recent stay with us. We understand that not everyone will appreciate our modern, Eco-friendly design, but we strive to provide each of our guests with an exceptional stay and quality customer service. It’s great to hear you enjoyed our friendly associates and we sincerely hope the rest of your stay in Omaha was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, KY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed at the Element for 2 nights. Chose the location based on proximity to business meetings. I was a little concerned since I had a 6 am flight out, and the shuttle did not run that early. No problem, the night before leaving the front desk arranged a car to pick me up at 4:30, which was way, way too early ! It was 10 minutes to the airport, and I am told traffic is rarely an issue, regardless of time of day.

Others have commented on the suite layout, which I liked but did not have much need for. There is a small grocery store attached, so supplies are readily available.

Room was very spacious and comfortable. Staff were extremely nice and helpful. The Midtown Crossing area has a few restaurants which are steps from the hotel door.

Overall, a very nice stay. Will be in town several more times and the Element will be my first choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is new type hotel by Westin. It is more attuned to longer stays with a full kitchen. I liked the fact that it was not edgy like Aloft and kept the Heavenly Bed and Shower. A free breakfast was another delight.

Room Tip: I am more concerned about upgrades than a good room. This hotel offered none
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Element Omaha Midtown Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Element Omaha Midtown Crossing

Address: 3253 Dodge Street, Omaha, NE 68131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Omaha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Omaha
#5 Romantic Hotel in Omaha
#8 Family Hotel in Omaha
#8 Business Hotel in Omaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Element Omaha Midtown Crossing 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few miles from Rosenblatt Stadium, the Element Omaha Midtown Crossing offers visitors use of a full kitchen in every guest room, a spacious work desk and free breakfast every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Starwood, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Element Omaha Midtown Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Element Omaha Midtown Crossing Hotel Omaha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Element Omaha Midtown Crossing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.