We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Quiet!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn at the Zoo

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn at the Zoo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn at the Zoo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2920 South 13th Court, Omaha, NE 68108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #39 of 73 hotels in Omaha
Norfolk, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very Quiet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife and I got a room at the Comfort Inn by the zoo on a last second decision to stay in Omaha for the night. We chose this hotel because of it's location to the interstate. It's right off of the interstate. The best part of all.... you couldn't hear the traffic. Not a peep!! Great room, Comfortable bed, and the front desk staff was great! It was quick easy and the poor girl stood there with an understanding smile while my wife and I went back and forth on deciding whether to stay the night or not. She twised our arm by giving us a great rate and reminding us of the breakfast in the morning. We were sold. We had a great time and will make this our place to stay when we're in Omaha. We've already refered several of our friends to stay there instead of paying super inflated downtown prices. Plus with it's location on 13th st. it's a very cheap cab ride anyway to downtown. Thank you again for a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Zoo, General Manager at Comfort Inn at the Zoo, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Greg,

I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us last month. Thank you for your comments about our product and staff - words such as yours make the hard work our employees do very rewarding. As you stated, our property is incredibly close to the interstate, yet a wooded area serves as a perfect sound barrier blocking all of the noise you would expect from a hotel in our location. In addition, the Old Market and Downtown are just 5 minutes North on 13th Street - It couldn't be easier if we tried!

Thank you very much for sharing your experience both with your friends as well as here on TripAdvisor. Please let us know as soon as you will be heading back into the area and we will be happy to make a reservation for you!

Regards,

Ryan McCabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    51
    23
    12
    11
See reviews for
57
34
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I booked a room at this hotel at the last minute based on their reviews. I wasn't disappointed. The staff is very friendly and efficient. The price is extremely reasonable. My so just moved to Omaha and I imagine I will be staying at this hotel every time I visit.

Room Tip: Maybe away from the pool if you wish to retire early. It is open until 11 pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Zoo, General Manager at Comfort Inn at the Zoo, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
kbarto2,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us here on TripAdvisor. We are happy to see that you enjoyed yourself while in Omaha, and are very appreciative of your kind words. Please do not hesitate to let us know when you will be back visiting your son, as you have a friend in us.

Thank you,

Ryan McCabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Best of all was location. It was close to the zoo and off of a road on its own. So no strange cars going a whole block to be by your car. Yet you could still see it by the road. I hate when motels are next to all these buildings and cars are parked next to yours as they go to bars or steak houses. The building looked really nice from the outside and clerks were very friendly, even asking if stay was good. Rooms were perfectly clean and tv worked well...(Not 200 channels to push through to find a station.) Breakfast did end a little early 9am..prefer 10-10:30, but was expected for price for the quality. Neighborhood seemed okay, at least hotel was not near any houses or anything for 100 feet. Jimmy Johns right there too. Next to the Highway if need to travel. Great Deal! Really was a comfort!

Room Tip: Priceline.com saved me $7 off regular price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

2 families both with 2 kids (7-14), both on limited budgets, spent 3 nights here on a Bruce Springsteen concert weekend getaway. There were many nice touches in this simple 2* hotel...The rooms were standard fare, but they each have a nice flat screen, a microwave, a mini-fridge, and an auto-temp control heat/cool system. All very useful for our family's needs...The other nice thing is the continuous bathroom counter top vs some 2*'s that have a pedestal basin or limited counter space...The breakfast was beyond fair with waffles, eggs, sausages, cereals, fruit and a nice seating layout...The front desk staff were more than accommodating, and very kind in assisting the requests by our kids. They also recommended a great late night pizza delivery, "Night Flight Pizza"...This hotel is centrally located, close to I-80, 2 minutes to the zoo and baseball park, and 5 minutes to downtown/mkt square. There is a McDonald's, 24 hr gas/convenience store and Jimmy John's deli all across the parking lot a 1/2 block away...The pool, while in a nice area, is rather small and does lack a jacuzzi/hot tub, the only negative for me. The kids still heavily utilized the pool, although it is a bit heavy on the chlorine...Further, the lack of elevator is minimized by a cart located on the second floor. Both our families were VERY satisfied with this hotel and staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Zoo, General Manager at Comfort Inn at the Zoo, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Ted B.,

I am very happy to see that you had such a great time while in Omaha! I hope that you enjoyed the concert - we had several people staying with us who said it was amazing! Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with the community here on TripAdvisor - our staff truly appreciates your kind words. Please keep us in mind the next time your travel brings you to Omaha, and we'll see what we can do to make it as exciting as seeing 'The Boss.'

Thank you,

Ryan McCabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband drove into Omaha after dark and found our destination hotel....Comfort Inn at the zoo. The attendant signed us in and told us to park at the other side of the building. We asked where the elevator was and he replied, "There isn't any."

We are both in our 70s and we were dismayed that such a lovely hotel had no elevator!! We lugged our suitcases up the stairs and searched for our room. Ah, after going around and around several hallways we finally found our room....at the other end of the hotel...on the opposite side of where we were told to park.

To say the least, we were totally tired and disgusted at this point. Would it be so terrible for the hotel to warn folks in their promotions of this lack of a standard feature? I suggest that they add an elevator at the outside wall of the hotel. Needless to say we will never stop at this hotel again.

On the plus side, the hotel and our room were spotless and nicely decorated. The breakfast room was lovely and the food was excellent. However, the lovely decor and great breakfast cannot compensate for the lack of an elevator.

At least we learned a lesson....we will always request an elevator when we travel.

Room Tip: Demand 1st floor only....there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Zoo, General Manager at Comfort Inn at the Zoo, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
ToledoRiver,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. While we do not have an elevator at the hotel, we certainly do not attempt to hide this from anyone or keep it a secret in any way. We have had numerous contractors come to the hotel with proposals, but retro-fitting an elevator into our existing structure poses several challenges. Until we are able to start construction, we do keep specific rooms set aside each night to accommodate anyone who is physically unable to make it up the staircase to the 2nd Floor. I realize that this initial experience tarnished your stay, and am terribly sorry for the misunderstanding with your room.

I am happy to see that you have shared several positive aspects of your stay as well. Our Housekeeping Team here works very hard, and comments such as "spotless" which you shared are rewards for their efforts. Our breakfast is one of the best in the business, offering a strong variety of both hot and cold items to find something that will please everyone. I am very pleased to see that you felt it was excellent, and will be sure to pass this on to our Food Distributor as well.

It does pain me to see that despite the very positive experience you described, you were unable to mark us with a higher rating. I do hope that you see the value that our hotel provides; while we may not currently have the ideal accommodations for your needs, we do provide an exceptionally clean hotel at an incredible value for your dollar.

Hospitably,

Ryan McCabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I can not say enough about the employee working the desk the night of 10/29 but she is wonderful and a great asset to this hotel. She was very helpful and friendly. When I stay in Omaha again I will make sure to stay here again. Nice hotel and good hot breakfast also.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Zoo, General Manager at Comfort Inn at the Zoo, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Pat N,

Thank you for your kind words about our facility and staff. We are very fortunate to work with some of the best people in the business, and we all truly appreciate you taking the time to recognize our efforts to provide excellent guest service. I am glad to see that you will be planning a return trip - Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance!

Thank You,

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Because of business, I stayed 17 nights at this hotel. There was a lot of noise above and next to me right after I checked in, so Raquel moved me upstairs into a corner room which was much better! Raquel was great! The room was clean and quet. There is no elevator, so the move into and out of the room takes more effort. Breakfast included scrambled eggs, sausages, cereals, fruit juices, milk, coffee, tea, waffles, breads, sweet rolls, yogurts, biscuits and gravy. Small indoor pool is nice if you are in it alone or with a maximum of 6 people. Many families come here to stay because of its close proximity to the Henry Doorley Zoo. Consequently, weekends can be much busier and noisier. Hotel is very close to I-80, Council Bluffs IA, and the Old Market in downtown Omaha - good central location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn at the Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn at the Zoo

Address: 2920 South 13th Court, Omaha, NE 68108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Omaha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 73 hotels in Omaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn at the Zoo 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® at the Zoo is conveniently located off Interstate 80 and is one of the closest hotels to the highly rated Omaha's Henry Doorly Zoo. TD Ameritrade Park is about two and a half miles away. This Omaha, NE hotel is minutes from the Durham Western Heritage Museum, the Joslyn Art Museum, the CenturyLink Center Omaha multipurpose facility and Lauritzen Gardens, Omaha's Botanical Center.All guest rooms have cable television with HBO, in-room movies, refrigerators, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and massage shower heads. Executive and family suites come complete with microwaves, refrigerators and wet bars. Non-smoking rooms are available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn at the Zoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn At The Zoo Hotel Omaha
Zoo Hotel Omaha
Comfort Inn Zoo
Omaha Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn at the Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.