We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pizza and decent pasta....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mangia Italiana

Mangia Italiana
6516 Irvington Road, Omaha, NE 68122
402-614-0600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 1,155 Restaurants in Omaha
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
557 reviews 557 reviews
397 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
977 helpful votes 977 helpful votes
“Good pizza and decent pasta....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I had Mangias for the first time at a wedding reception. Salad, bread, pasta and pizza. I had some tortelinni and mostacholi with meatballs. Both were pretty good. Nothing special but good. The cream sauce on the tortellini was very thick. The meatballs in the mostacholi were flavorful as was the red sauce. The hit was the pizza that came out a few hours after the dinner was served. Dinner was served at 7pm and the pizza was served at 10pm. The combo pizza was very good. I compare it to Oscar's (my favorite pizza in Omaha) and it was very close to being as good. I would eat Mangia's again, especially the pizza.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Didn't meet the hype.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This place has been highly recommended by a number of my coworkers. I'm not sure if it was just an off day, but the wait was ridiculous. Nearly 40 minutes for a quick carry-out order and we weren't too impressed with the food. We ordered the chicken fettuccine alfredo and shrimp fettuccine pesto. Both were disappointing. The alfredo was bland and the pesto was much too salty. We'll try it again---maybe just get pizza; seems like all the reviews for the pizza are great!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best in Italian in Omaha!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This place has the best everything. They have the best Italian salad dressing, best white sauce, best sugo (sweet red sauce w/ no tomato chunks), and best meat sauce in the city. The pizza is awesome too. They have large portions for a reasonable price. They catered our wedding about a year ago and everyone absolutely loved it. They raved about it and still do on a regular basis. We looked into several Italian restaurants for the catering and they were by far the most reasonable for the quality of the product. They came in and set everything up for no extra charge. It was only $10 to get tons of food delivered. We still go there all the time. It is probably better to get take out because the eat-in area is pretty small and they are pretty busy, especially on weekends. If it is nice outside, they have a fairly large patio for dining. They are super friendly and will make your dish just like you want it. I order cheese tortellini w/ sugo sometimes even though the menu says you can order it with white sauce or marinara. I highly recommend this place. As I said, everyone at our wedding thought it was the best Italian they've ever had and I could not agree with this opinion more. The people that run this place no Italian food and good service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Only ever ordered as takeout. It's the best hands down. Cheese tortellini with Alfredo my favorite!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“PIZZA PIZZA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Just great!!!!! The dlivered over the the Holiday Inn Express we were staying at and it was great. Honestly some of the best pizza I have ever had.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mangia Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangia Italiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.