We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay with Family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Omaha Downtown Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Omaha Downtown Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Omaha Downtown Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1420 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #38 of 76 Hotels in Omaha
North Platte, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay with Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My 3 children (ages 2,4,6) and wife had an excellent stay. Clean rooms and wonderful pool/waterpark area!! Staff very friendly and helpful. Too bad they didn't have a continental breakfast as we had to pay for it. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holiday1420, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Omaha Downtown Airport, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you and your little ones enjoyed your stay with us. Our rooms and water park are the best. Being as our hotel is classified as a full service hotel, a complimentary breakfast is not provided to our guest. We encourage you to take advantage of our "Best 4 Breakfast" rate package, which includes a plated breakfast on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    62
    27
    9
    14
See reviews for
74
16
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, IA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while visiting the Omaha Children's Museum and Omaha Zoo. We were pleasantly surprised! The indoor waterpark is awesome for younger children. Our 1 1/2 year old had a blast! The rooms were spacious and I loved that the there was a partial wall dividing the bedroom from the living area. We stayed in a King room. There were 2 TVs, so we could have cartoons on one and sports on the other :) The front desk staff were pleasant and even supplied us with a toothbrush that we had forgotten to pack. My only complaint would be the restaurant connected to the hotel. Very slow service and the food was not good. The wings were seriously the worst we had ever eaten. We tried breakfast and dinner - neither were good and both were extremely slow. Would also be nice if they offered free breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holiday1420, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Omaha Downtown Airport, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Our water park is awesome and we are excited that you agree! We love it that you enjoyed your splash time at our park and relaxation time in our huge rooms. Holiday Inn Downtown Omaha is a full service hotel and in accordance with franchise standards, we do not provide the free continental breakfast that our limited service sister hotels offer. We are, however, saddened by your experience in the restaurant and want to make it up to you! For you next stay, please call the hotel directly to make your reservation directly with our General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada, Iowa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This hotel has a 24 hours cancellation policy which they neglected to inform us about. We received no email confirmation stating this. First time in my 60 years I've had horrible customer service at a hotel. They insist an email confirmation was sent -- it wasn't. Beware -- you will get no help or sympathy if you can't keep your reservation. Shame on them! Horrible, horrible policy. Most hotels surrounding them have a reasonable cancellation policy...6:00 p.m. day of reservation -- not this hotel. Worst experience with a hotel ever -- actually a first bad experience with a hotel ever.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holiday1420, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Omaha Downtown Airport, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for voicing your concerns. Here at Holiday Inn Downtown Omaha, we always states our policy is always presented before guests can CHOOSE to book with us. This is policy is in line with other hotels in our general vicinity. During peak seasons, our hotel may require stricter policies including and up to advance deposits with no cancellations allowed. We apologize for any misunderstanding this has created and do hope that you choose to give Holiday Inn Downtown Omaha another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We really had a great time in Omaha and being able to stay in a hotel that had such a great pool area with a indoor water park was the icing on the cake. My child is 2 and she had the best time playing at the indoor water park after a hot day out at the zoo. Mom and dad had fun too ;) The only issue we had was at the Union City Restaurant located in the hotel. The food and service were awful. This hotel is full of kids and families so if your looking for a quiet stay then don't stay here. The walls are paper thin, but we knew this when we booked and we had no problems getting to sleep. The rooms were big and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holiday1420, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Omaha Downtown Airport, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
It is wonderful news that you enjoyed your trip to our great city and thank you so much for staying with us. At Holiday Inn Downtown Omaha, we are a family favorite providing fun activities in our waterpark, catching the game on the big screen in our restaurant, and relaxing in our spacious comfy rooms. We are saddened that your experience in our restaurant was not quite up to your standards. We strive to give our guest the best service and quality food in our market. In an effort to make your next stay with us, your best, we ask that you make your next reservation directly with our General Manager, providing a copy of this TripAdvisor comment and we will treat you to a much better dining experience. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed one night here with our 3 children (6, 4, and 2). The sole purpose of our stay was to use the pool/waterpark and the kids loved it! The rooms were great, large with refrigerator and microwave. Dinner at Union Pizzeria was good but the service was slow. Breakfast service was better. Overall we loved our stay. The only reason I gave 4 instead of 5 is that the room let in a lot of street noise. We will return again though, I will just ask for a room that doesn't face the ballpark.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holiday1420, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Omaha Downtown Airport, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay. We are so happy to see that our waterpark was a hit with your little ones and that you enjoyed our spacious rooms. We are right in the heart of one of our cities great entertainment hubs, which at times can cause high traffic volumes. On your next stay, please do call our front desk and we will happily assist you if you are experiencing any issue with your room location. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your food and breakfast dining experience in the Union, but are equally as sad to hear the service was slow at dinner. We are addressing the slow service issue with staff and look forward to your seeing you and your children real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Iowa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The best thing about the hotel rooms here is the space. I stayed here with my mom and 2 kids on a one night trip over Spring Break. The room had 2 king beds and a very large bathroom. We used the waterpark, which was a nice small waterpark. I chose the hotel over the other waterpark hotel in Omaha as I thought it would be calmer and less crowded. And it was, which was nice. The one slide was very slow (so slow I had to shimmy to get down). The hot tub was lacking jets and temperature. I asked if I could take a drink from the bar to the pool and was told it wasn't allowed. This was disappointing since I'm an adult & I'm on vacation. We ate at the restaurant in the hotel for dinner and breakfast. Food was average. The restaurant is a bar/grill and not very breakfast friendly. Location was good for downtown, airport. We went to the zoo which was just a short drive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holiday1420, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Omaha Downtown Airport, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Holiday Inn Downtown Omaha was designed to have the largest standard size rooms in the Midwest. ‎Our goal is to be family friendly. Our waterpark increased our pump sizes to provide additional ‎pressure in our hot tub and slides. In order to provide for the safety of our guest, we do not allow ‎outside food and/or beverages in our waterpark as a rule. ‎
‎ The Union Pizzeria and Sports Bar finds itself being a Restaurant with many hats. We are located in a ‎entertainment district dominated by sports, however we are working on a room divider/barrier so ‎breakfast guests will be separated from the bar area. Thank you so much for your feedback and please ‎do come see us again.‎
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My company has the Holiday Inn chain as one of their preferred chains. I have found that the Holiday Inns are typically old and tired, but was pleasantly surprised with this location. It was newer and had a fresh feel about it. My room was in good condition and well kept. One thing i found strange was that in the bath/shower there wasn't a place to put soap. You had to set it on the rim of the tub. Other than that the hotel and staff were great. They accommodated all requests. You can walk to the stadium from the hotel within 5 minutes. Would be a great location if you are in town for a baseball game or the College World Series.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are very nice and have a lot of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holiday1420, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Omaha Downtown Airport, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Downtown Omaha for your recent stay. We love our location! ‎Being in the center of all the best happenings in Omaha combined with our amazing staff does make ‎us a perfect destination to rest your head after a busy day. Please remember us on your next trip to ‎our great city.‎
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Omaha Downtown Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Omaha Downtown Airport

Address: 1420 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Omaha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 76 Hotels in Omaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Omaha Downtown Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new in 2009, the Holiday Inn Downtown Omaha is the newest full service Holiday Inn with a contemporary styling. Conveniently located off I-480 and minutes from I-29 and I-80, our beautiful 100% non-smoking hotel is within walking distance to the CenturyLink Center, TD Ameritrade Park and Creighton University; and just a short shuttle ride from the historic Old Market and Eppley Airfield. Our modern, sophisticated design offers a plethora of amenities such as the largest standard guestrooms featuring one or two king beds with luxurious bedding, mini refrigerators & microwaves, enhanced bath experience, full service restaurant and bar, room service, and a coffee shop, and 10,000sqft indoor Water Park (Holiday Bay). Our meeting facilities can accommodate 20 - 200 people with full catering services. Our opportune location, across from the CenturyLink Center, places you minutes from the Durham Western Heritage Museum, Heartland of America Park, Bob Kerry Pedestrian Bridge, Joslyn Art Museum, award winning Henry Doorly Zoo, Rose Theatre, Film Streams, Children's Art Museum it is an easy choice to stay with us. Relax, it s Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Omaha Downtown Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Omaha Downtown Airport Hotel Omaha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Omaha Downtown Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.