We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Market

Old Market
1000 Howard St, Omaha, NE
402-341-7151
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 53 Attractions in Omaha
Type: Neighborhoods, Flea/ Street Markets, Cultural
Activities: Shopping, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Omaha preserves its historic place in time in this historic section of town where visitors can stroll along the cobbled streets and explore the many preserved buildings.
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place for food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Old Market is a town within a town. The buildings house apartments as well as businesses beneath. The businesses are largely food enterprises, clothing businesses, bars, arts and crafts. You can park anywhere and walk to any of the businesses or spend a day in the nearby Gene Leahy Mall. It is within a 15-minute walking distance from the Qwest Center.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    280
    56
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
“Must go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The old market is always a must do thing while I am in Omaha! My kids love the metal slides, spaghetti works, Ted and Wally's, Hollywood candy, and the multiple shops. If you are ever in Omaha definitely visit the Old Market!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The 3 Things I hate about the Old Market.......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

PARKING, PARKING, PARKING.

I hate to sound like YogI Berra when he said "Nobody goes there any more, it is too crowded." But I have loved the Old Market from the early days when I was a kid and things are changing.

The whole idea of "stopping by for a beer" with your friends" has changed when the Beer is $15 ($6 beer + $1 tip + $8 parking)

I am sad to say, we just go some place with better parking.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Old Market....eclectic and a good way to relax for an afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Really enjoy the "old" feel of Old Market. It's boutique shopping and dining for the most part, and they do it well. Lots of variety. Not for a "long stay" but for an afternoon it's nice. Friday evenings, shops were open late...not sure if they are on weekdays or not. Favorite places included the French restaurant, the tea house, and Red Square.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California, United States
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
152 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Diverse selection of food, drink and shops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Fun place to tramp around for an hour or two with a good selection of bars, eateries, shops,etc. Fine for a couple, group or family and everyone is helpful.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.