We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above Average Candlewood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites-Omaha Airport

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites-Omaha Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites-Omaha Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2601 Abbott Plaza, Omaha, NE 68110   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #46 of 73 hotels in Omaha
GreenLeadersBronze level
Iowa
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Above Average Candlewood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Kind of in the middle of nowhere yet amongst everything. The shuttle service is great and it can quickly and comfortably move you to Old Market or the airport. Rooms are cleans and above expectations of the brand. The front desk was happy to have me there and friendly and accomodating. Given the shuttle service and proximity to the Old Market it makes this particular hotel an incredible value compared to others in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
7
3
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel was a last minute decision so I did not get a chance to read reviews on Tripadvisor before checking into this hotel. It definitely needs to be updated. It is looking very worn. Areas of the room were clean and other areas not clean. It was very overpriced for a small room and no breakfast served. The employees working at the front desk in the evening and morning were dressed very casually, did not look professional, and were very unfriendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwsoma, General Manager at Candlewood Suites-Omaha Airport, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you first and foremost for taking the time to review the Candlewood Suites Omaha Airport. I am sorry to hear you experienced an issue while you were here at the hotel. I only wish you had brought this to my attention so the situation could have been rectified while you were in house. We would offer a complimentary breakfast and wear different attire if it didn't break brand standards. I urge you to give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Nebraska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The motel was VERY clean and exreemly convenient. We took advantage of the Budget parking service. It worked well. The rooms are very nice with a sink, fridge, and microwave. The bathroom was new and clean, as was the rest of the room. The beds were extreemly comfortable and high quality sheets. Overall, one of the nicer places we've stayed in Omaha for an incredible price.

My only complaint was that the Budget shuttle was quite late picking us up. We had made reservations to be on the 4AM shuttle and it showed up at about 4:25. Part of our group that had wanted to spend less time waiting at the airport had arranged to be on the 4:30 shuttle. That group almost missed our flight becuase the 4:30 shuttle didn't arrive until almost 5AM. I guess the lesson is that if you need the first shuttle of the day, you may want to drive yourself to the airport as it appeared they just scrapped the first one (as opposed to running 30 minutes late all day).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is close to airport and has free shuttle too. Also , the rooms are pretty convenient but probably not very ergonomic but it's okay since I was only there for a night.

The only downside I Would say is the lack of free breakfast but then there is subway closeby.

Overall a decent hotel near the Omaha Airport.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Staff was very friendly. Good location if you're catching a flight or heading downtown. Wish they had breakfast though! And the only food place nearby is a subway across the parking lot. Other than that, good place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheville, north carolina
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I was looking for a clean, quiet, location adjacent to the Omaha airport for a one-night stay while on a business trip. This filled the bill quite nicely. The rooms are pretty spacious, clean, quiet and comfortable. It seemed odd that this hotel did not have some sort of breakfast, other than that you could purchase from the gift shop and cook yourself in your room. There is a small, but functional, exercise room, with working equipment. The location is excellent for those coming from, or going to, the airport. If you are looking for a clean, functional stay near the Omaha airport, this motel is finel.

Room Tip: I suspect they are pretty much all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Arrived to a front desk clerk that started to check us in but then took a 20min phone call. I don't normally complain about front desk staff as I know they get overloaded at times. This was not acceptable though.

The hotel seemed nice. I did not realize they don't have breakfast. I guess you get what you pay for. If I was working here for a week or more the room would have been great with a range, refrig and microwave. Well stocked pantry as well.

Internet was slower than average. The room and lobby were both clean and in good shape.

We may stay here next year when vacationing here for a week but may choose a different IHG property.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites-Omaha Airport, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear samvanh,

Thank you so very much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad that you noticed the cleanliness of the room and the lobby. I am sorry that you encountered some issues while checking in. Rest assured that this matter will be looked into. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites-Omaha Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites-Omaha Airport

Address: 2601 Abbott Plaza, Omaha, NE 68110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Omaha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Omaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites-Omaha Airport 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at one of the Newest Omaha, Nebraska Hotels The Candlewood Suites - Omaha Airport hotel's convenient location is near highway 75, I-480, I-680 and 29. This is the ideal place for extended stay travelers in Omaha, Nebraska because we're near Eppley Airfield (OMA) and we offer a free airport shuttle. Our Omaha hotel is located near a variety of attractions, such as the IMAX theater at the Henry Doorly Zoo and movies at the Star Cinema. You can enjoy sporting events and concerts at the area's many venues, including The Centurylink and Mid-America Center, both of which are a short drive from our hotel. Omaha's nearby Old Market is a historic spot, and boasts a concentration of museums, art galleries, restaurants and boutiques. Our Omaha hotel is convenient to the Mid-America Convention Center, the Department of Homeland Security, TacAir, Lozier, Conagra, Creighton University & Medical Center and the University of Nebraska - Omaha. Our hotel's meeting room and 24-hour business center make doing business in Omaha easy. Unlike other extended stay hotels in Omaha, we offer free amenities like high-speed Internet access and guest self-laundry facilities. Our spacious suites offer a 'home away from home' feeling, complete with a fully equipped kitchen, comfortable bedding, a large workspace and a 32-inch TV with a DVD player. For the comfort you deserve, stay at the best of Omaha's airport hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites-Omaha Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites-Omaha Airport Hotel Omaha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites-Omaha Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.