We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy but homey and a good location and price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lassen Mineral Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mineral
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lassen Mineral Lodge
Save
You added Lassen Mineral Lodge to your Saves list
Highway 36, Mineral, CA 96063   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mineral
Bay Area, CA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Not fancy but homey and a good location and price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

This lodge is well situated to visit Lassen National Park. It is clean and comfortable. It isn't fancy but it is adequate and having the restaurant, store and lodge right there is very convenient. The food at the restaurant is fair, not great. The salmon and steak were not worth the price but the simple fare was fine. I would recommend this for families visiting the park.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    40
    27
    21
    8
See reviews for
33
57
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

I stayed here this last winter. I took my two kids and they loved it. They played in the snow. Are room was great!!!! We had a room with two twin beds for the kids, they each had there own and we had no fighting between them sharing a bed.

The view of the night sky was beautiful. The restaurant staff was very friendly. They were great with the kids. The restaurant also has a giant checker board for the kids to play at while they wait. The ribs were very good. My husband had a rib eye that was better than at a steakhouse. The restaurant was a good value as well as the room. It was VERY Clean. We will go back again. We had a wonderful trip!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville
2 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

Because this motel is so close to Lassen National Park- we decided it was perfect. The pictures on the web-site looked great, and they had rooms with kitchens- which was perfect for our family of 5. When we got there- I was immediately contemplating bailing on the second night and hoped we could get through the first one. The twin bed covers were really gross- so i immediatley striped them off and waded them in a ball in the closet. The beds were OK- but the pillow I slept on was as flat as a pancake and I had a kink in my neck for the next two days. There was no real amenities except a few bars of soap. This would have been ok- if the price were not so high- but honestly- we could have rented a small home for not much more. We were even charged extra per night for our 3 yr old- even though she had to sleep with us in the queen bad and share my flat pillow- (which made it all the worse...). The restaurant was cozy and the food was decent- but very slow service- which was ok as there isn't a lot to do anyway......the prices in the restaurant, too, seem to be high....the kids meals are almost as much as the adult meals... It's old, and somewhat run-down- but seemed to be surface cleaned at least. All in all- I think we would frequent the restaurant and store but would opt for a different place to stay next time around.

  • Liked — Having a restaurant, Bar and store on site. The location.
  • Disliked — The rooms were somewhat creepy....old, musty, and over-priced.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

Nice place to stay. Close to lassen Volcanic NP. We had a pretty big room with a king bed. The place was clean and has a comfortable atmosphere. The restaurant with the lodge is good for breakfast and dinner. Staff is friendly and works hard. The rooms don't have tv but you can take board games from the restaurant.

  • Liked — Location, atmosphere, restaurant
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

Like other visitors, we wanted to stay close to Lassen Park. Mineral is the closest you can get to the park but not worth the rip off from the unfriendly owner. We had booked two nights and expected a modest stay. However, the motel has not been well cared for with a lot of deferred maintaince. Our room had lights that did not work in the bathroom and main room, and a heater we were afraid to use. Loose wiring did not invite us to trust having the heat on while we slept. We were expecting no phones and no tv no refridgerator, but did not expect dirty floors, broken door locks and security chains, and no hot water for shower or sink, and lousy beds and pillows. There is one place to eat, the owners cafe. Not the worst we have ever had but certainly overpriced for what you get. What a dump. We decided not to stay the second night and of course, no refunds.
Our advise, if you are visiting the park, stay in Chester. Even though you are 30 miles out of the park, you can at least stay at a Best Western, have some amenities and some choices on places to eat. The drive through the park is great and really you can see all y ou need to in one day. You can stay at Redding or Red Bluff. Good luck

  • Liked — close to lassen park
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2008

We reserved a room for two nights at the Lassen Mineral Lodge to be close to the park, since we like to get out early in the morning. We were sorry we had to stay here 2 nights after we saw it. The room is very run down, and looks like nothing has been updated since the 1970s. The upholstery covers on the twin beds were disgusting, and there were cobwebs by the curtain rods and dirt on the radiator. There were NO electrical outlets in the bathroom, and it is extremely small. When we arrived, the garbage cans in front of our room were filled to the brim with flies hovering, and this was right next to the chairs we could 'relax' in! If we had paid $50 for this dump it wouldn't have been so bad, but since there is no where else for miles, they can charge what they want. Do not go by the pictures on their website, as place looks much better in their pictures than in reality. At least the sheets were clean, but expect the thinnest towels possible. We also ate dinner twice at the restaurant (there is no where else to go), and while the food was good enough, we had an extremely long wait for everything the first night. The second night we watched another customer try to get waited on for 20 minutes, so our experience was not unique. Go to Red Bluff instead. You will be happy to drive a bit further if you can avoid this place!

  • Liked — Close to Lassen Lovcanic National Park
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

This place is right by Lassen Volcanic National Park. That is the good. The bad - this is almost the only place to stay, unless you camp, if you want a bed and shower, and be near the southwest entrance to the park. Rooms are run down quite a bit. The entry door on our room was a hollow interior door. I laughed at the chain on the inside that would keep someone out. It was over 90 degrees in Mineral and none of the rooms have AC. However they were insulated pretty well so we were not hot in our rooms. No shampoo in the rooms, but they are kind enough to give you soap that was labeled with "Holiday Inn" and other hotel chains. Shower leaked all night and splashed on the bathroom floor - keep the curtain closed I guess. You are a captive audience here. Not much else when it comes to lodging and food. The restaurant was good and reasonable. But plan on spending the whole evening there for dinner. The server (who was very kind, hard working and helpful) had to have has well over 15 tables. So, expect a whole evening out of dinner. But hey, it's right by the park!

  • Liked — Close to Lassen Volcanic National Park
  • Disliked — Weak door and leaky shower
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lassen Mineral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lassen Mineral Lodge

Address: Highway 36, Mineral, CA 96063
Location: United States > California > Mineral
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mineral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Lassen Mineral Hotel Mineral
Lassen Hotel Mineral

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lassen Mineral Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.