We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Accommodation close to the park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lassen Mineral Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mineral
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lassen Mineral Lodge
Save
You added Lassen Mineral Lodge to your Saves list
Highway 36, Mineral, CA 96063   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mineral
Santa Clara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Accommodation close to the park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Lassen Volcanic National Park. Looks dated from the outside, but inside the rooms are good with a very modern bathroom. No tv, internet or coffee maker inside the rooms, but we did have a fridge. If you are desperate to check your email, you can get wifi while in the restaurant. Very spacious room for 3 of us to share. Nice touches, like planters of flowers outside make it look cared for. If you are arriving late after a long day in the park, or a long journey, just be aware that the shop closes at 6.30 and the restaurant closes at 7.30.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    40
    27
    21
    8
See reviews for
33
57
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taoyuan, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I recently travlled to the Lessen Volcanic National Park and stayed here for two nights. This town is the closest to the park if you come from the south. The room is small, clean and simple. No telephone, TV, Wifi, which is nice as we can really enjoy the nature and get away from the daily business. The thing is the wall is so thin that we can even hear next door's conversation. And the shower water is very weak like a stream. The service they provide is OK, very basic. The restuaruant is like the room, a bit pricy. Most of the dishes are deep fried and the portion is relatively small. If we come back for the park, we would stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vagas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

If you are looking for luxury, tv and all mod cons then forget this place, but if what is on your mind is rustic clean with no modern gadgets and just to sit outside your room watching the world go by, here is the place for you. The Lodge is dated, but that does not detract with the homliness. you could literally park your car and get away from the hussle and bussle of everyday life. Mineral is a tiny village, where there are great walks and beautiful scenery. It has a convienince store and a restaurant that serves very well cooked meals. It is situated right next to the little known Lassen Volcanic National Park, one of Californias, secret little treasures. Mineral is all about stress free relaxation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights because we wanted to be close to Lassen. The room was quite large and very clean. There were 2 beds - a queen (I think) and a king. It was a pleasant surprise to see how spacious the room was. It is very basic, without TV or phones, but exactly what we needed. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in close proximity to the National Park.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Great little place out in nature. Do NOT expect a 5 start hotel. This is a nice little lodge with just enough to keep you well rested and comfortable but not too much that it prevents you from going outside. The restaurant is good, and serves a generous portion after a days hiking. The store and restaurant does close early, but then again, it does get really dark early up there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This place makes an ideal base camp for exploring Lassen National Park if you don't want to do actual camping and want some basic amenties. That said, it is NOT a luxury resort, and should be avoided by people who are accustomed to modern all-inclusive resorts. There is no TV and no WiFi. If you're here, you're here to enjoy nature and the Lassen wilderness and the big dark nighttime sky. (If not, why ARE you here?)

What Lassen Mineral Lodge IS is an old-fashioned western resort that's very reminiscent of the 1950s. Accomodations are rustic..... basic, but clean......and the bathrooms have been upgraded. There is a general store that looks like a campground store. There is an informal restaurant with an outside patio dining option for evenings. Food is good, unpretentious, and plentiful. There are delicious home-made fruit cobbler desserts. And wines and beer are available.

The Lodge is owned an operated by local people....so you have the benefit of local advice on weather conditions, the best hiking trails, the week's bear incidents, and where to find a spot to cool your feet after a day of hiking. Your waitress at dinner will likely be your waitress at breakfast and she'll be cleaning your room........and her toddler will be "helping".
We like supporting small American businesses and enjoyed our time with the families of Lassen Mineral Lodge.

Room Tip: No gas stations in the immediate area; don't come in with a low fuel tank!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This makes an ideal base if you want easy access to Lassen NP especially if you are hiking the trials and don't want to drive too far each night. Mineral is essentially this Lodge so if you don't want a quiet location and don't wish to eat at their own restaurant then maybe this place isn't for you. Breakfast starts at 8am and they take last orders for the evening meal at 7.30pm. There is nothing to do here in the evening and no TV in the room. We loved this aspect because this Lodge is a haven away from modern life but if you aren't keen on getting away from it all then I'd advise you don't stay here.

For such a small place the menu is extensive with something to suit most tastes. The food is plentiful and delicious and the staff go out of their way to be helpful and friendly. The place is a family run venture and they work long hard hours and provide exceptional service.

As others have said the rooms are rustic, simple but comfortable for a few nights stay. The shower area is very small but clean. The buildings are old and as such aren't pristine and things do creak but we were perfectly happy here. I'm guessing the walls are very thin but as most of the people staying here were hikers or people who had spent a long day touring/travelling most people went to bed early and therefore we didn't get any noise issues. Because the walls are thin we were pleased that there are no TV's in the rooms.

We enjoyed our retreat here and I hope that it remains the charming family run business for many years to come.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lassen Mineral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lassen Mineral Lodge

Address: Highway 36, Mineral, CA 96063
Location: United States > California > Mineral
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mineral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Lassen Mineral Hotel Mineral
Lassen Hotel Mineral

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lassen Mineral Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.