We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Memorable Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa am See

Villa am See
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa am See to your Saves list
Villa am See
Meersburger Strasse 4 | Seepromenade, 88709 Hagnau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hagnau
Bohus, Schweden
1 review
“A Memorable Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We spent one day and one night in Hagnau in September 2011 and stayed at Hotel Villa am See, an exquisite family hotel with considerate, personal service, a beautiful breakfast room overlooking the Bodensee serving a delicious breakfast.

A very memorable visit – highly recommended

Eva and Thomas Sundberg
Bohus, Sweden

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We have stayed at some nice hotels, but this has to take the cake for being the "Doll House Hotel". Our room was extremely will furnished and with an added touch of class, there was a small carafe of liqueur and two small glasses waiting on the coffee table for our enjoyment. Breakfast was served in a delightful glassed in gazebo with precisely and beautifully set table dressed in refreshing greens and yellows. Breakfast itself was very good German fare consisting of meats, cheeses, breads, cereal and yogurt, and eggs cooked as you arrive. For American taste, the coffee was uncommonly good and plentiful. The staff, waitress and maid were delightful, and for goodness sake, don't let them catch you carrying your own bag - you'll be in for a good natured scolding. The owner, Christina, insisted on carrying my bag. As a typical American male, I was not about to let such a petite, and quite lovely, lady carry by bag, but I lost the tug of war! Her husband, not quite as lovely as Christina but certainly friendly and charming, was a perfect host. Their Internet coverage is great - we went to the wonderful garden and accessed our e-mail accounts under the shade of a friendly tree and enjoyed a glass of wine (our own wine). The nearby restaurant is quite good, and the ships that ply the Bodensee pick up and drop off passengers only a stone's throw away. Our two days there were not enough - we hated to leave, but the rest of Europe was calling our name. I highly recommend this hotel with its superb staff and proximity to the lake and all it offers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

Located on the banks of Lake Constance, in the village of Hagnau, we found this little gem. The hotel has only a few rooms (for the better if you are looking for privacy) and offers extraordinary coziness and elegance. Christine and Holger, the owners, represent fantastic hosts whose warmth makes you feel truly welcome.

The rooms are tastefully furnished in various light and bright colour tones thus creating a very warm atmosphere. The wellness centre offers a great opportunity to relax after a bike ride (bikes available from the hotel) or a romantic walk around the Lake Constance. Or, you can just sit on the terrace or in the garden and admire the view - or sunbathe (if the weather permits).

A true paradise worth every penny.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2006

Villa am See in Hagnau is located in a charming small town a couple of miles to the east of Meersburg - right by the lake side.

The Hotel is small with only a few rooms but there are also a couple of apartments nearby (where we stayed). The standard of decoration and furnishing in the hotel is excellent. All guests breakfast in a lovely room with great views over the lake. It's not unusual to see a Zeppelin flying past. The breakfast itself was extremely good.

Hagnau is smaller than Meersburg with very few tourists but probaly all the better for that. It's a very good place to stay and easy to tour round the lake by ferry or car.

Make sure you vist the nearby island of Mainau, which has amazing flowers and views of the lake.

Highly recommended.


Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa am See

Address: Meersburger Strasse 4 | Seepromenade, 88709 Hagnau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Hagnau
Amenities:
Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hagnau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa am See, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.