We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, tiny apartment, poor service and tired facilities” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pierre & Vacances Pont-Royal en Provence Holiday Villages

Save Saved
You added Pierre & Vacances Pont-Royal en Provence Holiday Villages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Pont-Royal en Provence Holiday Villages
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Domaine et Golf de Pont-Royal, 13370 Mallemort, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Mallemort
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good location, tiny apartment, poor service and tired facilities”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2007

We've stayed in many P et V properties previously and found them to be good. Howver this was a most disappointing visit. We stayed for two weeks in August 2007 in a two bedroom apartment in the Charleval block.

- Location: pretty good for getting to some v. nice parts of Provence. However, do not think you are staying in the nicest part of the Luberon, (such as Lacoste, Gordes, etc) this is the more agricultural/industrial part of Provence that starts at Avignon and works its way through Cavaillon. In fact, at the bottom of the slope of this village there is still a lot of wasteland that has not been developed or is left over from the development of the hydro-electric station nearby.The best part of the Luberon is the northern slopes - this is on the south. However, the views from the village are very good, though - the Luberon in the near distance and the canals nearby. You can drive o the beach near Marseille in about an hour and you have both Avignon and Aix within 45 mins.

- The village design and layout: very well designed - sort of "adult Disney". All built on a steep hill in the style of a real village with a village square. Don't expect to use bikes to get around, though (a la Center Parcs) as it is mainly steep steps and narrow pathways.

- Facilities and Sports: When this village opened and the facilities were new, I'm sure this was a top-notch place. But just too many things were not working - nothing major but a long list of minor things (such as the lights not working, showers not working at the 5-a-side pitch, the 5-a-side astro dangerously worn out, some of the items in the children's park not working...) that it gives the impression of either a lack of funds or a team that do not care. This place is not cheap and you should get decent facilities for your cash. The swimming pools were great (especially the wave pool) but, again, the lack of non-broken sunbeds sends the wrong message.

Apartment: this is where P et V have REALLY let down their customers. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment (supposedly for 6) even though there is just 3 of us. It was tiny. The double bed was not large enough for anyone over 5' 10" and both bedrooms were so small that there was little, if any, room to walk around the beds. Rather like a ferry ship cabin than an apartment. The living room was OK, with a sofa that can convert into another double bed. How on earth a family of 6 could live here for more than a night is anyone's guess, though! There was an outside terrace but it was dirty and covered in cobwebs and there were only 2 chairs to go with the table (3 people per chair?). Very disappointing.

- Service: poor. Checkin and reception staff were efficient and friendly. BUT, at the risk of sounding like a moaner, we had multiple probelms in our apartment (including a shower without any doors!!) that were never fixed in the 2 weeks we were there. At the end of the stay the manager gave us a 25% reduction but it really did spoil the whole thing for us.

This experience has really made us think twice before staying at a P et V residence again. Maybe my standards are too high - or maybe theirs are too low???

  • Liked — Views, village design
  • Disliked — TIny apartment, facilities not up to date or serviced, service was very poor
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    186
    166
    89
    25
See reviews for
425
44
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2007

We've stayed in many P et V properties previously and found them to be good. Howver this was a most disappointing visit. We stayed for two weeks in August 2007 in a two bedroom apartment in the Charleval block.

- Location: pretty good for getting to some v. nice parts of Provence. However, do not think you are staying in the nicest part of the Luberon, (such as Lacoste, Gordes, etc) this is the more agricultural/industrial part of Provence that starts at Avignon and works its way through Cavaillon. In fact, at the bottom of the slope of this village there is still a lot of wasteland that has not been developed or is left over from the development of the hydro-electric station nearby.The best part of the Luberon is the northern slopes - this is on the south. However, the views from the village are very good, though - the Luberon in the near distance and the canals nearby. You can drive o the beach near Marseille in about an hour and you have both Avignon and Aix within 45 mins.

- The village design and layout: very well designed - sort of "adult Disney". All built on a steep hill in the style of a real village with a village square. Don't expect to use bikes to get around, though (a la Center Parcs) as it is mainly steep steps and narrow pathways.

- Facilities and Sports: When this village opened and the facilities were new, I'm sure this was a top-notch place. But just too many things were not working - nothing major but a long list of minor things (such as the lights not working, showers not working at the 5-a-side pitch, the 5-a-side astro dangerously worn out, some of the items in the children's park not working...) that it gives the impression of either a lack of funds or a team that do not care. This place is not cheap and you should get decent facilities for your cash. The swimming pools were great (especially the wave pool) but, again, the lack of non-broken sunbeds sends the wrong message.

Apartment: this is where P et V have REALLY let down their customers. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment (supposedly for 6) even though there is just 3 of us. It was tiny. The double bed was not large enough for anyone over 5' 10" and both bedrooms were so small that there was little, if any, room to walk around the beds. Rather like a ferry ship cabin than an apartment. The living room was OK, with a sofa that can convert into another double bed. How on earth a family of 6 could live here for more than a night is anyone's guess, though! There was an outside terrace but it was dirty and covered in cobwebs and there were only 2 chairs to go with the table (3 people per chair?). Very disappointing.

- Service: poor. Checkin and reception staff were efficient and friendly. BUT, at the risk of sounding like a moaner, we had multiple probelms in our apartment (including a shower without any doors!!) that were never fixed in the 2 weeks we were there. At the end of the stay the manager gave us a 25% reduction but it really did spoil the whole thing for us.

This experience has really made us think twice before staying at a P et V residence again. Maybe my standards are too high - or maybe theirs are too low???

  • Liked — Views and village design
  • Disliked — Tiny and dirty apartment, tired facilities, very poor service.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

Good facilities, especially for kids - swimming pool with waves, table tennis etc. and the resort is pretty on the outside. But our apartment was a bit poky, bedrooms in particular. There were five of us, so we booked an apartment for six to get a bit of extra space. Lucky we did. Furniture and kitchen equipment very basic too. Don't want to criticise the place too much as we generally had a really good time - just be prepared.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

Family of 4, 2 young girls ages 1 and 3. We arrived after a 7 hour drive which should have taken 4 hours, during which we (and by we, I mean me) got lost and my daughter vomited (can you believe we're still married?) in a non air conditioned car (that I rented). We were greeted by very friendly staff, told exactly what we needed to know, and enjoyed every single minute of this vacation. There are many great things to enjoy: beautiful pool with plenty of sunbeds and a wave machine, a more elegant pool with payable sunbeds. Both pools have a small children's pool and lifeguards on duty that were both professional and helpful.

The food was delicious, and the grounds immaculate. Very lovely for going on walks around the lake or just around the property. The golf course is top notch, and neighbouring towns quite interesting, as you
are really in the heart of Provence.

Some things to note, if you are going to this resort, may I suggest taking a bath mat, and some nice bathtowels. The supermarket on site will give you enough to make your own lunches, but the breakfast buffet is nice, though small, and the dinners are great. I would consider going during the summer season, as the unheated pool can be cold if you are not used to it. We're from Canada originally, so we swim with polar bears year round. (we don't really, but we do swim in a lot of lakes, and they are COLD!)

If you have young ones, and they are at all interested in ponies, this is the place to ride! It's not expensive, and the horses are all very calm and the instructor very sweet. I was very impressed.

Also, paddle boats are only available certain times of the year, probably only July and August, which we were a bit disappointed about, but it didn't matter as there were so many other activities. I just think the place really starts to get going in the summer months.

There is hard concrete on many of the walkways, for lack of a better way to describe it, and so proper shoes for the children would be smart, as you don't want them falling on this. Other than that point,
we found the whole place to be very safe for our children.

Also a river ride, which was absolutely without a lineup all day, for
older kids, they rule the place, very fun!

Lots of French spoken, but found that most people were able to speak English. Loved this place! Would love to go back, but the world is so
big and life is so short!

Cheers, and bonnes vacances!

  • Liked — the well manicured gardens, my husband got a great haircut in the Pont Royal salon!
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2006

We stayed in an independent villa within the complex of Pont Royal. The villa was superb (found through holiday-rentals.com) and the setting of the resort is lovely with great views and easy access to the Luberon, Avignon, Aix etc. The resort restaurants left alot to be desired. Great for kids especially fussy English ones but not so good for the adults hoping to taste some good french cuisine (better to go off site and venture into nearby villages).

The wave pool and rapid rides were a great addition to the normal hotel set up and there were numerous other activities offered that we didn't sample such as jet skiing, horse riding, kayaking etc. Overall it is a great base to explore this area of Provence.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2006

Travelled to Pierre at Vacances, Pont Royal as a three generation party - grandparents, parents and young children, 5 and 8. Initial impressionj good. Fine setting near the Luberon Mountains, half an hour from Aix en Provence and easy road travel from Marseilles Airport.
The resort is a village, built in traditional Provence style of houses and apartments, with a square, couple of shops, restaurant and two bars. Main attraction is the range of activities, particularly for children with separate clubs for different ages going on each day and special activities (like horseriding, fencing) as well as two good sixed pools, one with artifical wave machine and a waterchute ride.
Accomodation in our three bed house was simple and clean. but bedrooms small. Kitchen area in living room adequate rather than spacious but each house had an outside terrace with table and chairs.
Staff at main reception very helpful and efficient.
Children loved the two pools and the horseriding experience - wonderful woman teacher who taught them to ride and have respect for their ponies - the highlight of their holiday.
Not impressed with the restaurant or other eating possibilities on site. Had to send back first meal and the prices were as you would expect for a captive audience on site! The daily buffet evening meal was 26 Euros for adults and 13 for children. Not good value.Much better to take the car for ten minutes and eat at a restaurant in Mallemort ( where there is also a supermarket, chemist and weekly market)
Nice surroundings, with the golf course and the distant hills and mountains but probably a better bet out of high season - although it never felt too crowded.
Certainly a good place to consider for out-going teenagers as they would join the clubs and probably not be seen all day!
Clients mainly French with some English and German families

  • Liked — It was clean but basic
  • Disliked — Too small - need to book larger accommodation than the number of people in your group
  • Tips/Secrets — Visit some of the villages and get a reasonably authentic taste of rural France
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2005

My wife and I have just returned from a week away at the Pierre and Vacances Pont Royal resort in Provence. We were impressed with the amount of facilities included within the resort, it was ideal for families and children of all ages. The resort is centred within a prestigious golf course designed by Seve Ballesteros, which provides a stunning backdrop if you are not a keen golfer!

The accomodation was basic but clean and had all of the facilities we required including a dishwasher which was a bonus! Our apartment had views across the lake and a large balcony on the top (3rd) floor which was superb in the evenings. The resort is designed in a typical french old village style with plenty of heavily landscaped pathways and a 'town square' with two restaurants, a grocery store, newsagent and tourist information centre.

The resort seemed extremely quite, unusual we thought for June, but this was a bonus as there was plenty of space around the pool and tables available for dinner at the excellent value for money restaurant. Apart from eating out, there wasn't really much to do in the evenings apart from walk around the many pathways in the resort or retire to your room with a bottle or two of the local vino. The resort is a 10 minute drive from the local town of Mallemort, which has a variety of shops and the nearest hypermarche, but again was very quite. It is a very good central base for exploring Provence, reasonable distances for day trips to Aix, Avignon, Rousillon and not too far from the Camargue.

We flew to Nimes airport with an cheap internet booking with Ryanair from Stanstead. The flight was 1hr 30mins. The airport was approx 1hr 30 mins from Pont Royal and an easy drive.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pierre & Vacances Pont-Royal en Provence Holiday Villages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Pont-Royal en Provence Holiday Villages

Address: Domaine et Golf de Pont-Royal, 13370 Mallemort, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Mallemort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Mallemort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pierre & Vacances Pont-Royal en Provence Holiday Villages 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Provence, in the Luberon, between Aix-en-Provence and Avignon. Golf, horse riding, tennis, Children’s and teenager clubs (3 months to 18 years) The choice of apartments, houses and luxury villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Pierre & Vacances, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Pont-Royal en Provence Holiday Villages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre And Vacances Resort Pont-Royal En Provence
Pierre & Vacances Resort Pont-Royal En Provence Hotel Mallemort
Pierre & Vacances Pont-Royal En Provence Holiday Villages Mallemort, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pierre & Vacances Pont-Royal en Provence Holiday Villages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.