We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price is right. Isle-sur-la-Sorgue best left as day-trip.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Nevons

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Les Nevons to your Saves list
Hotel Les Nevons
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205, Chemin des Nevons, 84800 L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Price is right. Isle-sur-la-Sorgue best left as day-trip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Hotel Les Nevons is slightly out of the way and a bit 'modern but dated'. It's comfortable, and you get what you pay for: a clean, friendly place to stay but little atmosphere of what one would expect of Isle-sur-la-Sorgue. I have nothing bad to say about the hotel. When all rooms are booked within the Isle, this is a very good alternative and within a short walk of the town center. And on a hot day, the swimming pool is a nice thing to have. Les Nevons has it.

Now, for Isle-sur-la-Sorgue: I feel the same way about Paris: good to see once. That's all you need. I would rather leave this lovely but kitschy hamlet to a day-trip from the Luberon or Avignon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    117
    21
    4
    4
See reviews for
23
114
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Although not particularly pretty from the outside, this hotel is a good value and perfect if you're driving around. It's very close to the old town, barely a 5 minute walk, and has gated parking (outside free, garage paid) which makes it extremely convenient (no need to fight for parking, especially in busy market days). The staff was nice and the room we had on the 3rd floor was spacious enough, with a desk and chair, A/C, a nice bathroom with separate W/C, and a terrace (overlooking a parking lot, but there are better, more expensive ones). The swimming pool is a nice plus. The buffet breakfast is good but perhaps not quite worth the €10pp. Wifi worked just fine, and the staff at reception was nice enough to print our train boarding passes for us.

NOTE: the location on Google Maps is wrong as of June 19, 2011, but I submitted a correction so hopefully it will be updated soon. It's closer to town than it appears on the map at the moment.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

We had a very nice stay at the Hotel les Nevons. We needed a room for four people and the hotel offered a suite (two bedrooms--one double and one with twins) at a very reasonable rate. Our room looked out over one of many canals that run through this pretty town.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The part of the hotel we were staying in was under renovation, but the work was not intrusive. The only downside to our stay was that the hotel's free wi-fi was not working.

We stayed on a weekend so we could visit the town's market, which was fun. We discovered, though, that by Sunday evening many of the town's restaurants were closed. We arrived by train, so we walked everywhere--the town is small, and we enjoyed exploring it on foot. But we wished we had rented a car to get to some of the nearby towns.

We

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

we stayed one night, a saturday, so that we could visit the sunday market the next morning. the hotel is well kept, clean and comfortable. the room was spacious and had a small balcony looking over one of the many waterways that go through isle-sur-la-sorgue. there is free parking, and we could leave our car there the next morning while we visited the market. i've marked it down a notch from the 4 rating i'd ordinarily give the nevons, because the free wifi that the hotel says it offers was inaccessible from our room- they have 2 routers- one wasn't picked up at all, the other had a zero strength signal. [i had no trouble anywhere else we stayed on this trip.] when i mentioned it to staff, it was essentially brushed off. staff was otherwise very pleasant and helpful, however.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

After several less than positive experience with some 3 star hotels, I was a little nervous about this hotel. Once I arrived, it was all good. If youdriving and planning to visit Avignon and areas east, I would recommend staying here and in this area. It is close to everyplace, parking is free and it is a great value. Much quieter than the city, you still have plenty of restaurant and bar choices. Wifi is available and it worked. More than I can say for most of the places I've stayed over the past month.

Located in charming Isle sur la Sorgue, this is a great place to stay. There is a gated parking lot on site and there is no extra charge to park there - unheard of! Absolutely wonderful reception staff - helpful, great directions and advice on restaurants. There is a lift from the lobby to rooms.

Our room was large with two big beds, a huge desk area and lots of storage space. Gigantic bath with big counter for all your stuff, hairdryer and shower/tub. Just note that there is no door or curtain if showering with the hand held shower, so just mind where you spray.

There was a sliding glass door onto a balcony overlooking a river with very vocal mallards. They were fun to watch.

There is a very large breakfast room. I didn't take breakfast, so can't comment on it. There is a pool on the roof with a great view.

The hotel is just steps over a bridge and into town. The town is one of my favorite spots now. Take the tourist walk and go in the church if it is open. You will see a stunning interior that rivals many touted churches. Books I read almost made this one seem like an after thought. Go see it.

Great restaurants along the river and Sunday market is excellent.

Enjoy this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

This hotel is a find.

After a couple of weeks in the cramped spaces of small French hotels and B&Bs, walking into the cavernous room at the Hotel Les Nevons was a welcome (and needed) respite. We were in the newer section where the rooms are larger. In addition to the big sleeping room and bathroom (with tub and shower), the space includes a large balcony big enough to hold a round table and four chairs, as well as a chaise, with room left over to walk around. The balcony looked out over one of the many branches of the river, complete with ducks. The room was clean. The bed was very comfortable, and the wi-fi was free and reliable (three cheers for that -- shame on those who charge). The public spaces are large and bright with pretty, tasteful decorations. The dining room includes an outdoor area, and the breakfast was above average. In addition to the croissant, baguette, and jelly routine, the people at Les Nevons have included sliced ham and cheese, so that your breakfast is a little more balanced. The coffee was great and plentiful -- not rationed.

The parking here is one of the best situations we've encountered. The lot, right by the hotel's front door,is fenced and gated. Access requires contacting the front desk by intercom during the day, but is by room key at night. Even though you're in the middle of town, security seemed very good, although we didn't test that by leaving anything in the car.

The people who run this hotel are really nice and helpful. Their English is very good, and they're more than willing to answer questions.

L'Isle sur la Sorgue has only a few things to see, but it offers a great base for exploring Provence. The wine villages of the Cotes du Rhone are nearby. So are the Luberon Hill villages. We daytripped from here to Orange, Vaison la Romaine, and Mt. Ventoux without any trouble. Arles and Avignon are very close by. Pont du Gard and Nimes would be a little bit of a stretch.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We had a room in the renovated aile with balcony and view on the river, it was spacious (that is rare in France), very clean, well appointed. 5 walking minute from main attraction, very cute town. Good restaurant and pastery walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Les Nevons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Nevons

Address: 205, Chemin des Nevons, 84800 L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Les Nevons 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L’hotel Les Nevons is pleased to welcome you in a quiet, warm and cosy environment. Ideally situated along the river Sorgue, in the heart of the town centre, second-hand trade and antiquities, La Venise du Comtat is a green station in the Provence’s heart. Kindness of the welcoming and mildness of the atmosphere, all the staff will make sure you will have a pleasant stay. With its privileged location, the hotel is the ideal starting point to set out the discovery of the Luberon such as Gordes, Fontaine du Vaucluse and Roussillon. You could, after a day of discovering rest at the swimming pool with a 360° magnificent view on the area. Provence has its paradise in Vaucluse, Pope got their palace in Avignon and gods got their second residence in L’Isle sur la Sorgue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Les Nevons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Nevons L'Isle-Sur-La-Sorgue, France - Provence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Nevons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.