We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical 3 day paddle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Adventures - Day Tours

Desert Adventures - Day Tours
1647 Nevada Hwy, Ste. A, Boulder City, NV 89005
702-293-5026
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$139*
and up
Ranked #4 of 28 Activities in Boulder City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a full service outdoor adventure company. Our trips include kayaking, canoeing, stand-up-paddle boarding, hiking, backpacking, mountain biking, ATV tours and horseback riding. Our adventures are available in areas such as Zion, Bryce, and the Grand Canyon as well as the entire Lake Mead National Recreation Area. We specialize in guided trips from beginner to advanced, but we also have self guided trips, equipment rentals, wilderness medicine courses, and lessons available in most all of the disciplines. We have availability daily with free transportation from the Las Vegas strip available with all of our guided tours. We also have corporate and large (15+) group tours available.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Magical 3 day paddle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We paddled for three days and had a magical experience. Our 3 and 5 year olds had a blast!  The staff had over and beyond customer service and the equipment was on point. It was a family memory that will remain forever.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    3
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“4 Day Grand Circle Tour through Bryce Canyon, Grand Canyon and Zion National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I were on a business trip to Las Vegas and wanted to take advantage of our proximity to some of the National Parks and book a tour. We found Desert Adventures and booked a 4 Day Grand Circle Camping trip with our guide Jennifer. She picked us up at our hotel in Vegas early on the first day and drove us out to Big Rock Candy Mountain where we kayaked, zip lined and hiked and had dinner. Jennifer cooked for us and was our guide. She was super nice and really knowledgable about kayaking, hiking and outdoor stuff. We enjoyed hanging out with her in the evening. We stayed in a cabin the first night.

The next morning Desert Adventures had an 2 hour ATV ride with a private guide up the mountain to over 10,000 feet. We went over large boulders and through streams and along old Gold Miner Trails trails. The ATV ride got us hooked on riding ATVs in future trips. After the ride the second day we packed up and drove to Bryce Canyon. Because we had a guide she showed us which trail was the best hike through the park and would give the best experience. She hiked it with us and we had a great day. We then drove to Pink Coral Sands State Park and she pitched out tents and we helped her with supper, which was very tasty. In fact all the meals she prepared were great. Before we went on our trip she contacted us to make sure she knew if we had any dietary requests or restrictions. She bought all the veggies and meats we liked so that made it easy for us to enjoy it. The Pink Coral Sands were beautiful and so tall. We did a small hike after supper.

The next day we headed out to the Grand Canyon. We spent several hours on the north rim and were able to hike to two different areas of the north rim for some great shots. We even managed to have cappuccinos at the bar/bistro in the park before we left. We took our cappuccinos to the overlook where the rocking chairs were and ended the afternoon sipping coffee and admiring the view. That evening we spent our last night at Pink Coral Sands and we had a lovely campfire and sat around telling stories.

The next day, our last day, we packed up and drove out to Zion National Park. We arrived and Jennifer had advised us before we left for our trip we would need a type of water shoe that we could walk in the river over the rocks and not twist our ankles with. My husband and I went to a store that specialized in specialty footwear and found some great Keen water shoes. Boy were we glad we invested in those shoes. We wore them during our hike through the Canyon and watched other people try to walk in bare feet, or flip flops and it was not easy to walk if you didn't have the right footwear. Desert Adventures made sure we were properly prepared so we were able to hike much further into the Canyon and see some glorious sights. Well worth the effort and so glad Jennifer provided us with trekking poles too. They made it much easier to walk on uneven rocks that were sometimes slick. I didn't fall once! Neither did my husband. Overall, it was such a great trip and money well spent.

We are coming to Las Vegas again this fall and want to book another tour with them around the Hoover Dam. Desert Adventures is a very professional company who deliver the goods when it comes to Adventures!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Incredible day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We found a groupon for an all-day guided hike to the hot springs. The group (of 3 couples with one guide) met at the Desert Adventure store in Boulder City at 9:00am. We left the store by 9:07am. It was a brief van ride (aprox 10 minutes) to a parking lot at the trailhead. The hike was 3-4 miles to the Arizona Hot Spring.

On our way down, we spotted a bighorn sheep standing on a crestline in the horizon. We hiked through beautiful slot canyons. Occasionally, we climbed over a boulder. We reached the hot springs and soaked for around 30 minutes. It was blissful. The first pool was extremely hot, and it flowed downward into a series of progressively cooler pools. After aprox 30 minutes, the group proceeded down to the Colorado River. This required that we climb down a ladder (with a water fall of hot spring water flowing down the ladder). The Colorado River is breathtaking.

On a plateau over the river, we enjoyed a deli lunch of sandwiches, cookies, apples, celery, etc. We rested for around 30 minutes and started the hike back. It was a pleasure to spend the day with our guide, who was personable and knowledgable.

A few recommendations for future hikers: We purchased water shoes at K-Mart for $10 a piece, and they were perfect to protect our feet in the hot springs. I also recommend investing in a waterproof camera, as it was nice to take pictures without worrying about the camera getting wet. Finally, wearing layers is key. Between 9am and the end of our hike (around 3pm), the weather dramatically varied. It is difficult to predict how cold you will be when you are in the canyons and the winds are blowing, or how warm you will be if there is no wind and the sun is shining.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

You might think weather with highs in the 50s wouldn't be good kayaking on the Colorado River. Think again. Little or no crowds mean you basically have the river to yourself, and when the sun shines, it's really perfect kayaking weather. GREAT time of the year to go. The guided tour takes guests on some short hikes to the hidden nooks and crannies and wonderfully warm springs worth exploring. Lots of history and flora and fauna information. Of course, stunning vistas, big horn sheep, hundreds of waterfowl ... basically a great (and full) day in the beautiful desert. Excellent customer service, from the pick up and drop off at your hotel, to the tasty and filling lunch, to kind and considerate guides and personnel across the board.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Black Canyon Kayak Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I wanted to get off the Las Vegas Strip and see the West. Desert Adventures provided an outstanding experience. We booked the Full-Day Black Canyon Kayak trip for December 15th. Even with weather in the low 40's we had a great day. Desert Adventures picked us up at our hotel on the strip (The Vdara) promptly at 6:15 A.M. The drive to Boulder City was a quick 30 minute trip where our driver provided information regarding the surrounding area. We then outfitted our kayaks and met our guide, Antonio. Antonio promptly found us coffee and began to get to know us. The trip began at the base of the Hoover Dam and continued 12 miles down the Colorado. Every few miles we would get out and hike to a hot spring or a good observation point. We stopped for lunch on a sandy beach. Throughout the trip Antonio explained facts about the canyon, the wildlife and the building of the damn. The water is smooth and easy to kayak. After the trip we drove across the new Pat Tillman bridge and were back on the strip by 5:30 P.M. The entire experience was first class and I was very impressed. We interacted with five different Desert Adventures guides and/or drivers and everyone we dealt with was professional and positive. I would recommend Desert Adventures and we will book another trip with them when we are back out west.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desert Adventures - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Desert Adventures - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Adventures - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.