We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best burgers - ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Horn Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Big Horn Restaurant
1300 Arizona St, Boulder City, NV 89005
(702) 294-6005
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“the best burgers - ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

on a day out of Vegas we called in at Boulder and parked accross from the Big Horn, needing food it was the easist option, and we were so happy we did.
the burgers and truffle fries were simply the best we'd ever eaten..ever ..and this came from four english peeps who'd eaten alot of burgers over the years.
the food, service, ambiance of the big horn was brilliant and we cannot recommend them enough...if only we get the chance to pass their way again..

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    2
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Was so amazing we ate there both nights we were in town!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We pulled into Boulder City around 7p....tired and starving. We were staying in the Boulder Dam Hotel (very amazing hotel), and Big Horn is right across the street and was recommended. We walked over and were immediately met by the nicest people. We were seated and started looking at the menu...it had a wonderful variety and we were struggling to make a decision. The man behind us had just gotten his dinner and it looked wonderful....he told us it was the pork chops....SOLD....one of us got that and the other the prime rib. Some bread was brought to the table then soup/salad. The gumbo was great...but the prime rib was HEAVEN and were the pork chops. The staff could not have been nicer. The owner, Paul, came by and visited for several minutes. He in fact made some great suggestions of things to do in the area.....and we followed his advice. We would have never known about the park where the big horn sheep come down to graze int he evening....thanks Paul. Paul's parents happened to be in town and it was delightful to meet them and they too gave us some great suggestions.
We enjoyed the entire evening so much we vowed to come back the next evening.
After a wonderful day of adventure and touring Hoover Dam, we did indeed return. Tonight I had the salmon....absolutely wonderful and he had the prime rib...again very good. The grilled veggies are perfect and the wedge salad had their own twist...we ate EVERY bite. Then we shared a bread pudding dessert.....SINFULLY delicious...but so glad we did.
As we were saying good bye we were very sorry we would not be around to try out the rest of the menu.....Paul and staff...we cannot thank you enough. Each night it was like we were coming home to have dinner....we shared our day, and enjoyed a wonderful meal.
If you are ever in the quaint little town...you must visit the restaurant....it is delightful.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Third time's the Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have eaten here twice on the outside patio with a limited menu and enjoyed it both times, though service levels were inconsistent, great the first time and poor the second visit, with the same server!

We recently ate in the formal dining room and really enjoyed the expereince. We started with the Korean short ribs and their take on ceviche which we had on both previous visits (we loved both again). I'm not much of a red meat eater but decided to order their prime rib. It was superb and my wife's coconut crusted sole was also very good. The thai peanut chicken soup was unusual and great. My wife's salad was the lowlight of the dinner (lettuce, cucmbers and tomoatoes-blah).

Service and drinks (bloody marys) were both very good. Loved our dinner and appreciated the value
($84.00 with a 17% tip)!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peekskill, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, decent price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Had a great lunch there. The prime rib was one of the best I have ever had. Service was good. Barbecue chip crusted sole was very good. Will defiinitely eat there again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Last ditch effort”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Don't eat here.first off our waitress was strung out and slow.the lunch menu was tiny and they were out of half of that menu.it took an hour to get our food and our burgers that we asked to be well done were raw and cold.the sweet potato fries were soggy and cold.the only thing I can say was edible was the spinach dip.our bill was extremely high for the quality we received.we would never go back to or even visit any other big horn.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Horn Restaurant also viewed

Boulder City, NV
Boulder City, NV
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Horn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.