We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an overnight stay with a side order of history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boulder Dam Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Boulder Dam Hotel to your Saves list
Boulder Dam Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1305 Arizona St., Boulder City, NV 89005   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Boulder City
Toms River
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“an overnight stay with a side order of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

My wife and I stayed here on Oct. 1st after we flew into Vegas. We are not gamblers and do not enjoy glitzy smoke filled hotels. I wanted to visit Hoover Dam so I chose this hotel based on many good reviews in Trip Advisor. I was not dissapointed. If only the walls could talk. This place reeked of history. The lobby is beautiful as is the dining room and the little tea room in the back. Somebody was playing the grand piano the night we were there. Our room faced Arizona street. The room itself was not overly elaborate. The bed was very comfortable though. The bathroom was not huge, but it did have a large bathtub, not one of those little narrow plastic jobs that you need a shoehorn to get out of. We visited the on site dam museum. Ask for passes at the desk. In the morning we sampled the continental breakfast. We ate in the tea room. It was plenty to hold us over for our trip to Zion National Park. In conclusion if you like smoke-filled neon overstated hotels Vegas is your place. However if you want to sample some history and imagine that you are staying in the room where Bette Davis, Howard Hughes, or the Shah of Iran stayed this place is for you. Did I mention that they have a micro-brew pub across the street? Visit the hotels well done website for a look at all of those who have stayed here.

  • Liked — all of it
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    99
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
60
150
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

This is a lovely historic hotel, yet to our relief had an elevator! The rooms are spacious, all staff very helpful and it has a restaurant and little bar on site. The young chef takes care and pride in the food her serves, and it shows, it was excellent. At weekends and some other nights they have entertainment, ranging from a folk singer to jazz players. An added bonus is that the museum of the history of the building of the dam is actually in the hotel itself, together with some nice classy shops.

  • Liked — Food and the decor
  • Disliked — Nothing at all
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

We stayed at the Boulder Dam Hotel this past weekend, 8/30-9/1, based upon the good reviews here on TripAdvisor. The reviews were spot on! Our room had a comfy, king bed with crisp, white linens. The bathroom was small, but fine. The room was nicely decorated, and very clean. The AC was perfect. The desk staff were friendly, and the lobby was beautiful, with a grand piano and antique furniture. This hotel is quaint and there's so much history here. They managed the renovations while keeping the old time atmosphere. Lots of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. A new restaurant opened in the hotel the day we left, we did not stay long enough to try it.

The Boulder Dam Museum inside the hotel is interesting and well done. We really recommend it. It was only $2.00 for admission. There are also several nice shops, and an art gallery.

We will stay there again, and I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Liked — The decor, and historic nature of the building
  • Disliked — Bathtub a litle small, but not a deal-breaker
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

This hotel is absolutely charming! Apparently this was THE place to stay in the 1930's and had been used by many celebrities of the time. We stayed in a room with a double bed that was furnished with some of the original furnishings from the hotel. In the room was a framed photo of the room as it appeared in the 1930's and although it wasn't exact, it was close. The bathroom was very tiny but it had a very cool old tiled walk-in shower. One room in the hotel was designated as a business room with an internet-access computer complete with fax and printer that could be used by guests at no charge. The only thing below par at the hotel was the continental breakfast in the morning, mostly packaged sweet rolls, juice and coffee. The town itself is very quaint and dotted with sculptures by various artists. One word of caution - don't plan on eating late. Nothing is open after 8:30. Overall, we loved it!

  • Liked — The history of the hotel.
  • Disliked — Continental breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddleworth UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

Myself and my Wife Julie are from the UK, We spent 14 nights in the USA traveling around, we stayed in Bouler Dam hotel and i must say they where the best days and nights, such nice people in the hotel and museum, the town as so much to offer, the shopping cafe bars but most of all the locals,
I bought book's from the Hotel Museum "The history of the Boulder Dam hotel & Boulder City The bigining" after reading i understud even more why Boulder City is such a nice place to be,
IF ONLY OTHER PARTS OF THE USA LOOKED AT THE WAY THE PEOPLE LIVE IM SURE THEY WOULD LEARN SO MUCH FROM THESE NICE AND GENTLE FOLK.

I would realy like to get an email of the lady in the Museum shop i spoke with for some time "she works in the shop and as a sister who also work in the museum" my email is hd80ci40@aol.com

  • Liked — The room was full of history as is the hotel and town.
  • Disliked — Nothing bad to say .
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

I booked this hotel after reading reviews on here and visiting the hotel's website in the process of planning a 11 day trip to Arizona/
Utah/Nevada. My parents, two sisters (16 & 10) and I (23) stayed at the Boulder Dam Hotel in one of their King/Queen rooms (2 rooms w/ connecting door, one bed and one bath in each room) plus a rollaway our first night after flying into Las Vegas on May 28. Even though we arrived late the front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and fairly roomy for a historic building. Many nice decorating touches such as fresh flowers and antique books on the dressers. Everything was very attractive and comfortable, the beds were wonderful! The bathrooms were a bit on the small side but everything worked fine (hot water, toilets, etc). It had the feeling of a bed & breakfast but still private and quite like a good hotel. The continental breakfast was average (juice, coffee, cereal, milk, granola bars, yogurt, muffins and pastries) but filling enough for the whole family. Very close to Hoover Dam as well which was convenient when we visited the next day. If we were staying more than just overnight there is a Hoover Dam museum right in the hotel and they give you a free pass with the price of your room.

Overall we were very pleased with our stay and I had actually booked it again for our last night of the trip before flying out but had backup reservations in case we didn't like our first experience. Needless to say I canceled the backup reservations. The second stay on June 6 was equally nice and we actually got the same pair of rooms we stayed in on our first visit! Even though it was a Friday night it was just as quiet as our first night (a Wednesday). If you're looking for a hotel with a more charm and character than your average chain hotel I highly recommend!

  • Liked — quiet, comfortable, unique accomidations
  • Disliked — pedestal sinks didn't provide much room to set bathroom stuff
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimithing702
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

We booked this stay for one night as a part of the 20 people party mentioned in an earlier review. I was one of the people who called and let the hotel know we coming and part of a huge loud crowd. The great news is we were assigned one of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in. A two room suite with a mini kitchen all redone in an art deco style. Huge old wooden windows overlooking the resteraunts and stores below with the neighborhoods and mountians off in the distance. Ahhh. Perfect. The bad news was when I decided to have a bunch of people up from the bar at night, the room was right next to the inn keepers and they had a fit. And we were threatened with police before we were ever asked to hold it down. (We are all in our 30's BTW - not a bunch of young punks)
So it is a great sweet hotel. By the next day the service was quite sour with us. Our money meant nothing, they just wanted us out of there. They were so nice on the way in - overly - understanding of all the people we had coming. But on the way out you would have thought we burned the place down. If we were just there for a relaxing stay it would have been great.

  • Liked — The beautiful room
  • Disliked — The grouchy staff
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boulder Dam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Dam Hotel

Address: 1305 Arizona St., Boulder City, NV 89005
Location: United States > Nevada > Boulder City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Boulder City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boulder Dam Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Boulder Dam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulder City Dam Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boulder Dam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.