We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boulder Dam Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Boulder Dam Hotel to your Saves list
Boulder Dam Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1305 Arizona St., Boulder City, NV 89005   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Boulder City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mesa, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This hotel was a surprise. Booked through Expedia and stayed the night before going on an overnight canoe trip. Loved the lobby--very cozy with the fireplace, sofa and chairs in front of it. We even sat there in the evening after dinner. The rooms are small, but that is fine. Very quiet and clean. I did get a little chilly sleeping and an extra blanket would have been nice. The FULL breakfast included in the price was very good. The wait staff helpful in getting our order out quickly since we needed to leave early that morning. Also a very interesting museum and local artists gallery. Would definitely stay in this historic hotel again.

Room Tip: We were happy with our room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    108
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
64
171
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We give Boulder Dam Hotel five stars because we love old historic buildings, but we also like to be comfortable and sleep well too!
Spent two nights here in early January as part of a road trip through the southwest and would return without hesitation if we are ever again back in Boulder City (which we also liked).
Our queen room was spotless, comfortable and quiet; not the biggest we have stayed in by any means but with more than enough space for all our stuff. Slept like logs both nights.
The small bathroom was perfectly functional; great shower and we loved the narrow old wooden door.
'Reservation, check-in and service throughout was smooth and professional; front desk staff stored our perishables in the office refrigerator and the complimentary cooked to order breakfast was exceptional value.
The hotel is perfectly located for easy early access to Hoover Dam, there are plenty of eateries in strolling distance and our only regret is that we ran out of time to visit the museum before we left.
If you want big, plastic, impersonal rooms, stay in one of the chain hotels. If you want history, character, charm, good service and good food, stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We chose this hotel rather than staying in Vegas and were very happy that we did. It was clean, quiet and the lobby was beautifully decorated for the holidays. The evening manager at the front desk was helpful and friendly. The rooms are a little older and the only issue that I saw was that the bathrooms could use a little more hardware (door hooks, towel racks, etc.) but it was an excellent stay. They have a restaurant in the lobby as well. If you're a guest, your breakfast is made to order and part of your room charge and the food is very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is a beautiful historic hotel in the downtown area. Although the building is old, it is well restored and everything looked well maintained and clean. The front desk clerk was very friendly and polite. The rooms were slightly small compared to modern chain hotels, but were very comfortable. The air conditioning was modern and quiet. A made-to-order hot breakfast is included in the reasonable room rate. One quirky thing about the free breakfast is that they allow only one beverage. So if you want orange juice and coffee, get the OJ at breakfast and afterwards get the free coffee in the coffee service room. Also included is a free pass to the on-site museum, which is well worth a visit to learn some interesting things about the Hoover Dam. There are lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance. We enjoyed our stay and wish we had more time to check out the town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, AL
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Good grief, from reading some of the other reviews, there are a lot of high-maintenance people out there. "I did not have a night stand on my side of the bed which made it difficult to have a place to put my water bottle, jewelry, and belongings at bed time..." and "No tea or coffee available in the room..." Seriously, people. It's a small, historic hotel in a small, historic town. If you're out sightseeing, checking out the local restaurants, and making friends, what more do you need besides a clean room, a bed, and a bathroom?

We stayed here for one night between a conference in Vegas and a couple nights at the Grand Canyon. We were given two "free" tickets to the Boulder Dam Museum, which we initially brushed off...but when we found ourselves with an hour to kill, we went to the museum, which turned out to be very interesting and informative. The hotel is within walking distance to the public ArtScape, a great wine bar, and shops. I agree that the choices on the complimentary breakfast were limited, but if you want more of a selection it's available for purchase.

Bottom line: If you want luxury and every possible amenity, stay in a suite in Vegas. If you want to see the real America and experience charm, stay at the Boulder Dam Hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

A hotel, a short drive from Vegas, minutes to the Hoover Dam and Lake Meade and located in historical Boulder City downtown surrounded by wonderful places to drink, eat and sip wine. The Hotel is its self historic built at the time of the construction of the Hoover Dam. The rooms are modern but furnished with antiques and throughout a grand lobby you are in a different era. Great breakfast, good sleeping, and very reasonable. One of the places you click "Choose This".

Room Tip: 2nd floor is convenient and there is an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed for one night whilst we looked around Lake Mead and the Hoover Dam. If you want a modern hotel with modern facilities then don't book this hotel. However, for what we paid and for one night it was perfectly adequate for our needs. You get a smallish room with a shower and a bed with a very hard mattress. That said, the room was clean and the staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boulder Dam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Dam Hotel

Address: 1305 Arizona St., Boulder City, NV 89005
Location: United States > Nevada > Boulder City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Boulder City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boulder Dam Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Boulder Dam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulder City Dam Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boulder Dam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.