We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than I expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Rancho Boulder Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boulder City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Rancho Boulder Motel
725 Nevada Highway, Boulder City, NV 89005   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Boulder City
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Much better than I expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

On our way home from a family vacation, we stopped by the Hoover Dam. I was skeptical when we first pulled in. We received a warm welcome and help finding a place for dinner - try Tony's for great pizza :) They accommodated our small dog with no pet fee and told us about a near by park to walk him. The beds were the best I slept in over our entire vacation! I loved the quilts on the beds vs. the standard, scratch hotel bedspread. The TV was a little older, but worked just fine. The pool looked inviting, but we were too tired to jump in.
This was a great value for the $$

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    40
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
40
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

Clean room of a good size, comfortable bed, friendly staff, safe neighbourhood, lovely pool. I would definitely recommend this to other travellers but suggest they book a non-smoking room (all ground floor rooms have a bench outside the door) as the smoking rooms did smell of smoke somewhat (even though I'm a smoker!). Only 30 minutes from Vegas so great for an onward journey.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benton_besore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

Checked into the motel and the first thing that strikes you is the professionalism of the staff. The customer service was bar none and the rooms were extremely clean. Loved the free coffee in the morning and the free wireless internet.

One of the things that surprised me was the large pool which was, compared to other places I have stayed, exceptionally clean and kept up. You would think that during this time when the weather isn't the best that pool cleanliness would be one of the last things on the priority list but not here.

Overall I had a wonderful stay and am looking forward to staying again. The personable staff made my stay a welcomed one.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley AZ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

Drove into Boulder city spur of the moment looking to get away from Vegas smog while looking for a house. It is a small town basically just a pit stop for people going to hoover dam. There are a string of motels on this street and they are all the same old style motels.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

We were in Boulder City for the State Cross Country Championships and had an wonderful stay at El Rancho Boulder Motel. The place is very clean, the women running the front desk were very friendly and happy to direct us around town.
We had two young boys with us so they changed our room from a standard double to one with an extra room and TV (perfect for two active boys). The rooms are not fancy, but the beds were comfortable and again everything was extremely clean, having two small refrigerators was helpful.
We walked into town for dinner at Evan's, ok food nothing to get too excited about. We had breakfast the next morning a The Coffee Cup, excellent food, great value, quick and efficient service.
Convenient location for touring the Hoover Dam and a great break from the hustle and bustle of Vegas. Will stay again!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and location, free wi-fi
  • Disliked — small televisions
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

I booked at this motel after reading the reviews here and then visiting their website. It seemed perfect since the location was 6+ miles from Lake Mead where we were attending a wedding the next morning, and they had smoking rooms, free wireless internet and HBO.

We were very impressed with this property for a few reasons.
1) It is a well kept older motel with style. White building built in a Spanish Colonial style with red tile roof. It is a very attractive roadside motel.

2) The staff could not have been friendlier at check in. She was thoughtful, helpful and made sure we knew everything we needed to know about the motel and Boulder City. The help we got choosing out eating establishment came from an expert in the area.

3) The location was perfect, right next to the small downtown area and near to eating establishments.

4) The pool, while it is surrounded by the street and motel parking, was not even visible to us due to the expert landscaping that gave it a secluded feel after entering the secured gate. It was as clean as could possibly be, and had a very warm atmosphere in the evening.

5) This was by far the cleanest motel we have ever stayed at. Spotless carpet, bath and linens.

To sum it up, I would return to Boulder City in an instant to stay at the El Rancho - and just skip staying in Vegas overnight.

  • Liked — Friendly and clean
  • Disliked — not a thing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

This hotel was suggested as a place to stay for a business trip. I checked all the reviews and decided to book it. For what it is - a little roadside motel - it is really pretty good! Only $65/night (not sure if this is standard or government rate) - and it was very clean, front desk staff very helpful & friendly, and generally perfectly comfortable for a few nights' stay. Microwave & fridge in room; I'm used to having hair dryer & hotel in the room, but the front desk is happy to give you one that you can keep during your stay.

Many people mentioned the Evan's Grille, which the hotel suggests - I found it to be quite mediocre. The dinner did not seem fresh - canned green beans, seemingly pre-processed chicken, but I will say that the service was friendly and the wine pours were very generous! Milo's Wine Cellar was good for a light meal (sandwiches & salads and nice outdoor seating).

I would definitely recommend this little motel. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Rancho Boulder Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rancho Boulder Motel

Address: 725 Nevada Highway, Boulder City, NV 89005
Location: United States > Nevada > Boulder City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Boulder City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The El Rancho Boulder Motel is family owned and operated. While we are not a 4 Star hotel, our rooms are CLEAN, comfortable and safe. Any member of our staff will be happy to help you in any way we can. Upon request, we provide transportation to and from the Boulder City Airport and while we don't have a business center, we will be happy to make you a few copies, send or receive a fax, or hold a delivery until you arrive. We have a discount agreement with a few of the restaurants nearby, one of them is right next door, so everything you need is within walking distance. And if there is anything that you need, that you don't see in your room, PLEASE ASK. Our Front Office has a supply of everything from Shampoo to Pots and Pans. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Rancho Boulder Hotel Boulder City
El Rancho Boulder City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rancho Boulder Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added El Rancho Boulder Motel to your Saves list