We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, beautiful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cour de Ferme

La Cour de Ferme
Route de Cadenet, 84160 Cadenet, France
04 90 68 11 79
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 13 Restaurants in Cadenet
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our group of 12 visited the bistro after spending the morning at the Cucuron market. Despite not having a reservation, the manager was able to accommodate us. The menu was simple, but absolutely delicious. Several of us ordered the tomato and mozzarella - it was a beautiful presentation and one of the best samplings I had during our 10-day stay in France. My husband ordered the melon, which was a cold soup and the winner for the entrees. For our second course, several of us (including a few of our kids) ordered the lasagna bolognaise, which was outstanding. Several others ordered the roasted chicken, which was good, but upstaged by the gratin de gnocchi. Deserts included fresh berries with cream and profiteroles. We enjoyed our meal with a few magnums of local rose. The children kept themselves busy exploring the grounds of the property. Beautiful setting, wonderful food and pleasant service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    22
    10
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
India
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Horrible, arrogant, restaurant manager!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I had reserved a lunch for me and another guest who is vegetarian. This WAS confirmed by a email revert from the property. On that day there was almost no vegetarian food in the set menu so my guest requested the manager to request the chef for some vegetarian food, what was served was a plate of blanched vegetables- when we expressed our disappointment to the manager he asked what was wrong with it, we indicated that they chef could have been a little more creative and come up with something more appetising considering we had informed them well in advance. The reply from the manager was- well, this is a bistro, if you want creative food try our restaurant. What is this guy doing in that place? Why does the restaurant hire anyone who can speak to a guest like that? We did address this issue with the manager of the Hotel.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good rural food and experienced service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

A dozen friends travelling around South Rhone, we were recommended to visit this restaurant. It was nice hot september, we were sitting outside under reed ceiling, around a large round table (it is in one of the photos. A waieter in the age of about 50 came, immediately estimated what we need and offered two magnums of local rosé, very good, fruity amd of full taste and we were given large bowls of tapenade with some refried pieces of bread. Appetirers - some asked for good gaspacho, most of us wanted Terrine de campagne, we were given large whole pivces of terrine on a wood with laguiolles. Terrine was rural, could be slightly rougher as for the structure (larger pieces) and could be with more hergs / spices, but it is a question of individual taste. The home made Cucuron bread with hazel nuts was absolutely wonderful
After that we were drinkig Bastide de Rhodares from Tardieu Laurent and Domaine des Bosqueuets, excellent Gigondas. Wines were excellent and not overpriced.
I had magret de canard au miel, cold duck breasts, rare, baked with honey, puree de carrot with cummin, excellent food. I tasted good tagine of lamb with aprictos and
a rabbit confit with polentas cakes, everything was delicious.
Several pieces of local goats cheese and a small cake with apricots.
The waiter was good, he managed us quickly, and effectively, withoue forcing us. Good simple local food, excellent wines, good service, recommended

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The poor relation of Auberge La Feniere!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We read great reviews of the Auberge La Feniere and the skills of Mme Sammut so our visit to the bistro for lunch was much anticipated. Unfortunately the experience did not live up to our expectations. The bistro is part of some old, unattractive, farm buildings and completely lacks charm. The ground is a mixture of gravel and uneven cement and the furniture basic and uncomfortable. Worse still, the terrace is barely shaded - having pre-booked, we arrived at 13.15 in 34 degrees and were shown to a table that was only partly shaded. The attitude of the young lady was very much "take it or leave it" but a young man arrived and pulled a table into the shade for us. There were two "booked" tables in the shade that remained empty during our visit.
We would have forgiven all had the food lived up to expectations but the set 35 euro menu was just average. Despite there being no choice for starter it took almost 40mins to arrive and we were not even given bread while waiting. My fish (dorade) was overcooked but my husband's lamb was good.. The cheese arrived after another long delay. We had to ask for bread and were presented with a basket of stale bread! The desserts - peach melba and apricot tart were both very ordinary. We finally got our bill at 15. 20 - 95 euro for the food, a half bottle of rose and a bottle of water. Not good value and not a memorable experiece. There are several reasonably priced restaurants in Lourmarin that would be a better choice for a pleasant day out in a beautiful part of France.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cour de Ferme also viewed

 
Cadenet, Luberon
 

Been to La Cour de Ferme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cour de Ferme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.