We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visiting alaska on a budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spenard Hostel International

Save Saved
You added Spenard Hostel International to your Saves list
Spenard Hostel International
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spenard Hostel International
2845 W 42nd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99517   |  
Hotel amenities
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“visiting alaska on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

after yearning to visit alaska, but hesitant due to cost and all that I wanted toi see, i finally made the journey. To simplify this awsome task, this is what I did.

1. I stayed at Spenard Hostel in anchorage for 2 days. From there I was able to walk to Gweenies Resturant for a good hardy breakfast that cost about $12. 00. I was able to save half for lunch or for breakfast the next day. The hostel had a refrigerator & microwave for guest. MY friend & I split the cost of rental car (very worthy choice) we drove from anchorage to Seward (beautiful scenery) where we took the Major Marines Kenia Fjords Tour. All you can eat salmon & prim rib. We saw a lot of what one would want to see in Alaska. We returned to Anchorage late that evening (sun stilllll shining brightly).

Room Tip: rooms are dorm style with about 4 comfy bunks per guest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    10
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
2
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011 via mobile

Super great value for money, with the house staff so inviting and lovely.
Bathrooms are convenient and easy, but most of all so clean and house keepers are seen regularly cleaning.
The staff here care for this hostel like it is their home and the guests we encouraged were polite and friendly.
Will return for sure!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorage alaska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I have been staying here for well over a decade, and on the occasions I have stayed at other hostels in Anchorage I have regretted it. This is the most homey hostel I think I have been to. The building itself is in a converted '70s duplex in a quiet neighborhood near the airport, with a large fenced yard in which camping is allowed. The decor and room arrangements haven't changed since I first stayed, and that is fine; you literally feel as if you are a guest in an average (but well-kept) local home. The staff are always super helpful and attentive, and the management is never intrusive or pushy without due cause. The rules are firm enough to keep security at a maximum and disturbance to a minimum, yet the feel of the place is much more laid back than at larger places. I have never been awakened in the middle of the night, or wondered if my belongings were going to wander off while I was in town. I don't know how they keep up their level of service, consistently, but the reviews say it all. Aside from being a mile from the airport and near a main bus line, pluses include fast wifi, very comfy beds, and clean and well stocked kitchens. The hostel also offers discounted rates for seasonal housing during the winter, for which they accept applications in the fall.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011 via mobile

Me and my friends are really not budget travelers. However,we were looking for a place close to the airport where we could get decent 'value for money' considering we arrive to Anchorage late evening and take a ride to the airport very early morning next day.
We knew we come late and the email said: if arrival after 11pm you will find information about your room right behind the entrance. And it was as said.We found a nice letter saying where is our room and when we can officially check-in next morning, eventually what to do if we leave early morning which was exactly our case.

I was verry happy about the approach, the room was specious enough considering we were in the hostel. The house was home-like: cozy and I felt well.

I would definitely recommend this lovely place with pro-active personell (based on easy communication for late arrival guys)

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

So conveniently located near the airport, this hostel is better than any I have ever stayed at. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. The grounds are very kept and the hostel is very clean. Their high speed internet is a major bonus. Also, their bike rental was very helpful; being a traveler without a vehicle, I was able to see the entire (nearby) Coastal Trail. I will definitely be back every time I am in Anchorage!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

I arrived at Spenard Hostel in December 2010, and was greeted by a plowed parking lot and a huge mural on the front of the building. The building seemed homely and welcoming at first sight and upon walking through the front door was met by one of the houseparents who welcomed me with a warm hello and smile. The building is layed out over two floors with 4 wings, there are 3 kitchens, a TV room, free wifi, laundry room and the dorms have 4 to six beds in them. The rate is very reasonable at $25 a night plus a weekly rate of $150 and an even more reasonable $300 monthly rate if you plan on spending longer in the fabulous state of Alaska. The place is kept clean by both the houseparents and the guests, who create a unique community which is nice when youre away from home around the holidays and looking for some company.

The best part about the hostel is the houseparents who are pretty much free tour guides around Anchorage. If you are looking for a great day out hiking followed by an awesome night out at Chilkoot Charlies bar down the street then make sure to stop by Spenard hostel!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

I had a lot of fun at this hostel, and in the fall/winter time it feels more like staying with a cool family. Jen the owner is really nice, and Kelly the houseparent was super-great. All the guests were really, really nice too; there was quite a good normal-to-weirdo ratio. The rooms were good, although if you're into security then you're out of luck - no locks on doors. But I never felt like my stuff would get nicked, and I was just a bit more careful, so I didn't worry too much. The only issue I have is with the location (although it's on the bus route and there are tons of fast food joints within walking distance) - the area is a bit of a prostitute/drug den, so if you're female you do tend to get lots of slow drive-bys, stares and offers of a good time. But it is generally safe. I stayed here twice in October, and had positive, fun experiences both times.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spenard Hostel International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spenard Hostel International

Address: 2845 W 42nd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99517
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Specialty lodging in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spenard Hostel is a comfortable, clean and fun spot to stay while visiting Alaska! We offer free coffee, tea, cocoa, wifi, fresh linens, friendly staff, no curfew, no lock-out, located 1.5 miles from the airport, bike rentals, kitchens, laundry facility. Bus stops just around the corner, REI, grocery, movies, shopping and restaurants all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Spenard Hostel International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spenard Hostel International Hotel Anchorage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spenard Hostel International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.