We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Downtown Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Suites Downtown to your Saves list
Clarion Suites Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1110 West 8th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Warton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Downtown Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Comfortable hotel, triple rooms available, room clean and nicely furnished, staff very helpful. 5 minute walk from main downtown area, Free parking and shuttle to airport, 2 minute walk to the 'Tony Mills' trail.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    111
    42
    12
    16
See reviews for
71
91
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wasilla
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The customer service was horrendous! Aside of the clogged sink, broken pipes leaking water into my belongings and leaving black sediment everywhere for me to clean up - I would never treat my clients like that! The Assistant General Manager along with her male Housekeeping Supervisor are "Bullies". The male Housekeeping Supervisor opened the door to the room while my children (ages 10 & 16) were changing reminding us of the check out time (which we had exceeded by a few minutes at that point). When I asked him to please step out of the room and close the door till my girls were dressed he proceed to enter further into the room, keeping one hand on the open door & restating check out time. My kids covered themselves in the corner of the bedroom and crouched down hollering "MOM!". I had to ask him a total of 4 times to please exit the room till my daughters were dressed before I personally had to escort him through the door - allowing me to close it behind me. I went to the Assistant General Manager who then express no apology or concern what-so-ever for the safety or embarrassment of my girls, supported her male Housekeeping Supervisor's actions, and was only concerned with the additional 4 minutes that the girls were in the room changing. When I told her that I wanted to file a complaint and asked for her name, position, business card & phone number to Corporate she ordered me off the premises and laughed as she added "look it up on line". The only response I was ever afforded by the male Housekeeping Supervisor was "you ordered me out of the room & I couldn't see anything anyways". Frankly I'm disgusted and all of you should be as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We arrived in Anchorage a night ahead of our Alaskan cruise. We chose this hotel mostly because it had a free airport shuttle which picked us up promptly and free breakfast. The hotel staff were very helpful and helped book us a taxi as we were a family of 5 we needed a minivan. Which came on time and dropped us off at the convention center. Breakfast was in fact very good for a complimentary type one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
157 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are a little dated the corn but they're very clean and very well set up. They are almost 2 separate rooms a living room with the TV then Apollo bed in the bedroom with the true bad in another TV. Would be really great for a bigger family but it was perfect for individual on a business trip as I could do work in one area and sleep in the other. The full breakfast in the morning is also a nice benefit fresh eggs and fruit and meet it was a good deal

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed one night on July 20, 2013. The hotel was busy, but the staff was efficient and helpful. The room was comfortable, roomy, and clean. The breakfast the next morning was disappointing. The hotel is only a few blocks out of the main downtown area and within easy walking distance to the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Rooms were comfy and room but service not up to scratch. Probably because of the monopoly this hotel has in Anchorage. Very busy place.

Breakfast was less than basic. Powdered scrambled eggs, broken toasters, long queues, very little choice for hot food, infact it was powdered eggs or cereal

Cannot believe that some reviews say 'wonderful breakfast' They must stay at some dreadful places

Front desk could definitely be more welcoming as the first thing we were told was that 'check in is at 3". Nice Greeting. Also reluctant with tourist info and guidance

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Very nice place to stay....Staff is wonderful....I dealt with a lovely young lady..Name Misty...We took advantage of two nights.....Clean.......Good price for Ancorage, especially downtown...Felt almost at home....Wonderful breakfast.......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Clarion Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Downtown

Address: 1110 West 8th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Downtown Hotel Anchorage
Hawthorn Suites Anchorage
Anchorage Hawthorn Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Suites Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.