We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Choice in Anchorage” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Downtown

Save Saved
You added Clarion Suites Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Suites Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1110 West 8th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 69 hotels in Anchorage
Reno
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Solid Choice in Anchorage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is clean, and well maintained with a good free parking available, which is rare in downtown Anchorage. Although it is not a five star resort, is is spacious, quiet and has comfortable beds, with an adequate free breakfast. Two computers and printers are conveniently located in the lobby and worked well. It is a good choice for those who have come to see beautiful Alaska, and do not need to have a luxury resort experience. Staff was consistently pleasant and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Hotel borders "green" blocks on one side, so is generally a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    90
    37
    10
    13
See reviews for
64
71
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Ia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very nice hotel. We were booked there on a group tour, but at the end of our trip, our flight was canceled. There were 8 of us and they made it very nice for us to be able to stay and hang out in their common areas until our flight was to leave. They shuttled us back and forth to the airport, numerous times and were always very helpful. It's a great location for downtown Anhorage.

Room Tip: It is very expensive to stay at this hotel in the high season, but they all are in Alaska.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi,India
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We would not stay in this Hotel again. Its OK to sleep in but thats about it. It has no charm, no character and albeit it has space for a suite, the space is poorly utilised . Do not get a comfortable feeling at all - leave alone luxurious . No charm, no character to the room. One thinks - thank God I just have to spend the night , nothing more. Breakfast also poor . SHuttle to airport, highly unreliable

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We Started Our 9-Day Alaska Vacation By Staying At Clarion Suites (August 31-Sept. 2, 2012). We Had Two Rooms Booked By Alaska Tours and Travel, with Double Beds in each suite. We were on the Second Level and It was very comfortable. We Enjoyed the fact that it was central to Downtown Anchorage (We came back days later to enjoy Anchorage) and the shuttle driver from the airport and to the Alaska Railroad station upon checkout was very helpful and front desk staff exceptionally good. Overall, we were pleased. A Hefty Five Claws UP!!! Joe G 'Bear'

Room Tip: Upstairs always better than the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puget Sound in Washington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have stayed at the "Clarion Suites" several times now...it has changed hands a few times over the years. I appreciate that the rooms are suites, allowing more privacy and less noise. I enjoy that they offer a good breakfast...usually consisting of eggs, potatoes and some meat choice of bacon or sausage. They also offer waffles, and assorted fruits and yogurts, orange juice and coffee.
During the summertime rush of Cruise Ships you may encounter a bit of a "rush hour" during the breakfast so plan ahead. Other times of year there's never really an issue.
The parking is free but can get a little hard to find when the restuarant (Benihana's) is still serving as they share the parking lot.

Room Tip: Others have complained about the rooms being too hot...I would have to agree that our room was too h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night at the end of our Alaska vacation. The hotel is on the outskirts of downtown, not a problem and glad they had free parking for our rental car. Breakfast had ok choices, but the room was too small and very crowded. Our biggest problem was with the temperature in the room. I slept in the hide-a-bed in the sitting area which was as uncomfortable as you would expect, but there was no thermostat to control the temperature of that room, which was stifling hot. My parents were in the bedroom and they were trying to sleep while the AC/heater unit was making a racket. It was very noisy, so sleep was difficult in both rooms. But the rooms were clean and maybe the air flow would have been better if we had kept the door open between the rooms. I used the airport shuttle after I dropped off my parents and the rental car and returned to downtown to wait for my red-eye flight. So I appreciated having a free airport shuttle.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croxley green
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Myself & my wife stayed at the Clarion Suites for 3 nights in August 2012. The rooms we very nice and spacious with good facilities.
The hotel is in a good position in town and very near to everything, although Anchorage is a very small town anyway.
The breakfast at the Clarion was dreadful, the dining area was far to small for the amount of rooms it has, the so called scrambled eggs were the made up type out of a packet I assume, ghastly stuff!! There were people carrying their breakfasts back to their rooms on trays and people sitting in the foyer eating breakfasts on trays also because of the lack of room in the dining room.
For the amount of money we paid for our stay which was quite an amount, it was not good.
Nice hotel, crap breakfast!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 1st floor for 2 nights, we had to carry our luggage up the stairs as the hotel only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Downtown

Address: 1110 West 8th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 69 hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Suites Downtown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Otel so you can book your Clarion Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Downtown Hotel Anchorage
Hawthorn Suites Anchorage
Anchorage Hawthorn Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Suites Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.