We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Airport, Nice Rooms, Great Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Anchorage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Anchorage to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4411 Spenard Rd, Anchorage, AK 99517   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Convenient to Airport, Nice Rooms, Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

My wife and two children (18 and 16) stayed at the Holiday Inn Express, Anchorage, on two separate occasions in late June 2009. Why there? Convenience to the airport, free shuttle service, and free hot breakfast.

The decor was very nice, if modest. Yes, it's on the budget side of the scale for a hotel, but in Anchorage during the summer tourist season, that means over $200 per night. Good luck finding something for less! Still, it exceeded our expectations.

The shuttle service was generally prompt. We waited a short while for our initial pickup at the airport, but nothing out of the ordinary. The next morning, my wife and I took the shuttle back to the airport to get our rental car; the service was good. On our return to Anchorage eight days later, we checked in, deposited our luggage in the room, and then returned the car to the airport. I had checked with the front desk before leaving, and the clerk said she would alert the driver. I waited only a few minutes before pickup.

By the way, this strategy saved us a LOT on the car rental. If you arrive in Anchorage in the evening, why rent a car when just to get to the hotel when there's a free shuttle? Ditto, the return; our departure flight was at 8:00 in the morning.

The only trick with the morning shuttle is catching the right time; it runs at pre-scheduled times in the morning, until late morning, at which point it is an on-demand service.

The hotel itself seemed rather quiet. While this might have been simply coincidental to our stays, we had the same quiet atmosphere both nights.

The rooms were fine. Our double was not large, but what do you need in a hotel for a simple overnight? Just a bed and a bathroom. There you go!

Bathrooms were nicely appointed, and looked as though they had been renovated fairly recently. Towels and toiletries were nice, as were the offers to supply anything you had forgotten or run out of -- toothpaste, deodorant, etc. Beds were comfortable. Pillows were labeled "soft" or "firm" on the pillowcases, although there didn't seem to be that much of a difference. And, the pillows didn't seem new; they weren't old or anything, just didn't seem new.

I'll say it again: free high-speed internet access is nice. My daughter used the wireless access to check things like weather back home (how do we dress for the flight home?), and to send a few e-mails. Why resort hotels have to charge when this service is available free is beyond me. But the service here was free, and easy to use -- no problems whatsoever in getting an iPod touch to connect. Thanks!
But perhaps the most pleasantly surprising thing was the breakfast. First, there were the by-now usual staples for hotel breakfasts -- three or four cereals, some fruit, milk, juice, coffee, some pastries, English muffins, bagels, etc. Then, there were hot things: there ample sausage patties, cheese omelets, biscuits and gravy, and cinnamon rolls. We all had a nice, full breakfast. The room was clean, large, well lit, and not overpowered by TVs everywhere blaring a morning new show -- just one TV with CNN, which could be ignored if you wanted to maintain a sense of "getting away." The room also was serviced regularly, and attentively. For us, the breakfast was a real plus.

All in all, this was a very positive experience, twice.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    99
    34
    10
    6
See reviews for
62
67
22
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

Of all the wonderful places we stayed in Alaska this is by far the WORST. It was the most expensive anywhere in the state with a view of a concrete wall. The room they gave us was in the basement looking out onto a lovely concrete wall. I would never stay here and would advise you if you do to look at the room first before you commit to staying. It might be OK in the middle of winter when it is pitch black dark outside. It might b e OK up on the other floors.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alaska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

After spending 10 days in Oahu, we arrived in Anchorage in the early morning. We called the hotel and were pleasantly surprised they said they would send the shuttle and we could check in immediately. The staff were professional and courteous. Our room was immaculate and the bed was the best we have ever had in a hotel. While my husband was at a meeting, I spent the day using the business center to catch up on emails and enjoyed the wonderful continental breakfast. Every employee seems to go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. I can't say enough nice things about this hotel and staff and will not hesitate to stay there again when in Anchorage.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest US
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

I've stayed at both the Holiday Inn Express and the Courtyard by Marriott around the Anchorage Airport. The hotel standards around the airport are not as high as other places in the lower 48 and will be a lot more expensive. You might consider the Courtyard or the HI Express value properties in the lower 48, but they are above average around Anchorage.That said, I'd stick with either the HI Express, the Courtyard, or the Millennium Hotel.
The hotel's hallways and entry way has personality, but the rooms are surprisingly bland but clean, comfy, and roomy. The continental breakfast was good and the hotel also has milk and cookies at 8 PM. Pool and hot-tub looked small but fair and clean. There is a lot of fast food restaurants within walking distance, the Anchorage "People Mover" bus picks up outside the hotel (albeit with a limited schedule), but other than that you'll probably need a car.

  • Liked — Nothing really stands out about the hotel.
  • Disliked — Rooms lacked style and personality.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

Need a one night place before a trip -- so picked this place.

Found a pretty standard HI Express. But these days -- that's a pretty good place to be. Good check in, good breakfast, good room. Would stay again.

Would stay again.

Have to second the Moosetooth recommendation!!!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

Stayed at this Holiday Inn for a recent trip to Alaska. Well my rating was average. Nothing out of the ordinary. Nothing bad to say about the place. Felt the reception staff could have been more friendly....

Positives:
-Free airport shuttle
-great buffet breakfast (free)
-Cheaper of the hotels in anchorage
-Clean Standard room

Negatives:
-Location: far from downtown....not good if relying on a taxi
-Reception staff needs to work on a better greeting....maybe this is just Anchorage.

Tips on Anchorage:
-eat at Moosetooth's Pizza and Brewery, you will wait but best pizza I've had!
-take City Trolley tour: good views of city and gives better perspective
-take the iron head hike if time ( we didn't do this)
-Sleeping lady brewery: good views of harbor and mountains with great beer!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights on Holiday Inn Priority Club points ( i.e. for free) prior to a scheduled Alaskan cruise/tour. We stayed in 6 different hotels on the trip (all the others are alledgedly more upscale than a Holiday Inn) but we had the largest room, the most ammenities in the room and the most friendly staff here versus all the others. The breakfast was as good as I have had for an included hotel lobby breakfast - much diversity and good food. Separate internet lounge off the lobby - easily accessible. Fitness room was quite small with limited working equipment. The hotel is very close to the airport and thus not very close to downtown Anchorage. But the public bus stops just outside the hotel and for $1.00 ($0.50 for seniors > 62) the bus will take you either to the airport or to downtown . We used it two days. Unless I needed to stay downtown Anchorage I would certainly stay here again. A very nice experience

  • Liked — Cleaniness, staff
  • Disliked — Distance from downtown
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Anchorage

Address: 4411 Spenard Rd, Anchorage, AK 99517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Anchorage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express-Anchorage Airport is conveniently located just 1 mile from the Ted Steven s Anchorage International Airport and 10 minutes from Anchorage s historic downtown district, with all the major shopping and fine dinning restaurants. Take a ride on the Alaska Railroad, see the starting line of the world famous Iditarod trail, kids can play at the Imaginarium or H2Oais Indoor Water Park. Attend events at the Egan Center, the Sullivan Arena,the new Dena ina Civic & Convention Center or Anchorage s Performing Arts Center. Alyeska Ski Resort and the town of Girdwood are a short drive south on the New Seward Highway, along the Turnagain Arm where you can look out for wildlife such as moose, Dall sheep and the bald eagle. But if you don t see them on the road, you can visit the Alaska Zoo or Big Game Alaska Wildlife Center. Surrounding companies include, BP Exploration, Conoco Phillips, North Slope Telecom, Inc., and Arctic Slope Regional Corp. The Holiday Inn Express-Anchorage Airport has 129 smartly appointed guestrooms, with microwaves and refrigerators in all rooms, Free wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, 24 hour airport shuttle, and our Express Start Breakfast Bar featuring our world famous cinnamon rolls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Anchorage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Anchorage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.