We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Anchorage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Anchorage to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4411 Spenard Rd, Anchorage, AK 99517   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #14 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence 2014
alaska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

After spending 10 days in Oahu, we arrived in Anchorage in the early morning. We called the hotel and were pleasantly surprised they said they would send the shuttle and we could check in immediately. The staff were professional and courteous. Our room was immaculate and the bed was the best we have ever had in a hotel. While my husband was at a meeting, I spent the day using the business center to catch up on emails and enjoyed the wonderful continental breakfast. Every employee seems to go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. I can't say enough nice things about this hotel and staff and will not hesitate to stay there again when in Anchorage.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    99
    36
    10
    7
See reviews for
62
68
23
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest US
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

I've stayed at both the Holiday Inn Express and the Courtyard by Marriott around the Anchorage Airport. The hotel standards around the airport are not as high as other places in the lower 48 and will be a lot more expensive. You might consider the Courtyard or the HI Express value properties in the lower 48, but they are above average around Anchorage.That said, I'd stick with either the HI Express, the Courtyard, or the Millennium Hotel.
The hotel's hallways and entry way has personality, but the rooms are surprisingly bland but clean, comfy, and roomy. The continental breakfast was good and the hotel also has milk and cookies at 8 PM. Pool and hot-tub looked small but fair and clean. There is a lot of fast food restaurants within walking distance, the Anchorage "People Mover" bus picks up outside the hotel (albeit with a limited schedule), but other than that you'll probably need a car.

  • Liked — Nothing really stands out about the hotel.
  • Disliked — Rooms lacked style and personality.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

Need a one night place before a trip -- so picked this place.

Found a pretty standard HI Express. But these days -- that's a pretty good place to be. Good check in, good breakfast, good room. Would stay again.

Would stay again.

Have to second the Moosetooth recommendation!!!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

Stayed at this Holiday Inn for a recent trip to Alaska. Well my rating was average. Nothing out of the ordinary. Nothing bad to say about the place. Felt the reception staff could have been more friendly....

Positives:
-Free airport shuttle
-great buffet breakfast (free)
-Cheaper of the hotels in anchorage
-Clean Standard room

Negatives:
-Location: far from downtown....not good if relying on a taxi
-Reception staff needs to work on a better greeting....maybe this is just Anchorage.

Tips on Anchorage:
-eat at Moosetooth's Pizza and Brewery, you will wait but best pizza I've had!
-take City Trolley tour: good views of city and gives better perspective
-take the iron head hike if time ( we didn't do this)
-Sleeping lady brewery: good views of harbor and mountains with great beer!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights on Holiday Inn Priority Club points ( i.e. for free) prior to a scheduled Alaskan cruise/tour. We stayed in 6 different hotels on the trip (all the others are alledgedly more upscale than a Holiday Inn) but we had the largest room, the most ammenities in the room and the most friendly staff here versus all the others. The breakfast was as good as I have had for an included hotel lobby breakfast - much diversity and good food. Separate internet lounge off the lobby - easily accessible. Fitness room was quite small with limited working equipment. The hotel is very close to the airport and thus not very close to downtown Anchorage. But the public bus stops just outside the hotel and for $1.00 ($0.50 for seniors > 62) the bus will take you either to the airport or to downtown . We used it two days. Unless I needed to stay downtown Anchorage I would certainly stay here again. A very nice experience

  • Liked — Cleaniness, staff
  • Disliked — Distance from downtown
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

Arrived into Anchorage in the evening and were leaving the next morning on a cruise. Needed a clean, not to expensive hotel near the airport. This hotel met our needs perfectly. Four of us shared a room and there was plenty of space. The room was clean and well kept. The hotel is your typical Holiday Inn Express. We had a nice breakfast included the next morning. Would not hesitate to recommend. All hotels in Anchorage are expensive during cruise season so this is not your usual Holiday Inn price.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

We just returned from an amazing trip to Alaska and stayed at this wonderful hotel. It has everything you need..from a great breakfast every morning, to computer services and warm, friendly people. The staff was incredible and it made our entire stay all the more memorable. They have laundry facilities that we found helpful and it could not have been better. Look no further..this is the place to stay right near the airport.

  • Liked — Comfort and cleanliness.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Anchorage

Address: 4411 Spenard Rd, Anchorage, AK 99517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Anchorage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express-Anchorage Airport is conveniently located just 1 mile from the Ted Steven s Anchorage International Airport and 10 minutes from Anchorage s historic downtown district, with all the major shopping and fine dinning restaurants. Take a ride on the Alaska Railroad, see the starting line of the world famous Iditarod trail, kids can play at the Imaginarium or H2Oais Indoor Water Park. Attend events at the Egan Center, the Sullivan Arena,the new Dena ina Civic & Convention Center or Anchorage s Performing Arts Center. Alyeska Ski Resort and the town of Girdwood are a short drive south on the New Seward Highway, along the Turnagain Arm where you can look out for wildlife such as moose, Dall sheep and the bald eagle. But if you don t see them on the road, you can visit the Alaska Zoo or Big Game Alaska Wildlife Center. Surrounding companies include, BP Exploration, Conoco Phillips, North Slope Telecom, Inc., and Arctic Slope Regional Corp. The Holiday Inn Express-Anchorage Airport has 129 smartly appointed guestrooms, with microwaves and refrigerators in all rooms, Free wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, 24 hour airport shuttle, and our Express Start Breakfast Bar featuring our world famous cinnamon rolls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Anchorage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Anchorage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.