We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drunks greeted us in the am & pm” 2 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3401 A St, Anchorage, AK 99503   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Drunks greeted us in the am & pm”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Room was ok outdated and the sofa bed was was not even useable, my son had to sleep on the couch part, as the springs were all you could feel of the mattress. Also when the sofa bed was opened you had walk on the fold on bed to get to the other part of the room where the desk kitchenette AND door were located making it a fire hassard to even use. The curtains were lose and sagging drastically on one side. This was room 120 maybe other rooms are better.

Breakfast was ok

The worst part was being greeted by the drunks every morning and evening. The first was a loud woman who could not find the elevator she was sitting next to, that evening it was a young man throwing up by the back door. We waited in our car until he was done and walked into the bushes to sleep, the next morning it was two men inside at breakfast. Obviously homeless men. The last was an old man that caught the door as we were leaving, held it open for us as we left and then went inside! Even our pool time was cut short because an elderly man staring at my daughter with his bottle in his bag. When we did report the sick man sleeping under the bushes the wemon at the desk states "he's still there?". We will not be returning . We are a loyal Marriott family and will try other marriotts in anchorage but will not put my familly through this again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMS-Lodging, Director of Marketing at SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello –

I recently received a copy of your review and want to thank you for the feedback. Our goal is to provide great service and great rooms, but it sounds like we didn’t meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apology.

There is not a lot we can say about the occasional “neighborhood friends” that find our hotel. All downtown and midtown hotels work with the city to help escort folks to shelters and into programs. It is unusual to hear about multiple encounters in the same day. I’ve passed your comments on to the GM and she is looking into the specifics so that we can prevent this from happening again.

Shelley
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    82
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
72
48
8
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miamisburg, Ohio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed the modern decor throughout this hotel. Suites are good sized and clean. The breakfast was very good and the front desk personnel were friendly. The room rate was high but included breakfast and parking. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGV, CA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed at this place last week, it's the worst hotel ever (considering it's a Marriott brand and classified as a category 6 on the Marriott level). It does not live up to the Marriott's brand level. The furnishing and decor are dated and at barely minimal.

Let's start with the good side::
Free airport shuttle; eatery and theater right next door; suite style rooms with small fridge and work area; clean sheets and towls; free breakfast.

The bad::
There were strands of hair left on the bathroom counter, so obviously housekeeping did not do a good job on cleaning the room. Stained carpets in the room--I normally walk around in a Marriott's hotel room barefeet without concern, but after seeing the stains I oped to have my shoes on. Lumpy matress. Here's the worst part:: whenever the air conditioning came on in the room above ours, somehow that created loud water dripping noise into my room (no kidding, if TripAdvisor has the feature to upload sound file, I would upload the noise recording). We maybe got in only a few hours of sleep because of that noise.

The bottomline is that if you want free shuttle and breakfast, try the Courtyard Marriott or elsewhere.

Room Tip: Top floor--only a 3 level building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMS-Lodging, Director of Marketing at SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hello –

I recently received a copy of your review and want to thank you for the feedback. Our goal is to provide great service and great rooms, but it sounds like on that day we didn’t meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apology.

There is no excuse for counter tops and carpets being less than perfectly cleaned, so I’ll pass your comments on to the general manager and she’ll address them right away. Our engineer is looking into the dripping sound and will fix whatever the cause is.

Thanks for the positive comments as well.

Shelley
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

reasonable distance from the airport via shuttle, rooms are pretty basic. Breakfast was ok, pool small.. you can walk to WalMart for last minute items. I'm sure rates drop when the cruise season is over in October.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a standard, business-class hotel in midtown Anchorage. We stayed here two nights: on our first night and last night in Alaska. The hotel seemed to be in good, but not great, condition, and it did appear slightly dated….especially in comparison to the Holiday Inn Express on Spenard that we also stayed at. Our room was clean, and featured a large sofa, sink, and desk that were partially separated from the bedroom portion of the room. The room also included a refrigerator, but on our first night here, that room’s refrigerator had been unplugged. That’s not too much of a hassle, especially on the first night, but it is something that housekeeping should have noticed and fixed, especially considering the high price.

The free breakfast was typical for this type of hotel. They offered a nice selection of hot foods, danish, and cereal. As a suggestion, the hotel could use a better business center rather than just a single computer in the lobby. The location was nice with a Wal-Mart and lots of restaurants within close driving distance, but there is nothing scenic nearby.

Like everything in Anchorage (and Alaska in general) the price was very high. We paid $181 before taxes (only because of my corporate discount) and we consider that to be a great price. The regular price is something like $250 per night before taxes. I’d say $140-160 would be a reasonable price for this type of room in most areas of the lower 48. But, you can’t do much about price in Anchorage.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Harbour Beach FL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We got into the airport late and this hotel had free airport pickup. They gave us two free snacks which was just what we needed. Everything was clean, free wi-fi, shades that blocked the midnight sun. The free breakfast with Belgian waffles was good. We took a taxi downtown the next day to the hotel where our tour started. If you're into bicycling, Downtown bicycle rental is great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

An OK SpringHill Suites hotel. nothing fancy. certainly, there are many more SpringHills that are better maintained, more modern and have better amenities. Nothing bad, but nothing great either, especially for the price you pay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown

Address: 3401 A St, Anchorage, AK 99503
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#13 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a different kind of hotel with style and space, beautifully priced.Located in midtown, walking distance to shopping and entertainment. Featuring separate areas for sleeping, eating and working, SpringHill Suites provides guests with a microwave, mini-fridge, desk and pull-out sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast and airport shuttle, as well as pool, whirlpool, exercise room and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Anchorage Midtown Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.