We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for exploring Anchorage” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Suites Historic Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Suites Historic Downtown to your Saves list
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   325 West 8th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Formerly Quality Suites Near Convention Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #19 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location for exploring Anchorage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We spent 2 nights here, and used the Shuttle service to/from the airport. You do need to ring the hotel for pick up from airport and they arrive within 25 mins approx.
Rooms extremely spacious with a separate lounge/TV area, and small kitchenette area (microwave, fridge etc). Bed was large and really comfy. Room was quite warm, air con could have been more powerful.
The breakfast was varied and a good start for the day. The breakfast area got quite busy though, so choose your time carefully.
Location wise, the hotel is only a few blocks away from downtown anchorage, so good base for exploring downtown,
Would definitely recommend this hotel, good location, comfortable and nice amenities.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesManager, Front Desk Supervisor at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear: Emma W

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the complementary amenities that we offer at our hotel. Our hotel is located in the heart of downtown we are close to many restaurants, the Anchorage Museum and 5th Ave Mall.

Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    53
    21
    12
    8
See reviews for
36
48
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed for two nights after a cruise. It is a convenient location close to stores and restaurants. Rooms were fine, plenty of space, but sound insulation not good or neighbours very noisy. Breakfast choice was limited. Seemed expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesManager, Front Desk Supervisor at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear: Grumpy 554

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My sister and I stayed here for one night after getting off a cruise. It turned out to be an extremely good choice. It was within walking distance of the Anchorage Museum, which we wanted to go to, as well as restaurants and shopping. The room was very spacious and the beds were quite comfortable. The breakfast was typical for this kind of hotel, so it wasn't fancy but it was good and filling. We appreciated the shuttle service to the airport. Given that you get a nice room, a good breakfast, and shuttle service, I thought this was very good value for the money. The front desk staff were very helpful with directions and volunteering to mail our postcards.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesManager, Front Desk Supervisor at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear: Marianneza

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewJersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We were happy to stay 2 nights here after traveling around Alaska for a week. Requested 3rd floor rooms and they were quiet, comfortable and clean.The best thing we did was pay for an extra night to keep the room until 10 PM due to late flight out of Anchorage staff gave us great rate at check-in to add that extra night.
Airport shuttle was free and efficient.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesManager, Front Desk Supervisor at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear, smallgroupsonly

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. I am very happy to here that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We hope to see you again next time you are in Anchorage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two night and can find nothing to complain about. Our room was well serviced, very large and the beds were comfortable. The hotel is approx 10min walk to the nearest shopping mall where there is a food court open till 9pm every night. However, for some strange reason, there is no supermarket or shop of any kind where you can purchase milk etc. Really odd.

The hotel also has a coin operated laundry which is very handy, and a free airport shuttle service. However, you have to call when you arrive before you will be picked up. I had arranged airport pickup by email but no-one turned up and we had to catch a taxi. I was informed I still had to ring. You also have to book your transfer from the hotel to the airport.

This hotel is very family friendly and I was more than happy with my stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesManager, Front Desk Supervisor at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear, Gwendolyn1
I am happy to hear that you both enjoyed your stay. We strive to make each and every guest experience at our hotel memorable. I do apologize about the shuttle mix up, but yes we do ask that our guest call for a pick up once they arrive in anchorage and to schedule a time to be taken to the airport if applicable.
Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapeer, Michigan
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I'm Staying here at the Quality Suites Convention Center. The checkin process was thorough, helpful and the individual was very cordial! :) The front end desk personal, lead by Pandora have been both helpful and cordial! The rooms are clean and well maintained. Its close to shopping centers and restaurants. They also provide free pick up at the Anchorage airport which is a PLUS! This is an awesome place to stay and being an Elite Diamond member, it is one of the best Choice Hotels that I have been associated with. It is a pleasure staying in this fine establishment. Kudos to their manager, Jenny, for making this hotel a place where one would like to stay!

Room Tip: The breakfast was varied and tasty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesManager, General Manager at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear, Charles B
We appreciate the time you took to write a review on your recent stay. We here at Quality Suites are elated to here that you are enjoying your stay and the great customer service we strive to provide each and every guest. Your review lets us know that we are doing a great job and we shall strive to continue to provide amazing service to our valued guests such as yourself. We strive to be your home away from home. We look forward to any future business with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White City, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Over the past year, I have stayed at this hotel on 9 separate occasions. The location is perfect for me since it is about 2 blocks from my client's offices and is within walking distance of many restaurants in downtown Anchorage. The hotel offers free Internet service and all rooms have a sitting area separate from the bedroom. Each room also has 2 cable TVs, a microwave oven, and refrigerator. A free full breakfast is included. The staff (particularly Jen, Floe, and Nessi) have come to know me and have been extremely helpful with all of my business needs.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side get full sun, which is a plus in Anchorage in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesManager, Front Office Manager at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Suites Historic Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Historic Downtown

Address: 325 West 8th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Formerly Quality Suites Near Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Suites Historic Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy relaxing accommodations for a great value at the Quality Suites(R) in Anchorage, AK, minutes from the Dena'ina Civic and Convention Center, Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center and The Imaginarium. Nestled in the heart of downtown Anchorage, we offer quick, convenient access to an abundance of Alaskan attractions, including: Anchorage Museum University of Alaska Anchorage Alaska Railroad Anchorage 5th Avenue Mall WildRide Sled Dog Show Take a day trek to the Alyeska Ski Resort, Portage Glacier and Mt. McKinley-all within driving distance. Several restaurants surround the property, including Glacier Brewhouse, Simon & Seaforts and the Snow Goose Cafe. Unwind after a day of sightseeing in our indoor heated pool, exercise room and adjacent jogging trail. Additional hotel amenities include: Free hot breakfast buffet Free Wi-Fi Internet access Free 24-hour airport and Alaska Railroad shuttle service Free coffee Free local calls All guest rooms feature refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, irons and boards. Non-smoking rooms can be requested. Take advantage of our 950 square feet of meeting space for your next business or social function. A business center with copy and fax services is located on-site. Valet cleaning service is available. We are a FEMA-approved property for government travelers. Experience the inviting accommodations and superior guest service of the Quality Suites in Anchorage, AK. We look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Suites Historic Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites Near Hotel Anchorage
Clarion Hotel Anchorage
Clarion Anchorage
Anchorage Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Suites Historic Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.