We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Suites Historic Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Suites Historic Downtown to your Saves list
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   325 West 8th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Formerly Quality Suites Near Convention Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #19 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Kodiak
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Quality Suites on 8th is my second pick of hotes in Anchorage. The Clarion several blocks down is exactly the same hotel but with a different name. The only difference between these two are parking (Clarion has more.), noise level (Clarion is quieter) and price. One is cheaper one month and then it switches to the other. Quality Suites is on the corner of C st., right down town, one block from the 5th Avenue Mall. This increases the amount of traffic noise and the amount of people walking past.

It was nice to be within walking distance of Allure Day Spa. The front desk people let me do early check-in at no extra charge and were able to give me accurate driving directions to the less-obvious places in town. The rooms are modern and I love that I can close a door between the bedroom and the living area. Room had a fridge, microwave, and a kitchen sink. I didn't need the pull-out couch but it's there. No resteraunt but there is free breakfast from 6-9.

The only drawbacks were 1) housekeeping knocking on the door Sat. and Sun. at 8:15 am. I could understand if it was my check out day but not days 1 and 2 of a four day stay. 2) The drunk people yelling in the parking lot at 2:30am which I could hear from the third floor.

Yes, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Book from thier website if your dates are firm so you can get a prepaid discount. Or if you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesManager, Front Office Manager at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Quality Suites. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the front desk staff assisted you anyway they could. I am deeply sorry that you experienced some inconveniences during your stay. We hope you will stay with us again so that we may change that. Thank you very much for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    53
    21
    12
    8
See reviews for
36
48
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
alaska
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here first week in September. The end of the tourist season was in the last days, in Anchorage, but the hotels and car rentals were still on summer rates. Summer rates=$$$$ But, staying here was worth the money. Last week, in August, I stayed at a hotel near the airport and paid a similar price. Quality Suites is a much better deal and bang for your buck. Free shuttle service pick up at the airport. Free parking. Free breakfast, but closes at 9am, that had some nice choices. Free local newspaper located at the front desk. Free wifi. Other things that I like to rate hotels are the noise levels. This hotel is located on the backside of downtown. Our room faced 8th Avenue and did not hear car noise. In the morning, I had opened a window and heard a busy side street named "C" street. As stated in my title review this room has 2 rooms. The first room, when you enter, is like a living room. Sofa, coffee table, desk with chair, large flat screen tv, small refrigerator and phone. The sofa pulls out to a bed. There is a door that you can close and lock and then you enter into the bathroom. Bath tub with shower. Tub/shower and toilet also has a door that can be closed and locked. The one draw back, I noticed, is that the bathroom does not have a fan exhaust. No fans, seem to be the norm in hotels, in recent years. There is a sink to wash your hands. Our room had 2 queen beds. Very comfortable beds!! There was a heater/air cond. located in the bedroom, but did not use. Another large flat screen tv. Telephone located in between the beds. A side chair located near window. Very clean room. Comfortable linens. I will most definately stay here, again. The location is perfect for walking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesManager, Front Office Manager at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and all of the free amenities that we offer. We can’t wait to welcome you back on your next trip to Anchorage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We did not actually stay at this hotel, but asked them for help when we had a day to spend in Anchorage and needed a place to store our large suitcase during the day. They not only took care of our bag (at a charge of $5, much less than what you typically pay at airports, for instance), but even offered us a free ride to the airport in their complimentary shuttle. I assume their service to overnight guests is at least as good as it was to us, therefore I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesManager, Front Office Manager at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. Your kind words regarding the customer service you experienced from our staff during your stay in Anchorage means a lot to us. We hope the next time you are in Anchorage you will allow us to be your home away from home and enjoy all of our free amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Located in the middle of Anchorage. Bernie's Bar & Grill a crossed the street (outdoors). It was like the sun never set... It didn't. It was a short walk to gift stores and shuttles to places of interest. The rooms were spacious and clean the staff s helpful and friendly. Close to train station. Everybody in the city was helpful and pleasant. We enjoyed our stay in Anchorage.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesManager, Front Office Manager at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We appreciate the time you took to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and in Anchorage. We hope to see you again next time you are in Anchorage. Thank you for allowing us to be your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I am a frequent patron of Choice Hotels, and this stay was no cost to me. I had not expected such a nice facility. The nice experience started with the free shuttle from the airport, and the driver was personable, answering all our tourist questions and pointing out high spots along the way. Both desk clerks were delightful, made us feel very welcome and confirmed the drivers restaurant recommendations. They also booked our return trip to the airport. They gave us good walking directions to all the places we asked. Al were within 5 blocks of the hotel. The room was nice, with a living room area with desk, sofa and large TV, a small separate area with fridge and microwave, nicely appointed bathroom, with separate sink/mirror and a large comfortable bed with another large TV. Breakfast the next morning was a buffet with eggs, sausage, potatoes, pancakes, toast, coffee and juices. The free shuttle back to the airport was on time and swift. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesManager, Front Office Manager at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
We appreciate the time you took to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that the staff was very helpful. We take pride in our work and love assisting guests with what ever they may need. We hope the next time you are in Anchorage you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manor, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

While traveling around Alaska we stayed in this hotel 3 times. It was clean and well cared for, we stayed in 3 different rooms and they were all in very good shape. The complimentary breakfast was quite nice, with each days being somewhat different. Some days there was even a nice selection of delicious fresh fruit.

The first time we stayed there we left a cell phone charger. When we reached our next destination we called and asked to looked for and held on to for our next visit. When we returned they had it for us clearly labelled with the room number and date it was found. Not a big deal, but it was nice to get it back.

The location is very convenient. We spent a day recovering from jet lag by wandering around Anchorage. It was nice to be able to walk to restaurants, the museum, and shopping.

We found the staff to be extremely friendly and welcoming and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesManager, Front Office Manager at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the layout of our rooms and the breakfast. We pride ourselves in offering the best customer service to all of our guests and making your stay as relaxing as possible. Thank you for allowing us to be your home away from home. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Staff is top notch. Property is well groomed and always clean and orderly. Employees and management are always friendly and eager to assist in anything from ordering out for a pizza to directions for the curious traveler. Conveniently located to downtown. No complaints what so ever!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesManager, Front Office Manager at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We all love to assist our guests with what ever they may need so thank you for allowing us to do that for you. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Suites Historic Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Historic Downtown

Address: 325 West 8th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Formerly Quality Suites Near Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Suites Historic Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy relaxing accommodations for a great value at the Quality Suites(R) in Anchorage, AK, minutes from the Dena'ina Civic and Convention Center, Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center and The Imaginarium. Nestled in the heart of downtown Anchorage, we offer quick, convenient access to an abundance of Alaskan attractions, including: Anchorage Museum University of Alaska Anchorage Alaska Railroad Anchorage 5th Avenue Mall WildRide Sled Dog Show Take a day trek to the Alyeska Ski Resort, Portage Glacier and Mt. McKinley-all within driving distance. Several restaurants surround the property, including Glacier Brewhouse, Simon & Seaforts and the Snow Goose Cafe. Unwind after a day of sightseeing in our indoor heated pool, exercise room and adjacent jogging trail. Additional hotel amenities include: Free hot breakfast buffet Free Wi-Fi Internet access Free 24-hour airport and Alaska Railroad shuttle service Free coffee Free local calls All guest rooms feature refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, irons and boards. Non-smoking rooms can be requested. Take advantage of our 950 square feet of meeting space for your next business or social function. A business center with copy and fax services is located on-site. Valet cleaning service is available. We are a FEMA-approved property for government travelers. Experience the inviting accommodations and superior guest service of the Quality Suites in Anchorage, AK. We look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Suites Historic Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites Near Hotel Anchorage
Clarion Hotel Anchorage
Clarion Anchorage
Anchorage Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Suites Historic Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.