We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suites that are actually 2 rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Suites Historic Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Suites Historic Downtown to your Saves list
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   325 West 8th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Formerly Quality Suites Near Convention Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in Anchorage
alaska
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Suites that are actually 2 rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here first week in September. The end of the tourist season was in the last days, in Anchorage, but the hotels and car rentals were still on summer rates. Summer rates=$$$$ But, staying here was worth the money. Last week, in August, I stayed at a hotel near the airport and paid a similar price. Quality Suites is a much better deal and bang for your buck. Free shuttle service pick up at the airport. Free parking. Free breakfast, but closes at 9am, that had some nice choices. Free local newspaper located at the front desk. Free wifi. Other things that I like to rate hotels are the noise levels. This hotel is located on the backside of downtown. Our room faced 8th Avenue and did not hear car noise. In the morning, I had opened a window and heard a busy side street named "C" street. As stated in my title review this room has 2 rooms. The first room, when you enter, is like a living room. Sofa, coffee table, desk with chair, large flat screen tv, small refrigerator and phone. The sofa pulls out to a bed. There is a door that you can close and lock and then you enter into the bathroom. Bath tub with shower. Tub/shower and toilet also has a door that can be closed and locked. The one draw back, I noticed, is that the bathroom does not have a fan exhaust. No fans, seem to be the norm in hotels, in recent years. There is a sink to wash your hands. Our room had 2 queen beds. Very comfortable beds!! There was a heater/air cond. located in the bedroom, but did not use. Another large flat screen tv. Telephone located in between the beds. A side chair located near window. Very clean room. Comfortable linens. I will most definately stay here, again. The location is perfect for walking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesManager, Front Office Manager at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and all of the free amenities that we offer. We can’t wait to welcome you back on your next trip to Anchorage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    61
    24
    12
    9
See reviews for
45
51
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We did not actually stay at this hotel, but asked them for help when we had a day to spend in Anchorage and needed a place to store our large suitcase during the day. They not only took care of our bag (at a charge of $5, much less than what you typically pay at airports, for instance), but even offered us a free ride to the airport in their complimentary shuttle. I assume their service to overnight guests is at least as good as it was to us, therefore I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesManager, Front Office Manager at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. Your kind words regarding the customer service you experienced from our staff during your stay in Anchorage means a lot to us. We hope the next time you are in Anchorage you will allow us to be your home away from home and enjoy all of our free amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Located in the middle of Anchorage. Bernie's Bar & Grill a crossed the street (outdoors). It was like the sun never set... It didn't. It was a short walk to gift stores and shuttles to places of interest. The rooms were spacious and clean the staff s helpful and friendly. Close to train station. Everybody in the city was helpful and pleasant. We enjoyed our stay in Anchorage.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesManager, Front Office Manager at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We appreciate the time you took to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and in Anchorage. We hope to see you again next time you are in Anchorage. Thank you for allowing us to be your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I am a frequent patron of Choice Hotels, and this stay was no cost to me. I had not expected such a nice facility. The nice experience started with the free shuttle from the airport, and the driver was personable, answering all our tourist questions and pointing out high spots along the way. Both desk clerks were delightful, made us feel very welcome and confirmed the drivers restaurant recommendations. They also booked our return trip to the airport. They gave us good walking directions to all the places we asked. Al were within 5 blocks of the hotel. The room was nice, with a living room area with desk, sofa and large TV, a small separate area with fridge and microwave, nicely appointed bathroom, with separate sink/mirror and a large comfortable bed with another large TV. Breakfast the next morning was a buffet with eggs, sausage, potatoes, pancakes, toast, coffee and juices. The free shuttle back to the airport was on time and swift. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesManager, Front Office Manager at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
We appreciate the time you took to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that the staff was very helpful. We take pride in our work and love assisting guests with what ever they may need. We hope the next time you are in Anchorage you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manor, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

While traveling around Alaska we stayed in this hotel 3 times. It was clean and well cared for, we stayed in 3 different rooms and they were all in very good shape. The complimentary breakfast was quite nice, with each days being somewhat different. Some days there was even a nice selection of delicious fresh fruit.

The first time we stayed there we left a cell phone charger. When we reached our next destination we called and asked to looked for and held on to for our next visit. When we returned they had it for us clearly labelled with the room number and date it was found. Not a big deal, but it was nice to get it back.

The location is very convenient. We spent a day recovering from jet lag by wandering around Anchorage. It was nice to be able to walk to restaurants, the museum, and shopping.

We found the staff to be extremely friendly and welcoming and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesManager, Front Office Manager at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the layout of our rooms and the breakfast. We pride ourselves in offering the best customer service to all of our guests and making your stay as relaxing as possible. Thank you for allowing us to be your home away from home. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Staff is top notch. Property is well groomed and always clean and orderly. Employees and management are always friendly and eager to assist in anything from ordering out for a pizza to directions for the curious traveler. Conveniently located to downtown. No complaints what so ever!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesManager, Front Office Manager at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We all love to assist our guests with what ever they may need so thank you for allowing us to do that for you. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We needed a nice clean hotel with comfortable beds and the ability to do laundry. This hotel was perfect. We loved the suite format that let us spread out into the living room area. The location is centrally located in downtown Anchorage; great if you want to walk to local shops and good food options. The staff was very helpful. We did have the breakfast which was fine. It's definitely better than traditional continental breakfast served in most hotels. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesManager, Front Office Manager at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
We appreciate the time you took to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Thank you for your kind words describing your stay at our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
GuestHouse Anchorage Inn
#34 of 71 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#20 of 71 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Hotel Captain Cook
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 71 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 1,164 reviews
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#22 of 71 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Historic Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Historic Downtown

Address: 325 West 8th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Formerly Quality Suites Near Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Anchorage
#17 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Suites Historic Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy relaxing accommodations for a great value at the Quality Suites(R) in Anchorage, AK, minutes from the Dena'ina Civic and Convention Center, Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center and The Imaginarium. Nestled in the heart of downtown Anchorage, we offer quick, convenient access to an abundance of Alaskan attractions, including: Anchorage Museum University of Alaska Anchorage Alaska Railroad Anchorage 5th Avenue Mall WildRide Sled Dog Show Take a day trek to the Alyeska Ski Resort, Portage Glacier and Mt. McKinley-all within driving distance. Several restaurants surround the property, including Glacier Brewhouse, Simon & Seaforts and the Snow Goose Cafe. Unwind after a day of sightseeing in our indoor heated pool, exercise room and adjacent jogging trail. Additional hotel amenities include: Free hot breakfast buffet Free Wi-Fi Internet access Free 24-hour airport and Alaska Railroad shuttle service Free coffee Free local calls All guest rooms feature refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, irons and boards. Non-smoking rooms can be requested. Take advantage of our 950 square feet of meeting space for your next business or social function. A business center with copy and fax services is located on-site. Valet cleaning service is available. We are a FEMA-approved property for government travelers. Experience the inviting accommodations and superior guest service of the Quality Suites in Anchorage, AK. We look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Quality Suites Historic Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites Near Hotel Anchorage
Clarion Hotel Anchorage
Clarion Anchorage
Anchorage Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Suites Historic Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.