We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second night ruined initial good experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Suites Historic Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Suites Historic Downtown to your Saves list
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   325 West 8th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Formerly Quality Suites Near Convention Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #19 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“second night ruined initial good experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

first and last night of our weekly tour set us up in this hotel, We had a great room for the first night and unfortunately got room 118 for our last night. This room is located beside the generator and elevator motor room. It shouldn't even be open to guests, it was impossible to sleep. everything had been paid for as it was included in our tour. Despite this unhappy ending of our stay, we enjoyed the good location, easy access to the center of town on foot.
Friendly staff also.

Room Tip: refuse room 118 because of noise
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    53
    22
    12
    8
See reviews for
38
48
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel eight years ago and were happy to see that it was a hotel included on a recent tour of Alaska. We were only there two nights but I would've happily stayed longer to enjoy more of Anchorage. The location is in walking distance of the downtown area and only a block from the museum. All of the staff is friendly and helpful but we especially give our thanks to Jenny who helped us with an item we'd left behind on a tour bus.
Overall, this hotel was exceptional. The room was super clean, comfortable, and quiet. The complimentary breakfast was well supplied, fresh, and abundant and the wi fi came through quickly. When we return to Alaska, we'll return to this hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Everything was above expectations. Great welcome at the front desk (easy, quick and efficient) and she was superb throughout our 3 days in Anchorage. Great service, great (large) room, clean, WiFi. The complimentary breakfast was as excellent as can be expected with prompt clean-ups and reset of plentiful food and choices. Shuttle service was prompt, courteous and helpful. Location near Anchorage Museum and easy walk to restaurants was welcome. And we slept so comfortably. Overall, this was a great welcome hotel for our arrival to Alaska.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Alaska was our 50th state we've visited and the lady at the front desk sure knew how to welcome my wife and I. For someone operating the front desk alone she did a fantastic job. The complimentary breakfast was amazing. The location period was great, everything was pretty much walking distant. We honestly saved the best for last.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The room was big enough, and comfortable. We liked the additional room, it was a departure from the "bed" room. Free newspaper in a.m.
The shuttle was timely, both from airport to hotel; and hotel back to the airport. The driver was friendly and informational.
Breakfast was plentiful, but not all things were quickly replenished when emptied.
The front desk staff was friendly & helpful.
Only 1 out of 2 desk computers was working, but it was nice to have available!
Odd - no phone books in the rooms (?). One must go to front desk to borrow theirs. It wasn't handy when deciding on which restaurant to choose.
We found it to be a short walk to the downtown area Parks nearby also, nice.
Bus stop next to hotel, too.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the one way street, which borders one end of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Spacious room, friendly staff. Very good breakfast included. Not much to do in downtown Anchorage.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We arrived at 1:30 am and the person at the front desk could not have been better! She got us checked into our room and answered all our questions. The breakfast was hot,fresh and had a little of everything. The location of this hotel is perfect for what ever you want to do. A short walk to downtown, lots of restaurants along the way. The mall is two short blocks right behind the hotel. The shuttle service picked us up at the airport within 10 minutes of our call. The staff is very friendly and the hotel is very clean.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Suites Historic Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Historic Downtown

Address: 325 West 8th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Formerly Quality Suites Near Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Suites Historic Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy relaxing accommodations for a great value at the Quality Suites(R) in Anchorage, AK, minutes from the Dena'ina Civic and Convention Center, Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center and The Imaginarium. Nestled in the heart of downtown Anchorage, we offer quick, convenient access to an abundance of Alaskan attractions, including: Anchorage Museum University of Alaska Anchorage Alaska Railroad Anchorage 5th Avenue Mall WildRide Sled Dog Show Take a day trek to the Alyeska Ski Resort, Portage Glacier and Mt. McKinley-all within driving distance. Several restaurants surround the property, including Glacier Brewhouse, Simon & Seaforts and the Snow Goose Cafe. Unwind after a day of sightseeing in our indoor heated pool, exercise room and adjacent jogging trail. Additional hotel amenities include: Free hot breakfast buffet Free Wi-Fi Internet access Free 24-hour airport and Alaska Railroad shuttle service Free coffee Free local calls All guest rooms feature refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, irons and boards. Non-smoking rooms can be requested. Take advantage of our 950 square feet of meeting space for your next business or social function. A business center with copy and fax services is located on-site. Valet cleaning service is available. We are a FEMA-approved property for government travelers. Experience the inviting accommodations and superior guest service of the Quality Suites in Anchorage, AK. We look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Suites Historic Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites Near Hotel Anchorage
Clarion Hotel Anchorage
Clarion Anchorage
Anchorage Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Suites Historic Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.