We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Ship Creek

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Ship Creek to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Ship Creek Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Saint James, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

this hotel is in an excellent location for the train very comfortable roomthe shuttle to the train was very good toothe price was a little high but the location was great. we did not use the pool because we were too tired but the breakfast in the morning was adequate

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor! We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    123
    43
    19
    13
See reviews for
84
110
25
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ossian, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was a nice, clean hotel with comfortable beds, but it was not a restful night. We chose this hotel because it was close to the train station - and it was - the train whistle will jolt you awake in the morning (not the hotel's fault!) The Ulu knife factory is just next door and the trolley ride uptown was outstanding!

Our complaint started when the power went off about 9 PM. The room got extremely hot and stuffy, but we were exhausted from our travels, so we did eventually nod off. The next thing we knew the fire alarm was going off. We shuffled through the hall and down the stairs in the near dark - the lights were not working - and outside. We waited and waited for someone to give us some information or direction but no hotel staff came to talk to us - we were on one end of the hotel. We finally talked to another guest who told us the fire alarm went off because of the power outage and there was no danger so we went back to our room and tried to go back to sleep. Soon after we got back in bed, the hotel staff came down the hall and started discussing the lighting problem in the stairway - Loudly. Needless to say, we did not get a restful nights sleep.

When we checked out I asked the girl at the front desk if we could be compensated for having such a rough night and all she gave us was a complaint form to fill out. She said the power outage affected the whole block and was "not the hotel's fault." I understand that sometimes things happen that are beyond the control of a business, but the customer service here was very poor. There was no apology or giving us a break on the price of the stay. What concerns me more is that through the whole ordeal, we never had ANYONE from the hotel check on us or give us information about what was going on when the fire alarm went off. I guess we were just a $ sign. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. I would like to take this time to apologize for the inconveniences that you had while staying at our property. Although the power outage that we experienced during your stay was not a fault of the hotel, we understand how inconvenient this was for our guests. I do apologize for none of our hotel staff coming out to let you know the fire alarm was a false alarm and we have already ensured that retraining of the staff has taken place. We are grateful for your patience during the outage and everything the hotel went through and I am sorry that this experience has painted a negative picture on our property. I would love to speak to you about these issues personally and please feel free to call the hotel to do so at any time. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Basic, no frills hotel. Just for a few hours sleep it was okay. The included breakfast was very good. It was conveniently located to the train station where we arrived and courtsey transportation was there waiting. The 5 a.m. train whistle was quite the wake up call. You cannot walk to anything from this location. Courtesy transportation to the airport next morning was helpful.

Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor! We are glad you enjoyed the time you spent with us and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Pass, Alaska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was our third visit to this hotel, spanning over a year's time. We keep going back because it's proven itself as reliable, and especially good for traveling with children. The rooms are nice & spacious, with a sitting area. A fridge, microwave, and coffee maker all are very convenient. This time we stayed on the first floor, and despite a seemingly full house (lobby was very busy), we had no issues with noise from the hall or room above. The breakfast is fabulous compared to other hotels we've stayed in: scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, toast, muffins, cold cereal, instant oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fresh fruit, & of course coffee. Considering most places call a bagel "continental breakfast," this is pretty impressive. The pool is nice, never too cold. The staff is extremely friendly and goes out of their way to be helpful. We love this hotel!

Room Tip: Being by the train depot, it can be loud...we didn't hear them at all, though, in the middle of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor! We are so happy that you have enjoyed your time with us over the last year and we really look forward to seeing you and your family in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Although most of the issues we had with this place were, I think, out of their control, the review reflects our experience. We stayed twice here between vacation travel to other parts of Alaska. The inn is nice enough, maybe a tad worn around the edges, including the rooms. There is a fairly standard breakfast with scrambled eggs, sausage, make-your-own waffles, yogurt, fruit, etc. The location is across the tracks from downtown, so slightly out of the way but certainly within walking distance.

The airport shuttle is handy and appreciated, but be careful not to hop on the "Comfort Suites" airport shuttle that's advertised on the shuttle-call wall at baggage claim, which we did. That wouldn't have been a major issue except that the phones were down at the Comfort Inn the night that we arrived, so it wasn't easy to rectify the situation. Check-in, when we finally did get there, was a bit hectic because dead phone lines meant that the desk was operating off personal cell phones to handle reservations and couldn't process credit cards until the next day.

Dead phones weren't a major inconvenience, but the power outage when we arrived late one evening for our next stay was. I'm not sure when it started, but power didn't come back until 3 am or so. Meanwhile, we had to drag the suitcases up two flights of stairs, find our room down unlit halls and get ready for bed in the dark. Fortunately, I had packed a flashlight and the daylight that lingers in Anchorage through midnight helped also. So we did settle in and were just nodding off when the fire alarm sounded. We got most of the way downstairs when someone managed to reset it and things were mostly okay from then on with one brief additional alarm when the power came back on in the morning. The room did get fairly hot, too, with the ceiling fan not working...who expects to be sweltering in the dark in the Land of the Midnight Sun?!

I don't know if the phone or power issues were preventable, but I don't think I'd return to this unlucky place, even though the staff was friendly and resourceful. The whole point of staying here was to get some rest and sleep between excursions, and the issues delayed or prevented this for us. (I almost forgot to mention that the hotel sits between passenger trains tracks on one side and freight train tracks on the other - one or both services provide loud whistles throughout the night.) There was one cool thing, though - we peeked out our window in the morning at the fishermen swarming the creek behnd the hotel at just the right time to find a black bear ambling down the sidewalk about twenty feet away! Certainly a "Welcome to Alaska" moment...

Room Tip: Both sides have train noise, although the ones in back overlook Ship Creek, so marginally more pictu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. I would like to take this time to apologize for the inconveniences that you had while staying at our property. Although the power outage that we experienced during your stay was not a fault of the hotel, we understand how inconvenient this was for our guests. We are grateful for your patience during the outage and everything the hotel went through and I am sorry that this experience has painted a negative picture on our property. I would love to speak to you about these issues personally and please feel free to call the hotel to do so at any time. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I actually did not stay at this property on this stay, but I won't make that mistake again. I was misdirected by the front desk staff at my hotel, which will remain nameless for the sake of this review, for a particular errand on my last day in Anchorage, and found myself stranded, waiting for a taxi that did not seem to be coming. I saw Kami in the Comfort Inn shuttle and offered her some money to take me downtown, and when she found out where I was staying, said, "oh that's one of our sister properties, get in, I'll take you for nothing". Thank you thank you, thank you. She was wonderful and basically saved my last day, as my travel partner was ready to wring my neck for getting us stranded. Kami gave us a little tour on the way to where we needed to go and was so friendly, she definitely earned the Comfort Inn a good review here!! So, thank you again, and next time I need to stay in that area, I will go straight to your facility and not bother with the one I was at. Oh yes, the front desk and I had a a little pow-wow about the bad advice they gave me at my hotel, so it hopefully won't happen again to the next guest who asks, but they've lost me to the Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor! We are so glad that Kami was able to help you while you were in Anchorage and we are looking forward to seeing you at our hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My family stayed here a lot when I was younger, but as an adult I always chose another hotel for my family because this one had become run down and the whole hotel had become permiated with the smell of stale cigarette smoke.... But on a recent trip to Anchorage we were left with few options and were catching the train in the morning (RIGHT across the street) so we stayed here, and let me tell you, it was a HUGE surprise to see all the improvements they have done with their remodel! I was clean, updated, and smelled fresh and clean! The only complaint that I could say I do have, is that their continental breakfast is bad...really really bad.. The eggs were sitting in 1/2" of standing water, the sausages seemed microwaved, the toaster only worked on 1 side, and their fruit selection was nearly non existant. That and the fact that the train whistle goes off several times during the night seemingly INSIDE your room ( I know they can't help this....but it is definitely something to keep in mind, especially when traveling with small children or anyone with a heart condition ;-) ) I must say I was pleasantly surprised and will more than likely return!!

Room Tip: The ship creek view is prettier but does put you just THAT much closer to the above mentioned train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our recent remodel and I want to thank you for your comments on our breakfast. We are working every day to perfect the amenities that we offer at our hotel and your comments will only help us to improve. Thank you and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Ship Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Ship Creek

Address: 111 Ship Creek Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#12 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Ship Creek 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Ship Creek, an Anchorage hotel near Alaska RailroadIdeally located on the banks of Ship Creek, the Comfort Inn® Ship Creek is within walking distance of lovely downtown Anchorage. Attractions that are just minutes away include the Alaska Railroad and the Alaska Center for the Performing Arts.The hotel sits along the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail, which offers spectacular views of Cook Inlet. The Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport is only seven miles away. The hotel offers free shuttle service to and from the airport, the Alaska Railroad and select locations within the downtown area. The shuttle runs 24-hours in the summer and limited hours in the winter.The Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center, the Alaska Museum of Natural History and the Egan Center civic and convention facility are also close by. The downtown area is full of wonderful shopping spots, numerous restaurants and local brewpubs.If the purpose of the trip is to fish, visitors can step outside the hotel's back door to fish for salmon. Guests are welcome to use the free fishing gear supplied by the hotel.Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious items, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn Ship Creek the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt and fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors!There is 24-hour coffee service available in the dining area as well. Be sure to pick up a free weekday newspaper to read while eating breakfast.This Anchorage, AK hotel also features an indoor heated pool and an exercise room.Business travelers are welcome to take advantage of the on-site business center and access to copy and fax machines.All standard guest rooms come with many amenities, including in-room movies, games and coffee makers. Irons and ironing boards are available if needed. Some rooms feature whirlpool bathtubs, kitchenettes and wet bars.This Anchorage, AK hotel welcomes pets; nightly charges may apply. Laundry facilities and a newsstand are located on the premises for guest convenience. Valet cleaning service is also provided.The beautiful Comfort Inn Ship Creek is the perfect place to stay for both business and leisure travelers. We promise to help make your visit to Anchorage memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Ship Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ship Creek Hotel Anchorage
Comfort Inn Anchorage
Anchorage Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Ship Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.