We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Ship Creek

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Ship Creek to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Ship Creek Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Anchorage
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would not recommend”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

I would hate for a first timer to stay here and have a bad FIRST TIME EXPERIENCE. People sneak their dogs in the rooms, dog hair was all over the top bed covers, sink was clogged, black mold was present in the restroom, in its beginning stages ( not to serious but enough to make it feel cheap, and uncomfortable) No light switches, just lamps, and my biggest pet peeve, was the walls and floors are paper thin, I could hear individuals on the third floor walking around as if they were having a river dance competition, and then the neighbor next to me could be heard all night on his phone. All these ingredients just creeped me out, I felt that this would be somebody would take a prostitue too. I have pictures of these issues and plan on turning them in, the one that put the icing on the cake was the awesome art work of nasal mucus that was put on the wall, and dried up. This room was purchased for a holiday party that I attended so i did not have to drive home, and I was still disgusted with this place. I would not pay 5 dollars to ever rent a room from this location. Please do not be fooled by the pictures that are posted on the websites, yes they are amazing but what really matters is your room. Good luck , and to any new visitors please do you research before a place like this ruines your Trip of a lifetime. Good Day !!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. I am terribly embarrassed and deeply apologize for the horrific stay that you had at our property. The housekeeping issues especially have no excuses. It is because of these comments and comments from others that we have gotten a new Executive Housekeeper that is making great strides in correcting these problems and making sure that they never occur in the future. I can guarentee you that the issues that you encountered during your stay is not how we want to run this property and is not how we want to portray ourselves to incoming guests. We would love to discuss this further with you compensate you in some way as no guest should pay for what you encountered. Please call Catherine Bly the Guest Services Manager at the hotel and we would be happy to discuss this matter with you. Again I am terribly sorry for what you had to go through and thank you for your feedback as it can only help us improve how we operate the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    119
    39
    19
    13
See reviews for
82
105
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

the hotel is on a salmon fishing creek, next to the train to port, next to the wild ride sled dog rodeo and the lobby has great lodge decor. Cookies and milk too! the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. We are so glad that our hotel was able to accomodate you and your family on your vacation. We have plenty of upgrades in store for 2012 and hope that you can come back and enjoy them with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

In the entrance there is a big bear in a glass case which gives the real feel of being in Alaska. If you are a light sleeper don't stay here because its next to the railstation.
I stopped after a 1200Km bike ride so had no trouble sleeping. I shared a room , a king bed each, and we could take the bikes in the room.
Everything was as expected, coffee anytime for free, and breakfast the usual.
Very close to the town so easy to walk in and also next door to the Anchorage visitor centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front, because the railway is at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. We really enjoy having your bike race end at our hotel and hope that we can have it conclude here again next year. You racers are always amazing guests and we really enjoy having you at our property. Thank you again for your feedback as any type of comments can only help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I like the location close to trains and right on a bike path with Ship's Creek racing along just outside.
The rooms were as promised and were in reasonable condition (except for the one nearest the front desk that had clearly been smoked in - in a smoke free property)
Breakfast - not stellar but adequate appeared as promised. the breakfast room was always very hot and smelled of past meals.
The airport pick-up was as promised, prompt and pleasant.
Worst aspect of this was the front desk staff. They just couldn't process people into rooms and showed zero energy to make anything happen. There was a pack of "waddlers" on the desk - if you asked any question they waddled away to somewhere else (back of the desk area) to consult with others (?) or possibly just to look like they were doing something and then waddled back about the pace of dying duck usually to tell you they didn't know. We had booked as a block of about 30 rooms, they'd been paid, they'd been sent our manifest (and every other Alaskan property had our keys and room details ready simply to hand out) they'd been asked to have the room keys / room assignments done but they couldn't cope. They particularly struggled with reservations for anyone who had booked additional nights prior to or after our tour. This property needs to hire better or do better training or something. I wouldn't choose it again.

Room Tip: You can't avoid train noise here (I happen to like trains) but it is a bit quieter on the Ship...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. I was deeply disturbed after reading your comments about our front desk staff and how they handled your group. After reading this and comments from others I did make the decision to make drastic changes at the front desk. How your group was handled is never how a front desk should treat their guests. We have revamped every aspect of the front desk from brand new staff to a completely differnt way of training new employees and retraining old. Again I am deeply sorry and embarrassed by how your guests were treated. Thank you again so much for your feedback as any comment can only help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We needed a hotel close to the railroad, and this is certainly the best choice as you don't need a shuttle -- it is easy block or so walk to the railroad depot from the hotel (shorter distance than when we slogged our luggage in the airport to the check in desk!!!! - much shorter). We booked this because it had shuttle service to the railroad, and didn't realize that it was so close and pretty much a level walk, whereas many of the other close hotels have an impossibly huge hill to traverse up or down and I wouldn't have done that. It was also right on Ship Creek which was a nice walk in the evening. The hotel itself needs some work - it hasn't been kept up well, but it was adequate. We had a room with two beds, and the one we slept in was horrible, but we didn't figure it out until morning that the other bed was decent. It can be noisy with the train, but that didn't bother us. Breakfast was included and that was adequate and with the cost of food in Anchorage it was a bonus even at adequate. I wouldn't have given the hotel three stars except that the location is hard to beat. We stayed two different nights as we arrived and departed on the train. There is a free shuttle to the airport also which saved us about $40.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. I am so glad to hear that the location of our property worked out so well for you on your trip. I completely agree that the hotel did need some work and it is because of your comment and comments of others that we have begun to upgrade and renovate the hotel. An entire renovation project will be under way during the 2012 year. Again thank you for your feedback as any comments, good or bad can always help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Hotel itself was satisfactory, but was awoke very night with loud train horns starting very early in the morning.
Rooms were hot & stuffy. Aircon noisy.
Ok for insomaniacs but not me.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. I am so sorry that your stay with us was not to your liking. We do advertise that we are next to the rail depot but I understand it not being for everyone. I apologize that you had difficulty with your air conditioning. We have puchaced new A/C units for almost all room because of feedback like yours and we greatly appriciate the time that you took to comment on our hotel. Good or bad, all feedback is appriciated as it can only help us improve. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, AK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

My elderly parents and I stayed in this hotel for one night in between the Fairbanks-Anchorage and Anchorage-Seward trips on the Alaska Railroad. Its greatest advantage is its proximity to the Alaska Railroad. While a shuttle is available to meet railroad passengers--a service that was very timely and convenient in our case--the property is also so close to the train depot that many people could walk very easily. Whereas walking to many other downtown Anchorage hotels from the train station would involve chugging up a long staircase, the walk to this one is short and flat.

The hotel itself is nothing to rave about, though the front desk staff were very friendly and professional, and hot cookies were available upon our arrival. The self-serve breakfast area was convenient as well. The rooms were spacious, but showed considerable wear. I'd recommend a different hotel for those that plan to spend time in Anchorage--the same staircase that I saw train passengers climbing would also await anybody seeking to explore downtown--but for people that just want a convenient stop in between trains, this is a very convenient choice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor as we love to hear guest feedback. We are so happy that you found our property accomodating for your stay in between your railroad trips and our front desk staff was more than happy to serve you. I am sorry to hear that there was considerable wear to your room and because of your comment and many others like it, we will begin renovations to the hotel and have planned a considerable upgrade to be done throughout 2012. For future reference, during the summer season there is shuttle service to and from the heart of downtown so no one has to walk up the long staircase (if I were here on vacation I would not want to climb up it either). Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Ship Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Ship Creek

Address: 111 Ship Creek Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#10 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Ship Creek 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Ship Creek, an Anchorage hotel near Alaska RailroadIdeally located on the banks of Ship Creek, the Comfort Inn® Ship Creek is within walking distance of lovely downtown Anchorage. Attractions that are just minutes away include the Alaska Railroad and the Alaska Center for the Performing Arts.The hotel sits along the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail, which offers spectacular views of Cook Inlet. The Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport is only seven miles away. The hotel offers free shuttle service to and from the airport, the Alaska Railroad and select locations within the downtown area. The shuttle runs 24-hours in the summer and limited hours in the winter.The Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center, the Alaska Museum of Natural History and the Egan Center civic and convention facility are also close by. The downtown area is full of wonderful shopping spots, numerous restaurants and local brewpubs.If the purpose of the trip is to fish, visitors can step outside the hotel's back door to fish for salmon. Guests are welcome to use the free fishing gear supplied by the hotel.Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious items, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn Ship Creek the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt and fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors!There is 24-hour coffee service available in the dining area as well. Be sure to pick up a free weekday newspaper to read while eating breakfast.This Anchorage, AK hotel also features an indoor heated pool and an exercise room.Business travelers are welcome to take advantage of the on-site business center and access to copy and fax machines.All standard guest rooms come with many amenities, including in-room movies, games and coffee makers. Irons and ironing boards are available if needed. Some rooms feature whirlpool bathtubs, kitchenettes and wet bars.This Anchorage, AK hotel welcomes pets; nightly charges may apply. Laundry facilities and a newsstand are located on the premises for guest convenience. Valet cleaning service is also provided.The beautiful Comfort Inn Ship Creek is the perfect place to stay for both business and leisure travelers. We promise to help make your visit to Anchorage memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Ship Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ship Creek Hotel Anchorage
Comfort Inn Anchorage
Anchorage Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Ship Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.