We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Voyager Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Voyager Inn to your Saves list
The Voyager Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501 K St, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Anchorage)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 69 Hotels in Anchorage
Ness Ziona, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fine hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The location is very convenient, just downtown. The room was large and comfortable, although had a slight stale smell. Brakfast was very basic, and since there is no breakfast room we had to take the trays to eat in our room. Really I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. However we had the impression that most of the staff didn't seem to like their job very much. They rarely smiled and they didn't offer much assistance or info until they were specifically asked for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    65
    20
    11
    3
See reviews for
23
60
10
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bartlett, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We took the scenic route to Anchorage on the Alaska Railroad and because of that we had to take a cab to the hotel as there is no shuttle from the train station so I thought that would be a bad sign but I was very wrong. It was a nice clean hotel in the middle of downtown Anchorage and we had a nice sized comfortable room. The gentleman at the front desk was friendly and accomodating even after we checked out and had to sit around for a while waiting for our ride which was a little late in coming. At the end of one day I even stayed up for a little while and watched some tv which I never do when on vacation but I was just very comfortable in the room. (Just as a silly little aside I just noticed yesterday that we still have our complimentary postcards that we were encouraged to take while we were waiting for out ride.) Overall I encourage anyone who goes to Anchorage to try the Voyager. They will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This place is clean, affordable and well located in central Anchorage. Our room was large and came with a kitchenette and two beds. Staff downstairs are super friendly (esp Zach!). Downside is that the decor is SO dated -its straight from the 1970s...

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room facing the water - if you want a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varysburg, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We chose the hotel because of its location (downtown) and its price (less than $200/night). We were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were miniature suites, with a half-kitchen (small refrigerator, sink & microwave), sofa/bed, dining/work table with two chairs, queen bed, dresser, TV, and a French balcony. Clean & bright. Continental breakfast for those so inclined. Free wifi.

The front desk staff were all courteous, friendly, and helpful. It's a quick & safe walk to the main tourist area, and an even shorter walk to Resolution Park (great spot for sunsets) and the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail.

Room Tip: Request a room with a western exposure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here twice in June 2013, coming and going to other parts of Alaska. Rooms were adequate, clean, and quiet. We enjoyed the time in Anchorage and this place is near enough to walk to meals, etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is now owned by the Captain Cook hotel (and is called the Voyager, not the Rodeway), so the staff at the front desk thought that would lead to some improvements, but that the price would stay below $200 during the summer. I did notice a funny smell in the room when we entered, but after the first day I didn't notice it any longer. The weekend staff at the front desk was AMAZING. They will look up anything that you need, are helpful and always greet you with a smile. I wasn't so impressed by the front desk staff during the week. They seemed more annoyed by our presence. The rooms are HUGE. It was so nice to have a kitchen. We could bring leftovers back to the hotel and refrigerate them and reheat them in the microwave for lunch the following day. You can go across the street to the Captain Cook and they have a gift shop with snacks and drinks. There is also a convenience store across the street, but they seemed to have strange hours of operation. There is a small continental breakfast, but that's a bonus considering a lot of the other hotels probably don't offer it. You do need to take it to your room to eat it. The hotel is within walking distance of many places downtown, the museum, gift shops and the market (which is on Saturday and Sunday - over 300 different vendors). You can easily arrange for pick up from the hotel or the Captain Cook for the Glacier 26 cruise (which I highly recommend) or through Ascending Path for guided hiking. You're also relatively close to the information booth, which has some free shuttles to the Ulu Factory (I recommend buying directly from them because some gift shops sell Ulus that are made in China, and you want the genuine Alaska-made Ulu). Go inside the information booth downtown and they will give you all kinds of information about things to do, transportation and great deals. For the price, this is a very good hotel. I pre-paid my hotel and it was $152 a night - a steal considering the high cost of the Captain Cook. You can eat at both the restaurants at the Captain Cook. We ate at Fletchers and it was very good food. Any other restaurants in the area, check to see if you need reservations. Otherwise they won't be able to seat you until almost 10 pm. The shuttle to and from the airport is free, which is really nice. The only reason I didn't give it a top ranking is that I thought the bed was not very comfortable. I think you can use the workout facility and pool area at the Captain Cook, though I'm not sure of the price for that. Other than that, I'd stay there again in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: Request a view of Cook Inlet. The hotel is only 4 floors so you don't get a great view of the i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here 2 separate times during our vacation in July. The rooms are very large, have a full kitchen, and are very clean. They are a bit dated, and the sofa/pullout bed is sort of odd, but the beds are comfortable, and we had a very nice stay both times. Anchorage was quite warm when we were there, and we were happy to have A/C. The staff at the desk was very friendly and helpful. They have a small laundry room (1 stacked washer/dryer) that came in handy for us. We did not notice any of the "smells" that some other reviewers have commented on. The breakfast is truly continental, served in a tiny room, and you really have to take your breakfast back to your room, but it was adequate for us.

When we arrived at the airport, we called and were told where to catch the complimentary shuttle to the hotel. The driver was very friendly and safe, and gave a little commentary/orientation as he drove around downtown dropping people off. Since the hotel is now owned by Captain Cook Hotel, (which is located across the street), they no longer provide a shuttle to the train station, but they did call a taxi for us (arranged the night before), and the taxi was there right on time. It's a short drive to the train station, and cost probably $5-10.

We wound up eating at Fletcher's (in Capt Cook Hotel) twice, and had wonderful food and service. It's a quiet, relaxing atmosphere, and we had no trouble getting in (although we got the last table before the arrival of a tour bus the second night, so lucked out). We tried to eat at the brewery restaurant down the street twice, but the line was out the door.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Voyager Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Voyager Inn

Address: 501 K St, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Anchorage)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Voyager Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Voyager Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Voyager Hotel Anchorage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Voyager Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;