We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay here in downtown anchorge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Voyager Inn

Save Saved
You added The Voyager Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Voyager Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501 K St, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Anchorage)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 69 hotels in Anchorage
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“stay here in downtown anchorge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

rooms are large & clean. Staff is friendly & helpful. Centrally located to restaurants, railroad, bike trails & shopping. I was very pleased with my 3 night stay. Price is super reasonable for a great location

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    61
    20
    11
    3
See reviews for
22
55
10
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
switzerland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

On the plus side, a good location, free wifi and decent coffee. On the down side, expensive for what it is, a bit run down and smelly and, depending on which side your room is facing, noisy from traffic. One friendly staff member (male), one rather inefficient one (female) and a guaranteed late check out against paiement disappeared from their computer, so we had to leave mich earlier than expected. So, to be generous, I'd say that it's an OK place for a night before or after whatever, but not a hotel you'd want to spend more time than that.

Room Tip: quiet rooms do not face 5th avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel has been bought by the owners of the Captain Cook Hotel and is no longer a Roadway Inn. The staff is helpful and the room was huge. Decor is dated, but according to hotel staff there are plans to update the hotel. Location is ideal for Anchorage. The hotel's housekeeping does an excellent job.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I booked my travel at the last minute and wasn't sure which hotel to stay in. I wanted some central, though I was travelling on a budget. I couldn't recommend this hotel more. Its only a few blocks from the main shopping strip, everything is within walking distance. My room was huge and very quiet, even though it was on the main road side. I would have to say the bathroom is one of the cleanest I have ever seen. The room came with a kitchenette and new LCD tv.
The hotel had a small laundry which was handy after I came off a cruise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel didn't look very promising when we drove up but it showed it's thoughtfulness for guests right away. One of our party was in a wheelchair and the entrance had an easy access ramp into the lobby. The rooms were really big and comfortable, with a little kitchen and there was a laundry for us to use. The free breakfast made for an easy start to the day and there were good places for an upscale dinner within two blocks. Lovely staff and great value made this our favorite hotel of the trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

After a 36 hour flight from Australia the last thing you want is a hold up checking in. This was not the case here the night staff were excellent and only got better in the day time. Never stayed at a Voyager Hotel before so didnt know what to expect. Was pleasently surprised it was lovely the rooms were big and offered great views of Anchorage, the cleaning staff did an excellent job, and the breakfast was a mix of hot and cold with as much as you like. Staff fantastic and knowledgeable, we could have not asked for a better start to our USA holiday. Hotel has a laundry for guests to use and is very close to the main street. Would certainly recommend this hotel and its friendly staff. You made Anchorage

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

PROS: good downtown location near bike rental and coastal trail. Free parking from 5 pm to 9 am in lot across street, and discounted parking for next day. Guest laundry. Large rooms. Friendly staff. Free continental breakfast, but see below.
CONS: Travel is stressful enough without having to figure out a hotel with two names. "Rodeway Inn" on the big sign on the building, but the main door, closed, says "For Lease." The side door sign says "Voyager Inn." Whoa, where are we? Please, hotel, pick one name for all your signs.
Decor rather tired and old. Halls very narrow. Free continental breakfast lacks cereal, orange juice, fresh fruit, tables, and chairs! I think price too high for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Voyager Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Voyager Inn

Address: 501 K St, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Anchorage)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Voyager Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Voyager Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Voyager Hotel Anchorage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Voyager Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.