We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Voyager Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Voyager Inn to your Saves list
The Voyager Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 K St, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Anchorage)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Juneau, Alaska
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We usually stay at another downtown hotel when visiting Anchorage but could not get reservations because of the start of tourist season. The manager of our former choice hotel referred us to the Voyager/Rodeway Inn. It was a very pleasant surprise!

The room was spacious, had a view of the inlet and had everything we could want. Each room has a little kitchen area with a fridge/micro and bar area. It is even nicer because they use real coffee cups and glasses; not the paper stuff of so many chains now. The bed and linens were high quality and the television and all furnishings were nearly new. This old hotel has had a major facelift and has been well done!

It is within walking distance to the mall, great restaurants and the complimentary breakfast is adequate. If things run out....ask the friendly staff and they happily replenish.

The one drawback is the parking situation. The website says there is parking but that is a bit misleading. The hotel gives you a pass from 5pm-9am to park in the lot across the street. You can purchase one additional day for $10/day. I hope the hotel changes this situation for parking.

We will stay here again and not just when our "former" favorite hotel is full.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room on the side facing the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    66
    20
    11
    3
See reviews for
24
61
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I was a little skeptical only because of the name but I was really surprised....pleasantly. It's a very basic hotel but has all the amenities that someone who wants a central location for a great price. All the staff at the front desk are very friendly and very attentive. The rooms are huge and very clean. It's not a resort so don't expect the gold key treatment or a lot of other amenities like a spa or anything but if you're here to see the area and want a great central location for a great price, you just can't beat this place.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same. Don't expect the Presidential Suite....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This place is perfectly located to walk to anything downtown. Very clean and very friendly staff. Parking was very close and well lit. I cannot comment on the breakfast. Hotel offer shuttle service to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed here three times with a friend in March 2013. Each time our room was very large and clean. The location of the hotel is also excellent and it was one of the cheapest places we stayed in Alaska. I cannot comment on breakfast as I did not get up early enough to sample it (it finishes at 9am). However, there was no seating for breakfast so I imagine it was just coffee and takeaway items.

Please note that the hotel offers free transfers from and to the airport and the train station. This is not something I was told before we arrived so we paid for a taxi from the airport. Also, on our final day we had booked a transfer to the airport at a certain time. The transfer arrived half an hour early and then left before the agreed time. When I complained to the manager about this he was incredibly rude. We ended up having to pay for a taxi again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cordova, tn
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

It's a 30 year-old hotel that has been totally updated. Wonderful room accomodations, huge room with kitchenette, modern bathroom with handicap assist bars, sofa and wide screen TV. Add free WiFi and a complimentary continental breakfast and you have the perfect accomodations. I paid $89 and $80 for a period of nights which is quite reasonable for the location. I had no car, but everything in downtown Anchorage was within easy walking distance. Do not hesitate to stay here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Clean, comfortable, friendly, convenient. This is our third stay at the Voyager. It is walking distance to restaurants, shopping, Anchorage Museum, visitor center, concert hall, coastal trail for walking, biking, cross country skiing and ceremonial start of the Iditarod Sled Dog Race. The hotel offers shuttle service to the airport & train station, overnight parking, light breakfast, kitchenette with dishes and utensils on request. A very satisfying stay each time.
Also, a pass for the pool and fitness center at the Captain Hotel across the street is offered for a slight fee.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

In the past I've hesitated to book a room here only because of the Rodeway name; however, I took the plunge since I'm a choice hotels gold member and like the program. I couldn't have asked for anything better. The location is perfect being a short walk to most downtown attractions and restaurants and the price is typically quite attractive. They offer a convenient shuttle from Ted Stevens Airport.

The front desk agent Tabatha was so helpful and friendly. I arrived before the standard check in and she offered to check my suitcase while I went to lunch. When I got back she said it would only be a few more minutes till my room was ready which was well before 3. The lobby of the hotel is clean and attractive, nice sofa and chairs. A small breakfast room offers coffee and other hot beverages 24/7.

Once in my Huge room I immediately noticed it was also very clean and well appointed with a small fridge, microwave and coffee pot. The bed apparently had a memory foam mattress and was quite comfortable with several pillows and nice linens. A large flat screen was attached to the wall with an admirable selection of channels. Floor to ceiling windows looked west towards the inlet, unfortunately the view of the inlet is not exceptional, but not bad.

I slept well and was not disturbed by street noise or fellow guests. My morning shower was a bit confusing as the handle was a bit difficult to figure out, not great pressure but acceptable. Nice towels and standard toiletries, hair dryer and a magnifying mirror which was nice.

Breakfast was sufficient with a small selection of pastries, fruit, bagels and boiled eggs. Instant oatmeal was available along with coffee, tea, hot cider and chocolate. The only problem I saw was there is really not a place to eat unless you take it back to your room.

Overall I rate this experience as exceptional especially when considering the price. Friendly staff, good location, clean and comfortable. What more could you ask for.

Room Tip: 4th floor. I was in room 409 that offered a queen bed and a Hollywood type of sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Voyager Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Voyager Inn

Address: 501 K St, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Anchorage)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Voyager Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Voyager Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Voyager Hotel Anchorage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Voyager Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.